Instructional Technology in Education (FR) Guide Ask Us

Try searching UNB WorldCat below for keywords and key phrases such as "instructional technology", "educational technology" (quotes force a phrase search) and add desired qualifying terms - elementary, secondary, "social studies", mathematics, design, etc.

Recommended select eBooks

Arney, L. (2015). Go blended! : a handbook for blending technology in schools (First). Jossey-Bass, A Wiley Brand. Retrieved May 9, 2022
https://unb.on.worldcat.org/oclc/898770324

Beaton, B. (2015). E-community : online learning and sharing together in remote first nations in northwestern ontario (dissertation). University of New Brunswick.
https://unb.on.worldcat.org/oclc/956876152

Bowen, T., & Whithaus, C. (Eds.). (2013). Multimodal literacies and emerging genres (Ser. Pittsburgh series in composition, literacy, and culture). University of Pittsburgh Press.
https://unb.on.worldcat.org/oclc/887802615

Brown, E. L., Krŭsteva Anna, & Ranieri, M. (Eds.). (2016). E-learning and social media : the cost of integration (Ser. International advances in education : global initiatives for equity and social justice). Information Age Publishing.
https://unb.on.worldcat.org/oclc/945170159

Elstad, E. (Ed.). (2016). Educational technology and polycontextual bridging. SensePublishers.
https://unb.on.worldcat.org/oclc/957156926

Hamilton, B. (2018). Integrating technology in the classroom : tools to meet the needs of every student (Second). International Society for Technology in Education.
https://unb.on.worldcat.org/oclc/1074420186

Johnson, D. (2012). The classroom teacher's technology survival guide (Ser. The jossey-bass teacher survival guide series). Wiley.
https://unb.on.worldcat.org/oclc/815383424

Kopp, K. (2015). Integrating technology into the curriculum (2nd ed., Ser. Effective teaching in today's classroom). Shell Education. 
https://unb.on.worldcat.org/oclc/933783192

McQuiggan, S., Kosturko, L., McQuiggan, J., & Sabourin, J. (2015). Mobile learning : a handbook for developers, educators, and learners (Ser. Wiley & sas business series). Wiley.
https://unb.on.worldcat.org/oclc/903582825

Menano, L., & Fidalgo, P. (Eds.). (2017). Art and technology : the practice and influence of art and technology in education. Sense.
https://unb.on.worldcat.org/oclc/972104508

Miller, L. (Ed.). (2016). Technology for transformation perspectives of hope in the digital age. Information Age Publishing. 
https://unb.on.worldcat.org/oclc/945767524

Morrison, V., Novak, S., & Vanderwerff, T. (2019). Infusing technology in the 6-12 classroom : a guide to meeting today's academic standards (First). International Society for Technology in Education.
https://unb.on.worldcat.org/oclc/1107667244

Redmond, P., Lock, J., & Danaher, P. A. (Eds.). (2015). Educational innovations and contemporary technologies : enhancing teaching and learning. Palgrave Macmillan.
https://unb.on.worldcat.org/oclc/906561851

Schaaf, R., & Mohan, N. (2014). Making school a game worth playing : digital games in the classroom. Corwin.
https://unb.on.worldcat.org/oclc/915767983

Wemigwans, J. (2018). A digital bundle : protecting and promoting indigenous knowledge online. University of Regina Press. 
https://unb.on.worldcat.org/oclc/1080215684

Younie, S., & Leask, M. (2013). Teaching with technologies : the essential guide. McGraw-Hill Education.
https://unb.on.worldcat.org/oclc/830162071

Databases listed below provide access to citations and often the full text of journal/magazine/other articles when UNB has an electronic subscription to the host or source publication. Where full text is not linked directly, there should be some facility (often denoted by the UNB sail logo) to "Check for Fulltext".

If you are unable to locate the item you are looking for at UNB, either in print or online, you can still submit a document delivery request.

Literature Searching Fundamentals

The following brief web tutorials are intended to acquaint you with tools and strategies for conducting and managing literature searches as a UNB scholar. Feel free to proceed sequentially or dive in where the need presents itself. Below we will cover:

1. UNB Libraries Website
2. UNB Worldcat for searching for books
3. Article searching with ERIC and other EBSCO-based resources
4. Searching for theses and dissertations with ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database
5. Google Scholar for finding articles and searching through "grey literature"
6. Zotero for citation management

Introduction

1. The UNB Libraries Website

2. UNB WorldCat for book searching

Does anybody even read books anymore? Well at the very least they skim them or else read them selectively - and often to great effect. While journal articles might be considered the primary unit of scholarly communication, books situate the highly specific info typical of research articles - say the mathematical achievement of 11 year old boys at an Anglican schools in Trinidad on the Secondary Entry Exam - in broader contexts - like the history and legacy of standardized testing in the Caribbean or comparing boys vs girls scores across all school types or different regions – the sort of contexts, in other words, that define academic and even societal discourses whatever the subject, period, or place.

