Reference Materials for Biology

"From acid rain, CFCs, and the greenhouse effect to the food-chain and the gene bank, Oxford's thoroughly up-to-date dictionary provides entries on all aspects of ecology and the environmental sciences. It covers a vast range of subjects, from plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, evolution, environmental pollution, and conservation to climatology, meteorology, geomorphology, and oceanography. It includes developments in this rapidly evolving field, particularly in the areas of molecular ecology, conservation, and the management of habitats, and has biographical notes on eminent ecologists and other scientists."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

"This is the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of botany available. Drawing on the information contained in the acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of Natural History, the text has been fully revised to give wide coverage on topics including biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, bio-geography, earth history, and the earth sciences. There is worldwide coverage of taxonomic groups - one-third of the entries are devoted to taxa, from bacteria and fungi to the main groups of flowering and non-flowering plants."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

"This dictionary is a comprehensive and up-to-date reference work on all aspects of the study of animals for students and amateur naturalists. There is wide coverage of all relevant topics including animal behaviour, genetics, evolutionary studies, ecology, physiology, genetics, cytology, Earth history, and zoogeography."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality educational material covering all major scientific disciplines. An acclaimed gateway to scientific knowledge, AccessScience is continually expanding the ways it can demonstrate and explain core, trustworthy scientific information that inspires and guides users to deeper knowledge.

Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

The explosion of the field of genetics over the last decade, with the new technologies that have stimulated research, suggests that a new sort of reference work is needed to keep pace with such a fast-moving and interdisciplinary field. Brenner's Encyclopedia of Genetics, 2nd edition, builds on the foundation of the first edition by addressing many of the key subfields of genetics that were just in their infancy when the first edition was published. The currency and accessibility of this foundational content will be unrivalled, making this work useful for scientists and non-scientists alike.

This beautifully illustrated glossary constitutes an extraordinary collection of the specialist terms used in many botanical works. The book is arranged in two sections: the glossary, which provides clear definitions for over 2400 of the most commonly used botanical and horticultural terms, and illustrations, which can be cross-referenced to the glossary. The illustrations section comprises over 120 large format pages packed with accurate, well labelled line drawings that complement the definitions. The illustrations are grouped according to specific features, allowing quick comparisons of different forms. This outstanding reference will be welcomed by all readers grappling with botanical terms, whether student, professional, or hobbyist. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."

All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1743-Current

Another title in the Magill's Choice series. The 132 essays previously appeared in Magill's Encyclopedia of Science: Animal Life (2002), Magill's Encyclopedia of Science: Plant Life (2003), and Earth Science (2001). Ecology Basics will be especially useful for smaller libraries that don't own the three sets from which it is derived. RBB. From: Syndetics Solutions, Inc. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Covering genetics, genomics, proteomics and bioinformatics, the focus is on the human and mouse genomes. Other important model eukaryotes, as well as pathogenic bacteria, are treated. Topics include Genetic Variation and Evolution, Epigenetics, The Human Genome, Expression Profiling, Proteome Families, Structural Proteomics, Gene Finding/Gene Structure, and Protein function and annotation.

Explores major topics related to global warming and climate change-ranging geographically from the North Pole to the South Pole, and thematically from social effects to scientific causes. Covers the science and history of climate change, the controversies over climate-change theories, the role of societies, the industrial and economic factors, and the sociological aspects of climate change.

The Encyclopedia of Human Biology, Second Edition provides complete coverage of the vast subject area of human biology--no other reference work available offers such a detailed and comprehensive treatment of the subject. Including more than 670 articles in 37 different biological fields, this fully revised edition features one of the most renowned editorial Advisory Boards ever assembled. The Second Edition offers more than 75% new, updated, and revised content including approximately 150 new articles. In keeping with the first editions high standards, all articles have been subjected to rigorous peer review to ensure consistent presentation of the highest quality. Unlike other encyclopedias which use numerous fragmented entries to treat a subject, the Encyclopedia examines each subject in individual, cohesive articles.

