Library hours forSunday, November 17, 2024
Harriet Irving	Unavailable
Science & Forestry	Unavailable
Engineering & CS	Unavailable
Saint John	Unavailable
Complete Hours

2013FA_ENGL1103FR05A Guide Ask Us

Readings

Library Session 1

Bennet, John. (2013, February 7). A case for civil disobedience in Canada. The Canadian progressive. Retrieved from http://www.canadianprogressiveworld.com.
http://www.canadianprogressiveworld.com/2013/02/07/a-case-for-civil-disobedience-in-canada

Brecher, J. (2013, August 14). Civil disobedience as law enforcement. Waging Non Violence. Retrieved from http://wagingnonviolence.org.
http://wagingnonviolence.org/feature/civil-disobedience-as-law-enforcement

Civil disobedience. (2013, August 26). Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Retrieved from http://en.wikipedia.org
http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Civil_disobedience&oldid=570319920

Clark, J., Vontz, T. S., & Barikmo, K. (2008). Teaching about Civil Disobedience: Clarifying a Recurring Theme in the Secondary Social Studies. Social Studies, 99(2), 51-56.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=31891777&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Kosha, J. (2012, Febrary 27). I fought the law: Civil disobedience and the law in Canada. ABlawg: The University of Calgary Faculty of Law Blog on Developments in Alberta Law . Faculty of Law, University of Calgary. Retrieved from http://ablawg.ca.
http://ablawg.ca/2012/02/27/i-fought-the-law-civil-disobedience-and-the-law-in-canada

Milward, D. (2009). Restless spirits in the land: Finding a place in canadian law for aboriginal civil disobedience. Int'l J.on Minority & Group Rts., 16, 1.
https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://heinonline.org/HOL/Page?handle=hein.journals/ijmgr16&div=5&g_sent=1&collection=journals

Wilson, A. (2012, September/October). Peru's social conflict is about more than mining. Fraser Forum. Retrieved from http://www.fraserinstitute.org.
http://www.fraserinstitute.org/uploadedFiles/fraser-ca/Content/research-news/research/articles/perus-social-conflict-is-about-more-than-mining.pdf

Find Articles

When searching for journal articles, an indexing and abstracting database or print index is usually the best place to begin. Below are some recommended print indexes and databases for research in English Literature. For other databases, check the Article Databases page of the library website.

Key Resources

Literature online : the home of literature and criticism
Literature Online offers full text access to rare and inacessible works, up-to-date, reference resources, in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day. Materials are included from almost every period and genre of English literature as well as many works by 20th century authors. Contemporary criticism is available through the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).
Literature criticism online
Provides Online access to the content of the following reference works on literature: Twentieth-century literary criticism, Nineteenth-century literature criticism, Literature criticism 1400-1800, Shakespeare criticism, Contemporary literary criticism, and Children's literature review.
Annual bibliography of English language and literature : ABELL (ProQuest)
Based on the annual print publication by the Modern Humanities Research Association, the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature provides bibliographic records for monographs, journal articles, doctoral dissertations and book reviews published since 1920, with selected materials included from 1892 - 1919. Part of the Literature Online collections.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography & Directory of Periodicals (EBSCO)
MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literature, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. Dating back to 1925, the database contains more than 2.7 million citations, over 6,000 journals and series, 1,200 book publishers and over 372,000 subject names and terms and adds over 66,000 records annually (May 2018).

Coverage is international and includes titles and full-text links from online publishers including JSTOR, Project MUSE, Wiley-Blackwell and Taylor & Francis.

The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1925-Current

See Additional Resources Hide Additional Resources

Additional Resources

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
"Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more ... Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955."--Database information page.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1955-Current
Iter - Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
A bibliography covering the period 400-1700. Citations are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues.
JSTOR Archival Collections
JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Project Muse
"Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others." UNB subscribes to almost 400 eJournals, and provides access to select Open Access eBooks.

Reference Sources

When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of English Literature. To find additional reference materials, check UNB WorldCat (the library catalogue), explore Encyclopedias, etc on the library website, or try our Guide to Finding Reference Materials.

