Article & Research Databases for Forestry & Environmental Management
Use article databases to find articles, reviews, book chapters, etc.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality educational material covering all major scientific disciplines. An acclaimed gateway to scientific knowledge, AccessScience is continually expanding the ways it can demonstrate and explain core, trustworthy scientific information that inspires and guides users to deeper knowledge.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Agricola (National Agricultural Library Catalog)
AGRICOLA "provides U.S. and international coverage of information sources in agriculture, life sciences and related fields. Based on the U.S. National Agriculture Library collection."
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Annual Reviews publishes "authoritative, analytic reviews in 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences."
ASFA : aquatic sciences and fisheries abstracts
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) "is a comprehensive database on the science, technology, and management of marine, brackishwater, and freshwater environments and resources."
BIOSIS citation index
BIOSIS Citation Index is the world's most comprehensive reference database for life science research. It includes cited references to primary journal literature on vital biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. It also covers original research reports and reviews in traditional biological and biomedical areas.
CAB Direct (formerly Forestscience.info)
Forestry Abstracts, Forest Products Abstracts and Agroforestry Abstracts are now accessed through the CAB Direct platform. Known previously as Forestscience.info, this new platform (September 2009) retains access to contents ranging from 1926 to the past week. There are two appraoches to searching that will sort out specific forestry content, using either Subject Codes (sc:) or CABICODES. The sc: for the current Forestscience database is TR. The sc: for the archival Forestscience database is XF. To find articles about spruce budworm in the current Forestscience database, the entered search string would be: sc:(TR) and spruce budworm. To find articles about moose in the archival Forestscience database, the search string entered would be: sc:(XF) and (moose or alces alces).
For additional information, for example about CABIcodes, consult the CAB Direct Advanced Search Guide
Earth, Atmospheric, & Aquatic Science Database (ProQuest)
The Earth, Atmospheric, & Aquatic Science Database is an interdisciplinary resource of quality, curated A&I combined with full-text content from scholarly journals, trade journals, conference proceedings, and other sources. The coverage extends Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) by providing a sizable element of full-text access along with comprehensive discovery through the extensive abstracts and indexes structured using controlled vocabulary managed by expert editorial teams. For coverage of aquatic science, the collection features the entire range of bibliographic records from Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA).
Content Types: Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals, Books, Conference Papers and Proceedings, Government & Official Publications, Magazines, Newspapers, Other Sources, Reports, Tables, Wire Feeds, Working Papers, Video and Audio.
Films on Demand
UNB Libraries subscribes to the Master Academic Collection, along with access to FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection and the Entertainment Collection. Includes 42,000+ full-length videos and over 323,000 video segments licensed for use in Canada, covering a broad range of subjects including business, social sciences, education, health and medicine, humanities, sciences, and guidance, and including archival films and newsreels.UNB subscribed CollectionsThe Master Academic Collection (over 35,000 titles)The FM Archival Films & Newsreels (5,000+ titles)Entertainment Collection (500+ titles)
Use of this product is restricted to students, faculty and staff of the University of New Brunswick and requires login with a *current UNB Login ID*.
Forrester Research is a global research and advisory firm specializing in information and communication technologies (ICT) in the following areas: IT infrastructure, networking, software, eCommerce, digital marketing and cybersecurity.
Faculty, staff or students interested in IT assessment, digital transformation, applications development, IT trends, emerging technologies and their impact on businesses and consumers will find Forrester's reports offer important insights to your research.
GeoRef "covers worldwide technical literature on geology and geophysics."
Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
Meltwater - Canadian Newspapers & beyond
Meltwater is a news service providing UNB users access to newspapers from New Brunswick. The service also offers other NB provincial news sources in addition to newspapers and sources from around Canada, and news sources from around the world. UNB’s access is primarily aimed towards providing access to New Brunswick news through licensed access, but users are welcome to explore beyond those sources should they desire to do so; users can explore licensed news sources as well as those external sources tracked and searched by the service.
Meltwater access requires users to login by username and password with each visit to the site. Login details are provided on the next screen and will be updated randomly.
Permitted Use | eResources record | Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access | Coverage varies by title
Thousands of newspapers, magazines, and other news sources from 100 countries in 60 different languages. News sources are searchable and current with up to a 60-day backfile at most -- access varies per news source.
July 2019 NOTE: Please visit PressReader directly to select the newspaper or magazine you wish to read. Title level access is not yet available through the catalogue or the eResources search.
Due to publisher restrictions online access to the Globe & Mail newspaper is only available while on-campus.
Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide (EBSCO)
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide, produced by NISC, indexes published literature (journals, monographs, proceedings of conferences and symposia, government reports, grey literature, books, theses, and dissertations) on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, and zoology.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1935 and earlier to present