Education, Special Guide Ask Us

Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I

Please note: CBCA Education is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 500 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1981-Current

ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles." The EBSCO interface also provides some full text linking.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1966-Current

"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."

All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1743-Current

UNB Scholar's Theses and Dissertations collection provides full-text access to most theses and dissertations submitted electronically from 2012 to the present. Please note that since electronic submission was optional for graduate students until January 2019, this is not a comprehensive collection of all UNB theses. Researchers are urged to check the library catalogue for the most complete record of UNB theses and dissertations in print, microfilm, and electronic formats.

For UNB theses submitted before 2012, please consult ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat for select theses available online through the ProQuest resource.

Alphabetical listing of over 2000 topics that include biographies, educational and psychological tests, interventions and service delivery, handicapping conditions, related services, legal matters, and miscellaneous. Intended for professionals and general public. Entries include narrative, references, contributor's name and institution, and cross references. Vol. 3 contains author and subject indexes

This update of the 2002 edition is introduced by Harris (psychologist, South Carolina Department of Juvenile Justice; Converse College), who traces the history and changing terminology and criteria for what is now called learning disabilities. He and Turkington (a medical writer/editor) present some 600 entries covering key topics from 'ability grouping' to 'zone of proximal development.' Entries treat the latest legislation, assistive technology, assessment and educational approaches. The encyclopedia includes a glossary and an outstanding resource directory including government and other national sources of information and aid; assistive technology sources; hotlines; and print literature for those with LD, professionals, and parents. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Lee (U. of Kansas) emphasizes the role of school psychologists as consultants, and one of this encyclopedia's goals is to introduce non-specialists to the scope of psychology applied to education. It can also serve as a reference for practitioners and vocational counselors. For ease of use, the comprehensive contents are listed both alphabetically and by subject area. About 250 entries by a large team of contributors from relevant disciples cover topics from assessment to technology. Some topics that general readers may not expect include diseases such as cancer and HIV/AIDS, divorce adjustment, and home schooling. Entries, some enhanced by case examples and summary tables, are referenced and cross-referenced. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

The "Third Edition" of the highly acclaimed "Encyclopedia of Special Education" has been thoroughly updated to include the latest information about new legislation and guidelines. In addition, this comprehensive resource features school psychology, neuropsychology, reviews of new tests and curricula that have been developed since publication of the second edition in 1999, and new biographies of important figures in special education. Unique in focus, the "Encyclopedia of Special Education, Third Edition" addresses issues of importance ranging from theory to practice and is a critical reference for researchers as well as those working in the special education field. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

The Wiley Handbook of Diversity in Special Education is a state-of-the-art reference showcasing cutting-edge special education research with a focus on children and youth with disabilities from diverse cultural, ethnic, linguistic, and economic backgrounds.

• Cutting-edge special education research focusing on children and youth with disabilities from diverse cultural, ethnic, linguistic, and economic backgrounds
• An authoritative contribution to the field, this work charts a new path to effective interventions and sets an agenda for future research
• Addresses disabilities from an international perspective

Clough (education, Queen's University, UK) provides an overview of theoretical and philosophical approaches to pupils with emotional and behavioral difficulties (EBDs) and their realization in both policy and provision. Contributions from significant authors in the field of EBDs are organized in sections on context and terminology, roots and causes, strategies and interventions, and points of tension and development. Specific topics include building school-wide behavior interventions, teaching social skills to students with specific EBDs, and the educational relevance of a biopsychosocial perspective. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Written by well-known scholars in the field, Handbook of Gifted Education is the most complete text in the field of gifted education and contains an excellent balance of research and practical applications.

