When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the history of the body. To find additional reference materials, check UNB WorldCat (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database.
Routledge history of sex and the body : 1500 to the present
[HIL-REF HQ12 .R69 2013]
"The Routledge History of Sex and the Body provides an overview of the main themes surrounding the history of sexuality from 1500 to the present day. The history of sex and the body is an expanding field in which vibrant debate on, for instance, the history of homosexuality, is developing. This book examines the current scholarship and looks towards future directions across the field. The volume is divided into fourteen thematic chapters, which are split into two chronological sections 1500 - 1750 and 1750 to present day. Focusing on the history of sexuality and the body in the West but also interactions with a broader globe, these thematic chapters survey the major areas of debate and discussion. Covering themes such as science, identity, the gaze, courtship, reproduction, sexual violence and the importance of race, the volume offers a comprehensive view of the history of sex and the body. The book concludes with an afterword in which the reader is invited to consider some of the 'tensions, problems and areas deserving further scrutiny'. Including contributors renowned in their field of expertise, this ground-breaking collection is essential reading for all those interested in the history of sexuality and the body"--Publisher's website.
A Companion to the Anthropology of the Body and Embodiment
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access
Encyclopedia of European social history from 1350 to 2000
[HIL-REF HN373 .E63 2001 vols. 1-6]
"Covering the period from the beginning of the Renaissance to the present, this encyclopedia consists of 209 signed articles and nearly 300 biographical entries. The set is thoroughly indexed, amply illustrated, and a joy to read. Graduate students will find it useful as an introduction to historiography while advanced high school students will enjoy the articles on historical topics."--"Outstanding Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2001. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
New dictionary of the history of ideas
[HIL-REF, HWK-REF CB9 .N49 2005]
The earlier work was published at a time when interdisciplinarity was a new trend; and the new work continues this emphasis, as stated in the preface, by "its focus on the most influential multidisciplinary practices, such as 'Mysticism,' 'Mathematics,' and 'Reading,' which have ancient origins, and 'Representation: Mental Representation' and 'Bioethics,' which are creations of our own times." The approximately 600 articles are signed, include references and cross-references, and are arranged chronologically. Access is facilitated by a theme-oriented Reader's Guide (in each volume) and a substantial index, which occupies about half of volume six.
- Cambridge Core (eBooks & eJournals)
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences (2nd Ed.)
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
Oxford encyclopedia of the modern world : [1750 to the present]
[HIL-REF D205 .O94 2008]
v. 1. Aborigines-business -- v. 2. Cairo-dust -- v. 3. Earth Day-heart disease -- v. 4. Hebrew language and literature-luxury -- v. 5. Macau-Oxfam -- v. 6. Pachinko-skyscrapers -- v. 7. Slave rebellions, American-white slavery -- v. 8. Wildlife-Zulu War ; index.
Encyclopedia of American cultural & intellectual history
[HIL-REF E169.1 .E624 2001]
A study of American thought and culture throughout history examines the individuals and documents that revealed significant ideas, issues, and movements.
Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history : the Black experience in the Americas
[HIL-REF E185 .E54 2006 vols. 1-6]
Impressively comprehensive, this reference updates the first edition published in 1996 and the Supplement, in 2001, and will be valuable for high school and undergraduate students as well as general readers. It contains 1,300 entries, two-thirds of which are revised, rewritten, or newly added; and half the remainder have updated bibliographies. Many of the new articles are thematic, for example, those on the African diaspora, anti-colonial movements, economic condition, and military experience. Several new entries are devoted to topics in the Caribbean. The central focus is on the experience of African-Americans throughout North and South America, although the people, concepts, and events associated with the U.S. predominate (due to the larger amount of scholarship). Biographical entries profile political and public figures as well as artists, writers, and musicians. Each entry concludes with a list of cross-references and a bibliography. An introductory article provides a background history of Africa. Volume Six is devoted to a selection of primary documents, an appendix with numerous tables of statistics and lists on all topics, and a comprehensive index. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Encyclopedia of body adornment
[HIL-REF GN419.15 .D46 2007]
Alphabetically arranged entries discuss forms of body modification or adornment found throughout history and around the world, including background information and the theoretical, social, ethical, and legal issues surrounding each practice.
Cambridge World History of Human Disease
Combining recent medical discoveries with historical and geographical scholarship, this is the most comprehensive history of human disease since August Hirsch's monumental Handbook of Geographical and Historical Pathology in 1880. Accessible to laypeople and specialists alike, The Cambridge World History of Human Disease explores the patterns of disease throughout the world as well as the variety of approaches that different medical traditions have used to fight it. The volume traces the concept of disease as medicine developed from an art to a science, then addresses the history of disease in each major world region. The final and largest part offers the history and geography of each significant human disease - both historical and contemporary - from AIDS to yellow fever. A truly interdisciplinary history, it includes contributions from over 160 medical and social scientists from across the globe. Together with The Cambridge World History of Food (2000), The Cambridge World History of Human Disease provides an extraordinary glimpse of what is known about human health as the twenty-first century begins.
