Reference Materials for Physics

"Cutting a clear path through the complex technical language of astronomy this dictionary will be invaluable to students, professionals, and amateur astronomers seeking a comprehensive source of helpful information. Written by Ian Ridpath, a fellow of the Royal Astronomical Society and renowned author and broadcaster, with an expert team of contributors, the dictionary ranges from astrophysics and cosmology to galaxies and time, space missions and telescopes to black holes and solar waves."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

"Over 10,000 entries. This new edition fills the need to define the specialist language used within an evolving field by offering clear, concise definitions of even the most complex biomedical terms. It includes entries on all areas of biomedicine, focusing on areas that have developed since the first edition, such as genomics and biomedical science. Entries are authoritative and wide-ranging, covering terms from the related areas of anatomy, genetics, molecular bioscience, pathology, pharmacology, and clinical medicine"--Publisher.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

Annotation A Dictionary of Chemical Engineering is one of the latest additions to the market leading Oxford Paperback Reference series. In over 3,400 concise and authoritative A to Z entries, it provides definitions and explanations for chemical engineering terms in areas including: materials, energy balances, reactions, separations, sustainability, safety, and ethics. The dictionary also covers many pertinent terms from the fields of chemistry, physics, biology, and mathematics. Useful entry-level web links are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website to expand the coverage of the dictionary. Comprehensively cross-referenced and complemented by over 60 line drawings, this excellent new volume is the most authoritative dictionary of its kind. It is an essential reference source for students of chemical engineering, for professionals in this field (as well as related disciplines such as applied chemistry, chemical technology, and process engineering), and for anyone with an interest in the subject.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

"A Dictionary of Chemistry covers all the commonly encountered terms in chemistry, including physical chemistry and biochemistry. Clear and concise coverage of laboratory techniques, chemical engineering, and environmental matters, plus entries on such topics as buckminsterfullerene, fullerite, quasicrystal, oscillating reaction, and one-pot synthesis."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

This dictionary covers terms related to energy technologies and their impact on the world's energy use. It sets out the principles behind each technology's operation, as well as its economic, environmental, and social impacts. Coverage includes energy demand and conservation, electricity generation and distribution, energy storage, renewable energy and fossil fuel technologies, nuclear energy, environmental issues, energy and society, and biographies of eminent energy scientists. The text is complemented by illustrations, a chronology, and global statistics on energy use.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

Contains over 3,800 entries covering all commonly encountered physics terms and concepts, as well as terms from the related fields of astronomy, astrophysics, and physical chemistry. Includes 200 new entries and expanded coverage in areas including applied physics, statistical distributions, polymers, and nanoscience. Provides in-depth analysis of key topics such as crystal defects, magnetic resonance imaging, the solar system, low-temperature physics, nanophysics, and quantum entanglement.

"Comprehensive and up-to-date, this is the ideal reference tool for students of physics, either at school or at university. Containing thousands of entries, including biographies of key scientists, it covers all the commonly encountered terms and concepts and includes feature articles on important topics, and chronologies that chart discoveries in main fields of the subject."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality educational material covering all major scientific disciplines. An acclaimed gateway to scientific knowledge, AccessScience is continually expanding the ways it can demonstrate and explain core, trustworthy scientific information that inspires and guides users to deeper knowledge.

Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

ASCE E-books and Standards encompass all civil engineering content areas, including construction, structures, transportation, geotechnics, environment, water resources, and professional practice. Also includes ASCE journals and proceedings.

ASTM Compass - International Standards & Digital Library includes all 13,000 active ASTM standards (equivalent to the printed 82 volumes), the historical standards back to 1998, as well as the withdrawn and redlined version comparisons. In addition, it includes full-text access to Manuals, Monographs, Data Series, STPs (Special Technical Publications) and almost a dozen Journals dating back to the 1930s.

Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a ready-reference book of chemical and physical data. The print copy of CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is the premier source not only of physical properties data but also of mathematical tables, sources of critical data, chemical nomenclature, symbols, and terminology. It has been published since 1913; and is updated and enhanced annually.
84th edition-Current

The Canadian Standards Association is a not-for-profit standards development, membership-based association, in business, industry, government and consumers. CSA is the largest standards development organization (SDO) in Canada and is accredited in Canada and the U.S. to develop standards in a wide range of subject areas.

UNB Libraries’ subscribes to the Complete CSA Collection package which includes over 3,000 current and historical (including IT and Telecommunications standards) and standard related documents such as handbooks, guidelines and commentaries.

Offers concise definitions of more than 3,000 terms covering a range of pure and applied disciplines such as accoustics, geometrical optics, low-temperature physics, and physical optics. This book is suitable for physicists, engineers, mathematicians, and technical writers.

Covers the mechanics of atoms and molecules and their interactions, the macroscopic and statistical description of systems at equilibrium, and the basic ways of treating reacting systems. This work provides instrumentation and fundamental theory employed in the major spectroscopic techniques and the experimental means for characterizing materials.