Key Resources

Oxford English dictionary (OED)
"This unique and powerful resource offers unprecedented access to the definitive record of the meaning, history and evolution of more than 600,000 words over the last 1,500 years."A complete text of the 2nd. ed. of the Oxford English dictionary with quarterly updates, including revisions not available in any other form.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (ODNB)
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is an illustrated/fulltext reference tool providing 55,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. It is the product of research instituted at the University of Oxford and funded by the British Academy and by Oxford University Press. It is the achievement of 10,000 contributors and advisers staff in Oxford. The Oxford DNB aims to provide full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included: the Dictionary's articles are confined to people who died before 31 December 2000.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (DLB Online)
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, andcareers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.Comprised of the award-winning Dictionary of Literary Biography series, which over its30-year history has been dedicated to making literature and its creators betterunderstood and more accessible to students and interested readers, DLB Complete Onlineprovides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format while placing writersin the larger perspective of literary history. Specifically, DLB Complete Onlineincludes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series -the latter two of which have never been electronically available. Additionally, DLBComplete Online will include the extremely valuable images from the above DLB series -again, content that has never been available online.
A Glossary of Literary Terms [HIL-REFDSK PN41 .A184 2015]

This text is essential for all serious students of literature. Fully updated, the eleventh edition contains a complete glossary of essential literary terms that explore the terms, place them in context, and suggest related entries and additional reading.
Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms

The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms provides clear and concise definitions of the most troublesome literary terms, from abjection to zeugma. Now expanded and in its fourth edition, it includes increased coverage of new terms from modern critical and theoretical movements, such as feminism, schools of American poetry, Spanish verse forms, life writing, and crime fiction.
It includes extensive coverage of traditional drama, versification, rhetoric, and literary history, as well as updated and extended advice on recommended further reading and a pronunciation guide to more than 200 terms. Completely revised and updated, this edition also features brand-new entries on terms such as distant reading, graphic novels, middle generation, and misery memoir.
5 simultaneous users
Oxford Reference
Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.Covers the humanities and social sciences.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

See Additional Resources Hide Additional Resources

Additional Resources

Literature criticism online
Provides Online access to the content of the following reference works on literature: Twentieth-century literary criticism, Nineteenth-century literature criticism, Literature criticism 1400-1800, Shakespeare criticism, Contemporary literary criticism, and Children's literature review.
Cambridge histories online
This resource, part of Cambridge Core, contains the online versions of over 270 Cambridge Histories publications in the following 15 areas: American History, British History, Economic History, General History, History of Science, History of the Book, Language and Linguistics, Literary Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political and Social Theory, Regional History, Religious Studies, Theatre Studies and Performing Arts, and Warfare. For a complete listing of titles in each area, please refer to the publisher's site, at: https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-histories
The Cambridge guide to literature in English

The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English provides, in a single volume, the most comprehensive and up-to-date survey of literature in English available today. Substantially enlarged and updated for this new edition, it covers all the major novelists, poets, and dramatists of the classical canon and of contemporary literature, from Shakespeare, Milton, Wordsworth, Austen, Dickens, and Conrad to Saul Bellow, Adrienne Rich, Les Murray, Wole Soyinka, R.K. Narayan, Janet Frame, Mordecai Richler, Joseph Brodsky, and John Coetzee. Unique among literature guides, this volume provides extensive, multicultural coverage of all literature written in English, including Indian, Caribbean, Australian, African, Canadian, and Irish, as well as British and American. More than one hundred specialist contributors provide biographical and critical articles on writers and their works, critics, philosophers, historians, and biographers. Substantial coverage is also given to such literary genres as popular fiction, science fiction, detective novels and children's classics. Literary concepts such as structuralism, tragedy, and irony are described, and full explanations are provided for movements from neoclassicism to postmodernism. Hailed in its first edition as "indispensable" and "path-breaking" (Los Angeles Times), and for having "immense browsability" (Anthony Burgess) and "breadth of vision" (The Guardian), this new edition of The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English is the definitive handbook to the vast, diverse, and extraordinarily rich heritage of English literature. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
The Oxford companion to English literature [HIL-REF PR19 .O94 2006]

Containing encyclopedic coverage of all aspects of English literature from Homer to hypertext, The Oxford Companion to English Literature has been a standard source for students, scholars and general readers since the 1930s. The sixth edition, edited by the novelist Margaret Drabble, contains over 8,000 entries on writers, their works, and their cultural contexts, as well as discussions of critics, literary theory, allusions, and characters from novels and plays. The appendices containing the chronology and lists of literary award winners have been updated, as have many of the entries. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."

