Library hours forSaturday, November 2, 2024
Harriet Irving	Unavailable
Science & Forestry	Unavailable
Engineering & CS	Unavailable
Saint John	Unavailable
Complete Hours

Education, Second Language Guide Ask Us

Find Articles

An indexing and abstracting database or print index is usually the best place to begin to search for journal articles. Below are some recommended indexes and databases for research in Second Language Education. For other databases, check the Article and Research Databases page of the library website.

Key Resources

ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles." The EBSCO interface also provides some full text linking.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1966-Current
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Education (ProQuest)
Please note: CBCA Education is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

See Additional Resources Hide Additional Resources

Additional Resources

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT)

"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."

All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.
For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1743-Current
Literature online : the home of literature and criticism
Literature Online offers full text access to rare and inacessible works, up-to-date, reference resources, in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day. Materials are included from almost every period and genre of English literature as well as many works by 20th century authors. Contemporary criticism is available through the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography & Directory of Periodicals (EBSCO)
MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literature, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. Dating back to 1925, the database contains more than 2.7 million citations, over 6,000 journals and series, 1,200 book publishers and over 372,000 subject names and terms and adds over 66,000 records annually (May 2018).

Coverage is international and includes titles and full-text links from online publishers including JSTOR, Project MUSE, Wiley-Blackwell and Taylor & Francis.

The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1925-Current
PsycINFO (American Psychological Association; APA - EBSCO)
PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1887-Current

Encyclopedias, etc.

Below is a small sample of the encyclopedias and handbooks available through UNB Libraries.

To find more, search UNB WorldCat on the Find Books tab in this guide and include, among your keywords, the term "encyclopedia" or "handbook" (e.g. search for handbooks on special education using terms such as: "special education handbook"). Limit by Format to "eBook" for web-available versions.

Key Resources

Bilingual education : a reference handbook [HIL-REF LC3731 .F45 2002]

Focuses on the purposes of bilingual education programs in schools and their historical development from the 1960s to the present.
Dictionary of multicultural education
see also [HIL-REF LC1099 .D53 1997]

Multiculturalism is one of the most widely discussed concepts in education today. Now, educators, university students, scholars, or anyone interested in multiculturalism can turn to the Dictionary of Multicultural Education to gain further information on and understanding of this important field. As the authoritative reference work on the subject, the Dictionary includes in-depth explanations of the history, use, and implications of more than 150 terms as defined by scholars prominent in the field. This reference work comprises terms of relevant legislation, educational-theoretical concepts and methodologies, and sociopolitical movements and conditions. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Encyclopedia of bilingualism and bilingual education [HIL-REF LC3707 .E53 1998]

This well-illustrated encyclopedia--with color and bandw photographs, graphics, maps, textboxes, and global examples--encompasses timely bilingualism-related topics and areas such as: information technology, the Internet, the economy, professions, religion, tourism, and language marketing. Entries are sorted into sections on the sociological and psychological aspects of individual bilingualism, languages in society, languages in contact in the world, and undoubtedly the most controversial in the US: bilingual education (including a discussion of the sometimes overlooked area of bilingual education for students with special needs). Includes a bibliography of approximately 2,000 references and an extensive glossary. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Handbook of research in second language teaching and learning [HIL-REF P118.2 .H359 2005]

Sixty-nine international academics contribute 57 chapters to a broad- based, state-of-the-art overview of current knowledge and research in second language (L2) teaching and learning. Coverage includes social contexts of learning; research methodologies in learning, acquisition, and teaching; contributions of applied linguistics to the teaching and learning of discrete and inextricably intertwined L2 skills; L2 processes and development; teaching methods and curricula; second or foreign language testing and assessment; and language planning and policies. For researchers, practitioners, graduate students, and faculty in teacher education and applied linguistics programs; teachers; teacher trainers and trainees; curriculum and material developers; and others in the field of L2 teaching and learning. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Handbook of research on multicultural education [HIL-REF LC1099.3 .H35 2004]

