When searching for journal articles, a database is usually the best place to begin. Databases collect articles from a large number of journals in one place.
Key Resources
-
Scopus
Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
-
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I -
Google scholar
Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
Additional Resources
-
Agricola (National Agricultural Library Catalog)
AGRICOLA "provides U.S. and international coverage of information sources in agriculture, life sciences and related fields. Based on the U.S. National Agriculture Library collection."
Open Access -
ASFA : aquatic sciences and fisheries abstracts
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) "is a comprehensive database on the science, technology, and management of marine, brackishwater, and freshwater environments and resources."
-
American Society for Microbiology (ASM)
"The American Society for Microbiology is the world's largest scientific society of individuals interested in the microbiological sciences. The Society’s mission is to advance microbiological sciences through the pursuit of scientific knowledge and dissemination of the results of fundamental and applied research."
-
Annual reviews
Annual Reviews publishes "authoritative, analytic reviews in 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences."
-
BioMed Central (Open Access Journals)
BioMed Central is "an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research."
While all original research articles in these journals are Open Access, some journals contain reviews and other premium content articles which are not accessible without a separate subscription. -
BIOSIS citation index
BIOSIS Citation Index is the world's most comprehensive reference database for life science research. It includes cited references to primary journal literature on vital biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. It also covers original research reports and reviews in traditional biological and biomedical areas.
-
CAB direct
Combines CAB abstracts and CAB abstracts archive into a single database indexing literature in the fields of plant science; animal science; pathogen, pest, parasite, and weed management; natural resources and ecology; forestry, forest products, and agroforestry; soil science; rural development, tourism, and economics; food science and food products; biotechnology; and agricultural engineering. The database is grouped into the following categories: animal sciences, plant sciences, ecology & environmental sciences, agricultural economics & rural studies, human sciences, and leisure, recreation, and tourism.
-
Computer Source Index (EBSCO)
Computer Source (formerly Computer Science Index) provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database features: abstracts and indexing for over 320 titles - valuable market information on topics such as computers, telecommunications, electronics, and the Internet. - information users need to remain informed on the technological advances that are changing our world.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access -
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
The Directory of Open Access Journals provides access to over 1300 open access journals in an attempt "to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content."
Access controls to fulltext varies by title and some may require personal registration.
Open Access -
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT)
"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."
All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.
For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1743-Current -
Earth, Atmospheric, & Aquatic Science Database (ProQuest)
The Earth, Atmospheric, & Aquatic Science Database is an interdisciplinary resource of quality, curated A&I combined with full-text content from scholarly journals, trade journals, conference proceedings, and other sources. The coverage extends Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) by providing a sizable element of full-text access along with comprehensive discovery through the extensive abstracts and indexes structured using controlled vocabulary managed by expert editorial teams. For coverage of aquatic science, the collection features the entire range of bibliographic records from Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA).
Content Types: Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals, Books, Conference Papers and Proceedings, Government & Official Publications, Magazines, Newspapers, Other Sources, Reports, Tables, Wire Feeds, Working Papers, Video and Audio. -
EMBASE
EMBASE is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1947-Current -
GeoRef
GeoRef "covers worldwide technical literature on geology and geophysics."
-
Inspec (Engineering Village - Elsevier)
"Inspec is the world’s leading bibliographic database, providing comprehensive access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. First published in 1898 as the Scientific Abstracts, Inspec now contains close to 10 million bibliographic records taken from more than 3850 scientific and technical journals and 2200 conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, reports, dissertations and patents, many with full-text linking."
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access -
Medline (1950 to Present)
"MEDLINE® is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry, Veterinary medicine, Allied health, and Pre-clinical sciences. As well, MEDLINE is the primary source of global information from international literature on biomedicine, including the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and health care: Biology, Environmental science, Marine biology, Plant and animal science, Biophysics, and Chemistry."
-
PubMed
PubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) database of biomedical citations and abstracts. It includes MEDLINE, which covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and more than 70 other countries primarily from 1966 to the present.
Open Access -
Science Direct (Elsevier)
Science Direct offers comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science, medicine and technology. All previous ScienceDirect journal collections have been merged into this single collection, along with select purchased eBook titles.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access -
SciFinder-n (Chemical Abstracts (CAplus), CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMCATS, CHEMLIST, MARPAT)
SciFinder-n is the world's premier chemical information database produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), a division of the American Chemical Society. SciFinder-n indexes over 50,000 journal titles (historical and current) and patent records from 63 patent authorities. You can search documents by topic, author, company name, or document identifier such as DOI; substances by name or CAS Registry Number, OR use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. SciFinder-n is a core research tool for chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, physics, environmental science. SciFinder-n is a collection of 6 CAS databases plus Medline: Chemical Abstracts (CAplus), CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMCATS, CHEMLIST, MARPAT.Depending on your research, SciFinder-n is complementary to other databases like Scopus, PubMed, INSPEC, IEEE. Content includes: journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, books, dissertations, and meeting abstracts, organic and inorganic substances, DNA and protein sequences, single and multi-step reactions, synthetic preparations, catalog database of commercially available products from chemical suppliers, Markush structures, etc.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access -
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 890 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 850 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1908-Current -
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."
-
SportDiscus (EBSCO)
SportDiscus is an international database that covers all aspects of "sport, fitness, recreation and related fields."
Subscribed 8-user access | Journals: 1975-Current ; Theses and disserations: 1949-Current -
SpringerLink
SpringerLINK service provides access to electronic journals in a variety of subjects, including "life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics."
[NOTE: pre-1996 Archival content now accessible when available] -
Taylor & Francis Online - eJournals
"Taylor & Francis Group collaborates with researchers, scholarly societies, universities and libraries worldwide to bring knowledge to life. Our journals program encompasses over 1,600 titles and as one of the world’s leading publishers of scholarly journals our content spans all areas of Humanities, Social Sciences, Science and Technology."
Purchased & Subscribed multi-user unlimited access (varies by title) -
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide (EBSCO)
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide, produced by NISC, indexes published literature (journals, monographs, proceedings of conferences and symposia, government reports, grey literature, books, theses, and dissertations) on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, and zoology.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1935 and earlier to present -
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals. UNB also subscribes to select eBook titles.
