Skip to main content

Irish Literature Guide Ask Us

Guide Sections

Encylopedias, etc.

In addition to the suggestions below, more reference resources for the field of Irish (and Anglo-Irish) literature can be found by checking UNB WorldCat, and the Reference Materials collection, or may be publicly accessible via the internet. If you are looking for general material relating to English literature, check the Reference Sources section of the English Literature Guide.

 

Awards and Prizes

Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards

Francis MacManus Short Story Competition, RTE Radio 1

Hennessy New Irish Writing, Irish Times

Rooney Prize for Literature, Trinity Oscar Wilde Centre, Trinity College Dublin

 

Biography and Bibliography

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (DLB Online), licensed resource

An Bunachar Náisiúnta Beathaisnéisí Gaeilge, biographies are in Gaelic, public access

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), licensed resource

Irish History Online: a bibliography of Irish history, public access

Bibliography of Irish Linguistics and Literature, School of Celtic Studies, Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies, public access

Bibliography of Gaelic Arthurian Literature, University of Rochester, public access

Literature of the "Troubles", Bill Rolston, CAIN, public access

Bibliography of Nineteenth-Century Irish Literature, Julia M. Wright, public access

Old Irish and Early Christian Ireland: A Basic Bibliography, Charles D. Wright, public access

A Bibliography of Irish Studies in Japan, IASIL-Japan, public access

 

Dictionaries, Glossaries, ...

The pocket Oxford Irish dictionary (Irish-English), licensed resource

Gaelic Dictionaries, John T. McCranie, public access

 

Encyclopedias and Guides

Cambridge history of Irish literature, Vol. 1, To 1890

Cambridge history of Irish literature, Vol. 2, 1890-2000

Encyclopedia Mythica, M.F. Lindemans, public access

Concise Oxford companion to Irish literature, 5 simultaneous users, licensed access

 

Literary Criticism

Literature Criticism Online, includes: Twentieth-century literary criticism, Nineteenth-century literature criticism, Literature criticism 1400-1800, Shakespeare criticism, Contemporary literary criticism, and Children's literature review, licensed resource

Cambridge Histories Online, including Cambridge history of literary criticism, vols. 1-9, licensed resource

Literary Index, Gale, public access


Last modified on March 5, 2024 08:49