The second edition of the award-winning Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education brings together in one volume the major research and scholarship related to multicultural education that have developed since the field emerged more than forty years ago. This essential resource includes discussions and summaries of research using experimental and quasi-experimental designs, historical and philosophical inquiry, ethnographic studies, case studies, survey research, scholarship broadly defined, and insights gained from practice. A comprehensive resource, the Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education assembles the most distinguished and recognized scholars conducting research in a range of disciplines that comprise the foundations of multicultural education. In this second edition, twenty-nine classic chapters have been revised and updated and twenty new chapters have been added to reflect how the field has evolved since the first edition of the Handbook was published in 1995. This landmark volume describes and analyzes changes such as increased immigration to the United States and new developments in theory and research related to race, culture, ethnicity, and language. It addresses new issues such as findings on the increase in the number of interracial children and the characteristics of children of immigrant families. The educational implications of new research and trends are also discussed. The Handbook's forty-nine chapters are divided into twelve parts that clarify the meaning and boundaries of multicultural education. Topics covered include trends and developments, ethnic groups in historical and social science research, language issues, academic achievement, higher education, and international perspectives on multicultural education. The volume also offers comprehensive and balanced analyses of key controversies and debates in the field. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Literacy and bilingualism : a handbook for all teachers [HIL-STACKS LC3731 .B684 2007]

Brisk (Boston College) and Harrington (Providence Public Schools) present an updated handbook applying proven techniques, based on working with bilingual learners, to teaching literacy in the 21st century. Complete and straightforward instructions are accompanied by accounts of teachers experimenting with a variety of approaches to enliven instruction in reading and writing native as well as second languages. The second edition includes five new approaches and their classroom implementation; additional information in each chapter introduction addressing its theme; new material on language, culture, and literacy development for students completely new to English; and annotated bibliographies with sample books to support theory within language and content area classes. For K-12 teachers in any type of classroom where bilingualism plays a role. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Routledge encyclopedia of language teaching and learning [HIL-REF P51 .R66 2000]

A reference for language teachers that analyzes the body of knowledge and skills of the profession and provides information on everyday matters such as the meanings of acronyms and the origins and purposes of professional organizations. Entries cover the teaching of specific languages as well as the teaching of languages in specific countries. The editor, Byram (education, U. of Durham, UK), writes that although the work could not be exhaustive, it does attempt to include traditions other than the Anglo- American. The reference is organized alphabetically and also has a list of contents (showing main entries grouped by theme) and an index of key words. Annotation copyrighted by Book News Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Teaching English abroad [HIL-REF PE1128 .A2 G75 2005]

The definitive guide to short and long-term opportunities around the world for both trained and untrained teachers in the booming field of teaching English as a foreign language.
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences (2nd Ed.)
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.

Literature Searching Essentials

The following brief web tutorials are intended to acquaint you with tools and strategies for conducting and managing literature searches as a UNB scholar. Feel free to proceed sequentially or dive in where the need presents itself. Below we will cover:

UNB Libraries Website
UNB Worldcat for searching for books
Article searching with ERIC and other EBSCO-based resources
Searching for theses and dissertations with ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database
Google Scholar for finding articles and searching through "grey literature"
Zotero for citation management

Introduction

1. The UNB Libraries Website

2. UNB WorldCat for book searching

Does anybody even read books anymore? Well at the very least they skim them or else read them selectively - and often to great effect. While journal articles might be considered the primary unit of scholarly communication, books situate the highly specific info typical of research articles - say the mathematical achievement of 11 year old boys at an Anglican schools in Trinidad on the Secondary Entry Exam - in broader contexts - like the history and legacy of standardized testing in the Caribbean or comparing boys vs girls scores across all school types or different regions – the sort of contexts, in other words, that define academic and even societal discourses whatever the subject, period, or place.

But it’s not really my job to convince you of a book’s worth, only to show you how to find the ones you’re after.

More on retrieving research materials and document delivery: https://youtu.be/Ta9qicg1e10

More on eBooks at UNB Libraries: https://youtu.be/pNpW9mMRu-Y

3. Article Searching

When I was a youngster, the first floor of the Harriet Irving Library was nothing but big bound volumes of indexes and abstracts, floor to ceiling far as the eye could see, blotting out the sun. These were the ancestors of the article and research databases of today – oh and coffee back then? Forget about it! Get you thrown out on your head. My, how the times have changed. What hasn’t changed are many of the names we now associate with easy online access: ERIC, CINAHL, Dissertations and Theses, and many, many more have been around a long time, only now they’re joined by younger siblings like Academic Search Premier and Canadian Business and Current Affairs in a vast digital universe the access to which sometimes leaves you breathless.

