2014WI_ED*4012*FRE1B Guide Ask Us

January 20 - Privilege/oppression/affirmative-action

McIntosh, P. (1990). White privilege: Unpacking the invisible knapsack. Independent School, 49(2), 31.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=9604164115&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Gallavan, N. P. (2005). Helping Teachers Unpack Their "Invisible Knapsacks.". Multicultural Education, 13(1), 36-39.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=sih&AN=18346410&site=ehost-live&scope=site

January 27 - Culture through art/music/food/language

Robinson, C., & Clardy, P. (2011). It ain't what you say, it's how you say it: Linguistic and cultural diversity in the classroom. Journal Of Cultural Diversity, 18(3), 101-110.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=66684670&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Hoffman, A. R. (2012). Performing Our World: Affirming Cultural Diversity through Music Education. Music Educators Journal, 98(4), 61-65.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=77193069&site=ehost-live&scope=site

February 10: Environmental influences

Milheim, K. L. (2007). Influence of Technology on Informal Learning. Adult Basic Education & Literacy Journal, 1(1), 21-26.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=26979701&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Lei, S. A. (2010). Classroom physical design influencing student learning and evaluations of college instructors: A review of the literature. Education, 131(1), 128-134.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=54592234&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Feb 17 - Non-traditional students / International and adult learners

Falasca, M. (2011). Barriers to Adult Learning: Bridging the Gap. Australian Journal Of Adult Learning, 51(3), 583-590.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ954482&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Fogg, P. (2009). When Generations Collide. Education Digest: Essential Readings Condensed For Quick Review, 74(6), 25-30.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ857661&site=ehost-live&scope=site

February 24 - Students with disabilities

Obiakor, F. E., Harris, M., Mutua, K., Rotatori, A., & Algozzine, B. (2012). Making Inclusion Work in General Education Classrooms. Education And Treatment Of Children, 35(3), 477-490.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ999342&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Matthews, N. (2009). Teaching the "Invisible" Disabled Students in the Classroom: Disclosure, Inclusion and the Social Model of Disability. Teaching In Higher Education, 14(3), 229-239.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ858138&site=ehost-live&scope=site

March 10 - Bullying

Cassidy, W., Brown, K., & Jackson, M. (2012).‘Under the radar’: Educators and cyberbullying in schools. School Psychology International, 33(5), 520-532.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://spi.sagepub.com/content/33/5/520.full.pdf+html

Smith, P. K., Ananiadou, K., & Cowie, H. (2003). Interventions to Reduce School Bullying. Canadian Journal Of Psychiatry, 48(9), 591.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=11344217&site=ehost-live&scope=site

March 17 - First Nations students

Brasfield, C. R. (2001). Residential school syndrome. BC Medical Journal, 43(2), 78-81.
http://www.bcmj.org/article/residential-school-syndrome

Mendelson, M. (2006). Aboriginal peoples and postsecondary education in Canada. Caledon Institute of Social Policy
http://www.caledoninst.org/publications/pdf/595eng.pdf

Preston, J. P. (2008). The urgency of postsecondary education for Aboriginal peoples. Canadian Journal of Educational Administration and Policy, 86, 1-22.
http://www.umanitoba.ca/publications/cjeap/pdf_files/preston.pdf

O'Connor, P. (2000). Squaring the circle: how Canada is dealing with the legacy of its Indian residential schools experiment. Int'l J. Legal Info., 28, 232.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://heinonline.org/HOL/Page?handle=hein.journals/ijli28&div=28&g_sent=1&collection=journals#262

March 24 - Gender

Alvarez, S. D., & Schneider, J. (2008). One college campus's need for a safe zone: a case study. Journal Of Gender Studies, 17(1), 71-74.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=28791089&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Ottenritter, N. (2012). Crafting a Caring and Inclusive Environment for LGBTQ Community College Students, Faculty, and Staff, Community College Journal of Research and Practice, 36(7), 531-538
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/10668926.2012.664094

Tutorials

Research primer

Here we cover off-campus access, ebooks, articles searching with ERIC and Google Scholar, Document Delivery, and RefWorks:
http://lib.unb.ca/news/distance-education/files/2012/05/LibDistEdTT2012.pdf

Search strategies: ERIC

Learn how to break down a research question into its logical parts and put it back together in a manner that works well in ERIC on the EBSCO platform:
http://lib.unb.ca/news/distance-education/files/2012/07/SearchStrategiesForClassroomDesign1.pdf

RefWorks

RefWorks provides a means of gathering, organizing, and outputing to bibliographies the references you come across while conducting literature searches.

RefWorks at UNB: http://www.lib.unb.ca/RefWorks/

Exporting references from ERIC (and other EBSCO databases) to RefWorks:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-mFKVUdyflY&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

Once your references are in RefWorks - Part 1:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uDiqGIuKYys&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

Once you references are in RefWorks - Part 2 (Write-n-Cite):
http://bcove.me/klslkvqq

Databases listed below provide access to citations and often the full text of journal/magazine/other articles when UNB has an electronic subscription to the host or source publication. Where full text is not linked directly, there should be some facility (often denoted by the UNB sail logo) to "Check for Fulltext".

If fulltext electronic access does not appear to be available, check the library's e-Journals database to see if the item is available through our own holdings, either in print or electronically.

If you are unable to locate the item you are looking for at UNB, either in print or online, you can still submit a document delivery request.

Key Resources

See Additional Resources Hide Additional Resources

We now provide access to two complimentary catalogues for searching UNB Libraries collections.

UNB WorldCat is useful when you don't have a particular title in mind and are instead searching by topic or keyword(s) to see what is available.  Note that UNB WorldCat also includes links to selected article records by default.  After an initial search you can limit results to books, if desired.

Books and other materials appearing in results and not held by UNB may be requested for loan from another institution. Refer to the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details.

Dissertations and theses

Dissertations and Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) "is the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities." All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

The Theses Canada Portal currently provides access to records from the National Library of Canada theses collection (from 1965), and access to fulltext for theses and dissertations submitted between 1998 and 2002.

Below are electronic reference resources, which can be accessed online and searched.  Credo in particular has some interesting encyclopedic entries on Trinidad and Tobago from a variety of topical angles.

Key Resources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Many citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted. The standard citation style for Education is APA, but your instructor may require or recommend that you use another. Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic database manager, available through UNB Libraries, that allows you to create a database of references that can be organized, searched, and used to automatically construct bibliographies and reading lists in many citation styles.

• APA Examples
  (http://www.lib.unb.ca/instruction/APAcitation.html)
• APA Style Guide to Electronic References
  (online & in print)
  HIL-REFDSK BF76.7 .A63 2007
• Cite Right: A Quick Guide to Citation Styles – MLA, APA, Chicago, the Sciences, Professions and More
  HIL-REF PN171.F65 L55 2006
• Chicago Manual of Style
• Plagiarism: a How-NOT-To Guide
  (http://www.lib.unb.ca/research/Plagiarism.html)
  
• RefWorks e-Resources