Web Tutorials

Research QuickStart

Below is a link to a research primer for UNB distance education students, covering online search and access to electronic books and scholarly articles:
http://lib.unb.ca/news/distance-education/files/2013/09/LibDistEd_Fall2013.pdf

ERIC

How to search ERIC (Education Resource Information Centre database) on both the EBSCO and ProQuest platforms:
http://youtu.be/X8Oii_bKxLU

Google Scholar

Using Google Scholar as a UNB student in order to link results to the fulltext of journal articles and to export citations to RefWorks:
http://youtu.be/Nppc-Y1G4as

RefWorks

RefWorks at UNB: http://www.lib.unb.ca/RefWorks/

Exporting references from ERIC (and other EBSCO databases) to RefWorks:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-mFKVUdyflY&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

Once your references are in RefWorks: working with folders and generating bibliographies
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uDiqGIuKYys&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

eBrary e-books

Creating an account, annotating books, exporting citations to RefWorks:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=zKmxF-UfRb4

Downloading e-books using Adobe Editions:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=1PqlBwfCZ9E

Forming a search using search operators

For those of you interested in learning more about how to break down a research question into its logical parts and put it back together in a manner that works well in ERIC on the EBSCO platform, have a look at the following document:
http://lib.unb.ca/news/distance-education/files/2012/07/SearchStrategiesForClassroomDesign1.pdf

Key Resources

Early English Books Online (EEBO via ProQuest)

EEBO is based on the microfilm collections curated by the Ann Arbor publisher Eugene B. Power (1905-1993). The founder of what became University Microfilms International or UMI, Power’s first foreign project established the microfilming operation at the British Museum in 1942 and, since then, more than 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to the microfilm collection.
Following its digital launch in 1998, Early English Books Online now contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere between 1473 and 1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered. Allows searching Early English Books Online as an option.
English poetry database
The English Poetry Database "contains poems in English from Anglo-Saxon times to the end of the nineteenth century by writers from the British Isles. The database covers the works of 1,257 named poets and many items by different anonymous hands."
Past Masters (Intelex)
InteLex Past Masters is comprised of 100+ full-text humanities and sciences databases that make available cohesive collections of editions, in both original language and in English translation, of seminal figures in the humanities and sciences.
Literature online : the home of literature and criticism
Literature Online offers full text access to rare and inacessible works, up-to-date, reference resources, in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day. Materials are included from almost every period and genre of English literature as well as many works by 20th century authors. Contemporary criticism is available through the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).

Marc Bragdon
Head, Harriet Irving Research Commons
UNB Fredericton
mbragdon@unb.ca
(506)-458-7741

Last modified on August 2, 2017 11:44

2013FA_ENGL1103FR05A Guide Ask Us

Readings

Library Session 1

Find Articles

Key Resources

Additional Resources

Reference Sources

Key Resources

Additional Resources

Find Books

Citing Your Sources

Web Tutorials

Research QuickStart

ERIC

Google Scholar

RefWorks

eBrary e-books

Forming a search using search operators

Key Resources

2013FA_ENGL*1103*FR05A Guide Ask Us

Guide Sections

Readings

Library Session 1

Find Articles

Key Resources

Additional Resources

Reference Sources

Key Resources

Additional Resources

Find Books

Citing Your Sources

Web Tutorials

Research QuickStart

ERIC

Google Scholar

RefWorks

eBrary e-books

Forming a search using search operators

Key Resources

More Information

2013FA_ENGL1103FR05A Guide Ask Us