Completely revised to reflect the many developments in the field, the third edition of this reference features contributions by the most respected figures in the field. Among the topics new to this edition are atomic trapping and cooling, biophotonics, econophysics, the formation of stars and planets, quantum communication, space science and technology, and traffic flow. Each of the more than 500 entries are signed and most include a list of cross references. In addition, each chapter concludes with a list of bibliography, often divided by subject. The entries begin with a brief introduction and background to the topic, followed by discussion of its properties and methods of study, making this an excellent resource for advanced college students as well as specialists who wish to be up to date on areas of research outside their own. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

"This book is filled with the knowledge about our solar system that resulted from all this exploration, whether by spacecraft or by telescopes both in space and earth-bound. All of this new knowledge is based on discoveries made in the interim by scientist-explorers who have followed their inborn human imperative to explore and to understand. Many old mysteries, misunderstandings, and fears that existed 50 years ago about what lay beyond the Earth have been eliminated. We now know the major features of the landscape in our cosmic backyard and can look forward to the adventure, excitement, and new knowledge that will result from more in-depth exploration by today's spacecraft, such as those actually exploring the surface of these faraway places, including the Huygens Titan lander and the Mars Exploration rovers, doing things that were unimaginable before the Space Age began. The Encyclopedia of the Solar System is filled with images, illustrations, and charts to aid in understanding. Every object in the solar system is covered by at least one chapter. Other chapters are devoted to the relationships among the objects in the solar system and with the galaxy beyond. The processes that operate on solar system objects, in their atmospheres, on their surfaces, in their interiors, and interactions with space itself are all described in detail. There are chapters on how we explore and learn about the solar system and about the investigations used to make new discoveries. And there are chapters on the history of solar system exploration and the missions that have carried out this enterprise. All written by an international set of world-class scientists using rigorous yet easy-to-understand prose"--Provided by publisher.

Published in three volumes, this comprehensive reference work brings together in a single source for the first time, a detailed presentation of the most important theoretical concepts and methods for the study of molecules and molecular systems. The logical format of the Handbook allows the reader to progress from the foundations of the field to the most important and exciting areas of current research. Edited and written by an outstanding international team, and containing over 100 articles written by more than 50 contributors, it will be invaluable for both the expert researcher and the graduate student or postdoctoral worker active in any of the broad range of fields where these concepts and methods are important. Comprises three themed volumes: Fundamentals Molecular Electronic Structure Molecules in the Physico-Chemical Environment: Spectroscopy, Dynamics and Bulk Properties Presents detailed articles covering the key topics, presented in a didactic manner Focuses both on theory and the relation of experiment to theory Volume 1, Fundamentals presents the foundations of molecular physics and quantum chemistry. It consists of 7 parts arranged as follows:- Part 1 Introduction Part 2 Elements of Quantum Mechanics Part 3 Orbital Models for Atomic, Molecular and Crystal Structure Part 4 Symmetry Groups and Molecular Structure Part 5 Second Quantization and Many-Body Methods Part 6 Approximate Separation of Electronic and Nuclear Motion Part 7 Quantum Electrodynamics of Atoms and Molecules The central problem of molecular physics and quantum chemistry is the description of atomic and molecular electronic structure. The development of appropriate models for the description of the effects of electron correlation and of relativity are key components of the analysis. Volume 2, Molecular Electronic Structure, addresses these topics, and consists of 7 parts arranged as follows: Part 1 Approximation methods Part 2 Orbital Models and Generalized Product Functions Part 3 Electron correlation Part 4 Relativistic molecular electronic structure Part 5 Electronic structure of large molecules Part 6 Computational quantum chemistry Part 7 Visualization and interpretation of molecular electronic structure In reality no molecular system exists in isolation. Molecules interact with other atoms and molecules, and with their environment. Volume 3, Molecules in the Physico-Chemical Environment - Spectroscopy, Dynamics and Bulk Properties, consists of 7 parts arranged as follows:- Part 1 Response theory and propagator methods Part 2 Interactions between molecules Part 3 Molecules in different environments Part 4 Molecular Electronic spectra Part 5 Atomic Spectroscopy and Molecular Vibration-Rotation Spectroscopy Part 6 Molecular dynamics and dynamical processes Part 7 Bulk properties Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

This new Illustrated Dictionary of Practical Astronomy is written specifically for the practical amateur astronomer. In addition to more than 1800 extended definitions that provide information and instruction on many topics, it provides an invaluable reference source for terms, techniques, instruments, formulas and processes for practicing observers -- both amateur and professional. Also featured are extensive appendices, including the Messier and Caldwell catalogs. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Books at JSTOR offers more than 35,000 ebooks from renowned scholarly publishers, integrated with journals and primary sources on JSTOR's easy-to-use platform. UNB subscribes to selected eBook titles.

eBook Collection title lists:

• Books at JSTOR Open Access
• JSTOR eBooks - Selected Titles (purchased)

JSTOR Open Access offers more than 2,000 ebook titles now available from publishers such as University of California Press, Cornell University Press, NYU Press, and University of Michigan Press, and JSTOR will continue to add new titles. In addition, all journal content in JSTOR published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere is freely available to anyone, anywhere in the world. These open access books and archival journals are freely available for anyone in the world to use.
Permitted Use | Open Access

CD-ROM available in SCI-CDROM.

Encompassing more than 200 alphabetically arranged entries, The Oxford Guide to the History of Physics and Astronomy traces the evolution of these bodies of knowledge as well as planetary science from the Renaissance to the beginning of the twenty-first century. For students, teachers, scientists, and readers of popular science books, the Guide deciphers the techniques and philosophies of physics and astronomy as well as the historical periods from which they emerged. Inside are Galileo's falling bodies, Newton's world system, pulsars and quasars, and proper quanta of other topics as illuminating as Light, as absorbing as Black Holes, and as expansive as the Theory of Everything. Biographies of leading contributors to natural knowledge, arranged where appropriate in pairs as in Plutarch's Lives, connect the personal with the general development of scientific ideas and the wider course of discovery. Whatever your topic in the history of modern astronomy, physics, or the planetary sciences, this convenient handbook is the single best place to begin or refresh your study. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.