But it’s not really my job to convince you of a book’s worth, only to show you how to find the ones you’re after.

More on retrieving research materials and document delivery: https://youtu.be/Ta9qicg1e10

More on eBooks at UNB Libraries: https://youtu.be/pNpW9mMRu-Y

3. Article Searching

When I was a youngster, the first floor of the Harriet Irving Library was nothing but big bound volumes of indexes and abstracts, floor to ceiling far as the eye could see, blotting out the sun. These were the ancestors of the article and research databases of today – oh and coffee back then? Forget about it! Get you thrown out on your head. My, how the times have changed. What hasn’t changed are many of the names we now associate with easy online access: ERIC, CINAHL, Dissertations and Theses, and many, many more have been around a long time, only now they’re joined by younger siblings like Academic Search Premier and Canadian Business and Current Affairs in a vast digital universe the access to which sometimes leaves you breathless.

So sit back, loosen up, and enjoy this double feature of ERIC and Dissertations & Theses, two titans in the realm of research literature, each available from UNB Libraries on a respectively popular platform - and learn how you make their power...your own.

3a. ERIC on the EBSCO Platform

For those of you interested in learning more about how to break down a research question into its logical parts and put it back together in a manner that works well in ERIC on the EBSCO platform, have a look at the following document: SearchStrategiesForClassroomDesign_0.pdf

4. Dissertations and Theses on the ProQuest Platform

5. Google Scholar – the what, the why, the when, and then: the how

What – It's a treasure trove of research articles and so-called grey literature: technical and government sponsored reports, white papers, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations - and more.

Why – it’s easy to use and you don’t have to worry about mastering database- or discipline- specific controlled vocabularies - though they’re hardly a liability, just not everyone’s idea of time well spent - while leaving the sophistication of the searching up to Google Scholar leads to a lot of false positives - we’re talking...millions - the cream, if there is any, often mysteriously rises to the top...

And as you gain practice you get better at making the searching work for you. Another plus: a lot of international research, often housed in institutional repositories – like UNB Scholar here, or UWISpace in the Caribbean, not to mention the aforementioned grey literature - isn’t found in the subscription databases. And then there are some great features like tracing the influence of a piece of research into the future – from when it was published – not like the future future – though with Google I wouldn’t put it past them. Maybe in a future future upgrade.

The When – Whenever – start here or go directly to subscription databases, but ideally you will use them in tandem since there is bound to be areas where coverage doesn’t overlap – and you’re a serious scholar now.

And now, the How. These next two videos impart indispensable tips and tricks for using Google Scholar as a UNB student and, while they won’t constitute the most dynamic seven minutes of your life, they will more than pay for themselves in time saved and research accrued moving forward.

5 a. Google Scholar I

How to set up authentication or linking to UNB Libraries' full text journal and ebook subscriptions from within Google Scholar

5 b. Google Scholar II

The ins and outs of GS searching

6. Zotero for citation management

A software program that collects, manages, and cites research sources, Zotero is easy to use, works with your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free. With one click, Zotero will save web pages, books, PDFs, abstracts, and almost anything else with all its citation information. Learn more here:
https://lib.unb.ca/guides/view/index.php/683

Bonus Content

Research Booster I

• UNB Scholar Profiles
• Google Scholar + Zotero
• ETD Formatting basics

Lay a firm foundation for your research and publishing activities with this action-packed 45 minute introduction to useful practices, products, and people.

With Marc Bragdon, Mike Nason, and Rob Glencross.

Zotero for citation management

A software program that collects, manages, and cites research sources, Zotero is easy to use, works with your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free. With one click, Zotero will save web pages, books, PDFs, abstracts, and almost anything else with all its citation information. Learn more here:
https://lib.unb.ca/guides/view/index.php/683

Citations

• Purdue OWL: APA formatting and style guide
• Purdue OWL: Chicago style and formatting guide
• Plagiarism: what it is and how to avoid.

Indigenous Subject Guide: https://guides.lib.unb.ca/guide/47
This subject guide is intended to be a portal into First Nations collections available onsite and online through UNB Libraries while also providing a curated list of local, regional, and national resources that contribute to the study and understanding of issues that have been identified by First Nations as important. We are grateful for the guidance of UNB's Mi'kmaq-Wolatoqey Centre in the ongoing development of services, spaces, and collections.

Harriet Irving Library Fabrication Lab: https://lib.unb.ca/researchcommons/fabrication-lab
The second node in UNB's makerspace ecosystem (see UNB Makerspace), the Fabrication Lab at the Harriet Irving Library Research Commons provides tools and fosters community for engaging in hands-on learning and making activities. Whether incorporating material representations into a class project, developing a prototype for a business, printing promotional materials for an event, or sewing a patch onto your favourite jean jacket, ours is an inclusive, versatile space open to people at all skill levels.