The Encyclopedia of the Biosphere features comprehensive coverage of the earth's greatest ecosystems, their characteristics and their operations. The Encyclopedia explains how these ecosystems have been transformed by human activity, while presenting the main species inhabiting each region. The text in each volume is clearly organized into four distinct sections covering the ecosystem's environmental factors, plants and animal ecology, human influences and biosphere reserves. Eleven fully-illustrated, 4-color volumes present in a contemporary, dynamic manner, the earth's principal ecosystems and the better known species of flora and fauna. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

A celebrity. The first edition--13 volumes published 1972-75, and cited in Books for College Libraries 3rd ed., Guide to Reference Books, Public Library Catalog, Walford's--is surely the most widely available reference on the animal kingdom (humans are granted ten pages). Now in 17 volumes, the entire text has been rewritten by English-speaking scientists, avoiding the occasional infelicities found in the first edition. Gale, using the abundant Thomson resources, cooperated with the American Zoo and Aquarium Association in the revision and enlargement. Each of the following is available separately: v.1. Lower metazoans #38; lesser deuterosomes; v.2. Protostomes; 3. Insects; 4-5. Fishes; 6. Amphibians; 7. Reptiles; 8--11. Birds; 12--16. Mammals. T.McKimmie of New Mexico State U. reviewed the birds volume for CHOICE (7/03); see that review for more detail and its conclusion: "Essential. Academic and public libraries." The first edition did, in fact, find a receptive audience ranging from elementary school through research libraries. The new Grzimek (pronounced CHIM-eck) contains some: 3,000 color photos, 3,500 maps, and 5,500 color illustrations. Encompasses evolution #38; systematics; reproduction, development and life history; ecology; symbiosis; behavior; importance to humans; and conservation. Individual articles run from 1,250 to 7,500 words. A top reference for 2004, and probably for the decade. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Detailing interrelated topics, this work addresses issues and concerns related to plant and crop stress. This edition includes information on pH stress, temperature stress, water-deficit conditions, carotenoids and stress, light stress, pollution stress and agrichemical stress.

Ideal for high school, undergraduate, and general readers, this four-volume set offers accessible, easy-to-understand scientific information. The 385 entries focus on nonhumans from the animal kingdom-from insects to reptiles to mammals. Entries on species discuss notable anatomy and physiology, habitat, behavior, and reproduction and include a sidebar listing classification, geographical location, life span, and special anatomy. Other entries cover anatomy, behavior, and habitats. All entries begin with information about type of animal science, fields of study, and principal terms with brief definitions. Numerous subheads guide the reader through the text. Every essay ends with an annotated bibliography.

Magill’s Encyclopedia of Science: Plant Life is de- signed to meet the needs of college and high school students as well as nonspecialists seeking general information about botany and related sciences.

Written by 1400 experts, this unique encyclopedia has over 1000 peer-reviewed articles covering a wide range of topics, e.g., structural and functional genomics, evolution and comparative genomics, genome mapping and sequencing, disease, ethical and social issues, behavioral and psychiatric genetics, mathematical and population genetics, proteomics, and bioinformatics.

Statista is a multidisciplinary database that aggregates information covering 80,000 topics. Access to data from over 18,000 sources covering 1.5 million statistics. All statistics can be directly downloaded in PNG, PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats. Data prepared according to academic citation standards, with a citation tool (APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Bluebook) and links to the original source for further research. Statista also covers industry reports, studies, forecasts, dossiers, digital market outlook , aesthetically pleasing infographics, and more.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

Birds of the World is a powerful research database that brings together deep, scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology (Birds of North America, The Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds, and Bird Families of the World) with millions of bird observations from eBird and multimedia from the Macaulay Library into a single platform where biologists and birders can explore comprehensive life history information on birds.

An in-depth overview of Birds of the World features can be found here.