Reference Materials for German Literature
Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference materials
A companion to German literature : from 1500 to the present
[HIL-REF PT236 .S55 1997]
Presents a readable yet scholarly account of the history of German literature from the Reformation and Renaissance to the late 20th century, in the wider context of Germanic culture, over the whole of German-speaking areas of Europe. Nine generically structured narrative chapters combine synthesis of long-term trends, perennial themes, and characteristics of German literature, focusing on the perspective of writers and readers of the time period and place. Includes biographical profiles of authors discussed and referred to. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
A new history of German literature
[HIL-STACKS PT91 .N49 2004]
Editor in chief Wellbery (Univ. of Chicago), general editor Ryan (Harvard), and their fellow editors and contributors, distinguished scholars all, make an ambitious attempt to retell the history of German literature. Accordingly, what sets this literary history apart from its competitors is its original approach. Instead of being divided according to epochs or movements, each of the 188 short essays captures one moment in the history of German literature. The goal is not to create another overarching narrative of literary historiography but rather, as Wellbery writes in his introduction, to "preserve the quality of 'encounter' that characterizes the most exhilarating experiences of reading." This the book does by providing a mosaic view of German literature, history, culture, and history of ideas. Wellbery gathered some of the best (mostly American) scholars for this project, and they employ a number of methodological and ideological approaches. The essays are geared toward educated readers, and they offer cutting-edge scholarship. Researchers in particular will appreciate the short bibliography that accompanies each essay. Though one could lament the complete absence of some important authors (e.g., Odon von Horvath, Rose Auslander, Heimito von Doderer, Ilse Aichinger), this is an indispensable resource for everyone interested in German literature. Summing Up: Essential. Upper-division undergraduates through faculty; large public collections. General Readers; Upper-division Undergraduates; Graduate Students; Researchers/Faculty. Reviewed by G. A. Thuswaldner. From: Syndetics Solutions, Inc. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
[HIL-REF CT220 .C63]
"A bio-bibliographical guide to current authors and their works."
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (DLB Online)
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, andcareers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.Comprised of the award-winning Dictionary of Literary Biography series, which over its30-year history has been dedicated to making literature and its creators betterunderstood and more accessible to students and interested readers, DLB Complete Onlineprovides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format while placing writersin the larger perspective of literary history. Specifically, DLB Complete Onlineincludes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series -the latter two of which have never been electronically available. Additionally, DLBComplete Online will include the extremely valuable images from the above DLB series -again, content that has never been available online.
Literature criticism online
Provides Online access to the content of the following reference works on literature: Twentieth-century literary criticism, Nineteenth-century literature criticism, Literature criticism 1400-1800, Shakespeare criticism, Contemporary literary criticism, and Children's literature review.
Literature online : the home of literature and criticism
Literature Online offers full text access to rare and inacessible works, up-to-date, reference resources, in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day. Materials are included from almost every period and genre of English literature as well as many works by 20th century authors. Contemporary criticism is available through the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography & Directory of Periodicals (EBSCO)
MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literature, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. Dating back to 1925, the database contains more than 2.7 million citations, over 6,000 journals and series, 1,200 book publishers and over 372,000 subject names and terms and adds over 66,000 records annually (May 2018).
Coverage is international and includes titles and full-text links from online publishers including JSTOR, Project MUSE, Wiley-Blackwell and Taylor & Francis.
The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1925-Current
Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.Covers the humanities and social sciences.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
The Oxford companion to German literature
[HIL-REF PT41 .G3 1997]
This new edition of Mary and Henry Garland's classic Oxford Companion to German Literature substantially revises and extends its coverage, making an invaluable reference work available to a new generation of readers. Designed to be a reliable source of information on the whole sweep of literature from German-speaking countries from the eighth century onwards, the Companion now comes right up to the mid-1990s, including such recent works as Gunter Grass's controversial novel about the unification of East and West Germany, Ein weites Feld (1995). The entries, arranged in a single alphabetical sequence, cover authors and their major works, as well as historical, intellectual, and cultural backgrounds. For this new edition much of the original material has been thoroughly reworked in the light of up-to-date scholarship, and many completely new entries have been added, allowing improved coverage of the twentieth century, general topics, and women writers of all periods.The Companion's unrivauled historical coverage and depth of information--on subjects as various as Kafka and Kleist, Werther and Christa Wolf, Nietzsche and the Nibelungenlied, Jung and Jelinek, Rilke and Die Reformation--makes it an indispensable reference book for everyone with an interest in the literature and literary culture of the German-speaking world. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."