So sit back, loosen up, and enjoy this double feature of ERIC and Dissertations & Theses, two titans in the realm of research literature, each available from UNB Libraries on a respectively popular platform - and learn how you make their power...your own.

ERIC on the EBSCO Platform

For those of you interested in learning more about how to break down a research question into its logical parts and put it back together in a manner that works well in ERIC on the EBSCO platform, have a look at the following document: SearchStrategiesForClassroomDesign_0.pdf

4. Dissertations and Theses on the ProQuest Platform

5. Google Scholar – the what, the why, the when, and then: the how

What – It's a treasure trove of research articles and so-called grey literature: technical and government sponsored reports, white papers, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations - and more.

Why – it’s easy to use and you don’t have to worry about mastering database- or discipline- specific controlled vocabularies - though they’re hardly a liability, just not everyone’s idea of time well spent - while leaving the sophistication of the searching up to Google Scholar leads to a lot of false positives - we’re talking...millions - the cream, if there is any, often mysteriously rises to the top...

And as you gain practice you get better at making the searching work for you. Another plus: a lot of international research, often housed in institutional repositories – like UNB Scholar here, or UWISpace in the Caribbean, not to mention the aforementioned grey literature - isn’t found in the subscription databases. And then there are some great features like tracing the influence of a piece of research into the future – from when it was published – not like the future future – though with Google I wouldn’t put it past them. Maybe in a future future upgrade.

The When – Whenever – start here or go directly to subscription databases, but ideally you will use them in tandem since there is bound to be areas where coverage doesn’t overlap – and you’re a serious scholar now.

And now, the How. These next two videos impart indispensable tips and tricks for using Google Scholar as a UNB student and, while they won’t constitute the most dynamic seven minutes of your life, they will more than pay for themselves in time saved and research accrued moving forward.

5 a. Google Scholar I

How to set up authentication or linking to UNB Libraries' full text journal and ebook subscriptions from within Google Scholar

5 b. Google Scholar II

The ins and outs of GS searching

6. Zotero for citation management

A software program that collects, manages, and cites research sources, Zotero is easy to use, works with your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free. With one click, Zotero will save web pages, books, PDFs, abstracts, and almost anything else with all its citation information. Learn more here:
https://guides.lib.unb.ca/guide/206

Bonus Content

Research Booster I

UNB Scholar Profiles
Google Scholar + Zotero
ETD Formatting basics

Lay a firm foundation for your research and publishing activities with this action-packed 45 minute introduction to useful practices, products, and people.

With Marc Bragdon, Mike Nason, and Rob Glencross.

Marc Bragdon
Head, Harriet Irving Research Commons
UNB Fredericton
mbragdon@unb.ca
(506)-458-7741

Last modified on January 12, 2023 14:15

Education, Second Language Guide Ask Us

Find Articles

Key Resources

Additional Resources

Find Books

Encyclopedias, etc.

Key Resources

Literature Searching Essentials

Literature Searching Essentials

Introduction

1. The UNB Libraries Website

2. UNB WorldCat for book searching

3. Article Searching

ERIC on the EBSCO Platform

4. Dissertations and Theses on the ProQuest Platform

5. Google Scholar – the what, the why, the when, and then: the how

5 a. Google Scholar I

How to set up authentication or linking to UNB Libraries' full text journal and ebook subscriptions from within Google Scholar

5 b. Google Scholar II

The ins and outs of GS searching

6. Zotero for citation management

Bonus Content

Research Booster I

Citing Sources

Zotero for citation management

Citations

Education, Second Language Guide Ask Us

Guide Sections

Find Articles

Key Resources

Additional Resources

Find Books

Encyclopedias, etc.

Key Resources

Literature Searching Essentials

Literature Searching Essentials

Introduction

1. The UNB Libraries Website

2. UNB WorldCat for book searching

3. Article Searching

ERIC on the EBSCO Platform

4. Dissertations and Theses on the ProQuest Platform

5. Google Scholar – the what, the why, the when, and then: the how

5 a. Google Scholar I

How to set up authentication or linking to UNB Libraries' full text journal and ebook subscriptions from within Google Scholar

5 b. Google Scholar II

The ins and outs of GS searching

6. Zotero for citation management

Bonus Content

Research Booster I

Citing Sources

Zotero for citation management

Citations

More Information