This comprehensive handbook reviews the major theoretical, methodological, and instructional advances that have occurred in the field of learning disabilities over the last 20 years. With contributions from leading researchers, the volume synthesizes a vast body of knowledge on the nature of learning disabilities, their relationship to basic psychological and brain processes, and how students with these difficulties can best be identified and treated. Findings are reviewed on ways to support student performance in specific skill areas--including language arts, math, science, and social studies--as well as general principles of effective instruction that cut across academic domains. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Encyclopedic in scope, this research-oriented handbook serves both developers and consumers by considering the behind the practice and making both accessible. The 32 articles work as chapters, covering the foundations (such as effective development, standards, contracting for test services, evidence-centered design, and preventing fraud), content (validity evidence, credentialing examinations) item development (computer item banking, editing and review, fairness), test design (practical issues, vertical scales, pass-fail tests), test protection and administration and post-test activities such as technical reporting and evaluation. Each chapter includes a comprehensive bibliography and the editors have provided author and subject indices. One of the most interesting chapters addresses the issue of consumer-accessible item and prompt development. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

The Praeger International Handbook of Special Education presents a concise and clear overview of special education services in more than 70 countries across the world using the Article on Education in the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with disabilities as the analytical frame. Each chapter offers information about the country in general, followed by sections on the public education system, the private education system, the special education system, teacher training requirements, and barriers to and promising trends in inclusive and special education.

pt. 1: Neurological/genetic perspectives. The origin of dyslexia: The asynchrony phenomenon / Zvia Breznitz --
Some special issues concerning the genetics of dyslexia: revisiting multivariate profiles, comorbidities and genetic correlations / Jeffrey W. Gilger --
The neurobiological basis of dyslexia / John Stein --
Dyslexia and the cerebellum / Angela J. Fawcett and Roderick I. Nicolson --
Familial predictors of dyslexia: Evidence from preschool children with and without familial dyslexia risk / Dennis L. Molfese ... [et al.] --
Early identification and prevention of dyslexia: results from a prospective follow-up study of children at familial risk for dyslexia / Heikki Lyytinen with Jane Erskine ... [et al.] --
pt. 2: Cognitive and learning perspectives. Exploring heterogeneity in developmental dyslexia: a longitudinal investigation / Frank Manis and Caroline E. Bailey --
Rediscovering dyslexia: new approaches for identification classification / Richard K. Wagner --
Learning, cognition and dyslexia / Roderick I. Nicolson and Angela J. Fawcett --
A review of the evidence on morphological processing in dyslexics and poor readers: a strength or weakness? / S. He�le�ne Deacon, Rauno Parrila and John R. Kirby. pt. 3: Educational influences. Reading intervention research: an integrative framework / William E. Tunmer and Keith T. Greaney --
Assessment of literacy performance based on the componential model of reading / R. Malatesha Joshi and P.G. Aaron --
The definition of learning disabilities: Who is the individual with learning disabilities? / Linda D. Siegel and Orly Lipka --
Students with phonological dyslexia in school-based programs: insights from Tennessee schools / Diane J. Sawyer and Stuart Bernstein --
Individual tutoring for struggling readers: moving research to scale with interventions implemented by paraeducators / Patricia F. Vadasy and Elizabeth A. Sanders --
Dyslexia friendly primary schools: What can we learn from asking the pupils? / Mary Coffield ... [et al.] --
Dyslexia and learning styles: overcoming the barriers to learning / Gavin Reid and Iva Strnadova --
Dyslexia and inclusion in the secondary school- cross curricular perspectives / Moira Thomson --
Dyslexia and self-concept: a review of past research with implications for future action / Robert Burden --
Role of parents / Gavin Reid, Shannon Green and Corey Zylstra --
pt. 4: Dyslexia and different languages. Dyslexia in different orthographies: variability in transparency / John Everatt and Gad Elbeheri --
Dyslexia and foreign language learning / Michael Dal --
pt. 5: Beyond school. Adults with learning disabilities and self-disclosure in higher education and beyond / Lynda A. Price and Paul J. Gerber --
Dyslexia: workplace issues / Gavin Reid, Fil Came and Lynda A. Price.

Florian (inclusive and special education, U. of Cambridge, UK) gathers together recent scholarship in 40 chapters by scholars in education from around the world, with a focus on English-speaking countries. The handbook aims to reach an international audience and is intended as a sourcebook on special education, looking specifically at responses to students' difficulties in learning or working with those who have disabilities. Special education is treated as a form of provision and an area of research rather than as categories of learning difficulties. Sections cover theory and how needs are understood, the challenge of inclusion, the production of knowledge, teaching strategies and approaches, and future directions for research. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.