Reference Materials for Journalism & Communications
Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference materials
A companion to media studies
"... a comprehensive collection that brings together new writings by some of the most respected canonical and contemporary media studies scholars. The result is a fascinating overview of the theories and methodologies that have produced this most interdisciplinary of field." [from the website]
Globe & Mail (via CPI.Q, 1985- )
Fulltext of articles from Canada's Globe & Mail newspaper, via the Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q) database, covering the years from 1985 to the present.
The Globe & Mail is one of Canada's two main national daily newspapers. It provides coverage of local, national, and international news, politics, sports and business, as well as opinion, analysis and commentary. The newspaper is published in Toronto, Ontario, and is owned by Bell Globemedia. Its distribution area includes all of Canada.
International encyclopedia of communication online
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences (2nd Ed.)
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
"Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is an entirely new research tool for the social sciences and humanities. A scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules, OBO is designed to help busy researchers find reliable sources of information in half the time by directing them to exactly the right chapter, book, website, archive, or data set they need for their research."
Purchased multi-user unlimited access
Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.Covers the humanities and social sciences.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."