Encyclopedia of recreation and leisure in America
[HIL-REF GV53 .E53 2004 vols. 1-2]
A wide variety of topics are described in this two-volume encyclopedia on the history, people, and the current practice of American pastimes. Drinking, circuses, dancing, darts, fast food, yard sales, amateur radio, photography, and Nordic skiing are some of the leisure activities featured in entries that contain cross-references and bibliographies. More theoretical topics are also included, such as privatization of leisure, racial diversity and leisure lifestyles, regulation and social control of leisure, and urbanization. The entries, which are written at a level appropriate for the advanced high school or undergraduate student, are not merely descriptive, but focus on broad issues such as the history of the activity and the social issues connected with it. Though the majority of the contributors are academics in the US, many teach elsewhere, including in Canada, the UK, New Zealand, and Japan. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Routledge companion to sports history
[HIL-REF GV571 .R68 2010]
"This book provides a comprehensive guide to the international field of sports history as it has developed as an academic area of study. Readers are guided through the development of the field across a range of thematic and geographical contexts and are introduced to the latest cutting edge approaches within the field. Including contributions from many of the world's leading sports historians, the Routledge Companion to Sports History is the most important single volume for researchers and students in, and entering, the sports history field. It is an essential guide to contemporary research themes, to new ways of doing sports history, and to the theoretical and methodological foundations of this most fascinating of subjects."--Jacket.
Encyclopedia of Sports in America
[HIL-REF GV583 .E64]
subtitle: a history from foot races to extreme sports - 2 vols.
Routledge handbook of sport, gender and sexuality
[HIL-REF GV706.5 .R88 2014 ]
"All sports focus on the physical body, with images of speed and power, agility, skilfulness and achievement. Throughout the history of sports, gender divisions and stereotypes have been intrinsic to their structure and culture, while sexuality has been inseparable from the gendered character of sports. In other words, gender and sexuality have been fundamental to the understanding and practice of all sports and physical cultures, and lie at the centre of the growing field of sport studies. The Routledge Handbook of Sport, Gender and Sexuality offers a guide of unparalleled depth and breadth to the many complex inter-relationships between sport, gender, and sexuality. Consisting entirely of new empirical and theoretical essays by leading and emerging researchers and scholars from around the world, the books maps the historical, theoretical and empirical terrain of gender and sexuality studies in sport. Including personal and political narratives from across a wide range of different sports and physical activities, the book covers the separation of male and female sport and physical education from the mid-nineteenth century up until the present day. It examines structural and cultural forms of gender segregation, homophobia, heteronormativity and transphobia, as well as the ideological struggles and changes that have led to nuanced ways of thinking about the sport, gender, and sexuality nexus. This is a landmark work of reference that will be a key resource for all advanced students and researchers working in sport studies, gender studies, sexuality studies or sociology"-- Provided by publisher.
Encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history in America
[HIL-REF HQ76.3 .U5 E53 2004]
This reference features over 500 topics, more than half of which are biographies, about issues, events, concepts, and figures pertinent to gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender history in the US. The entries are directed at beginning undergraduates and the general reader. Among the entries on general topics are advertising, bookstores, Arab Americans, boycotts, churches, coming out, dance, economics, geography, language, and suicide.
Encyclopedia of children and childhood : in history and society
[HIL-REF HQ767.84 .E53 2004]
"Readers are assured the latest interdisciplinary scholarship from an emerging field of study that examines the social history of children and childhood. Some 445 expertly written articles bring new insight and understanding about the lived experiences of children and the many complex cultural meanings ascribed to childhood. Emphasizing social history yet treating a broad range of related topics, the set also contains a thematic outline of contents, comprehensive index, and appendix that lists important primary sources."--"Reference that rocks," American Libraries, May 2005.
Women in American history : a social, political, and cultural encyclopedia and document collection
[HIL-REF HQ1410 .W6468 2017]
This four-volume set documents the complexity and richness of women's contributions to American history and culture, empowering all students by demonstrating a more populist approach to the past.
Based on the content of most textbooks, it would be easy to reach the erroneous conclusion that women have not contributed much to America's history and development. Nothing could be further from the truth. Offering comprehensive coverage of women of a diverse range of cultures, classes, ethnicities, religions, and sexual identifications, this four-volume set identifies the many ways in which women have helped to shape and strengthen the United States.
This encyclopedia is organized into four chronological volumes, with each volume further divided into three sections. Each section features an overview essay and thematic essay as well as detailed entries on topics ranging from Lady Gaga to Ladybird Johnson, Lucy Stone, and Lucille Ball, and from the International Ladies of Rhythm to the International Ladies Garment Workers Union. The set also includes a vast variety of primary documents, such as personal letters, public papers, newspaper articles, recipes, and more. These primary documents enhance users' learning opportunities and enable readers to better connect with the subject matter.
- Provides significantly more detail than typical reference works on women's history and culture, enabling readers to better appreciate the contributions of women of all socio-cultural statuses
- Covers the astounding range of American women's experience, including women of various economic and racial statuses, religious affiliations, political and ideological identifications, and sexualities
- Includes a significant selection of primary documents, thereby combining the educational power of secondary and primary literature to create a richer learning experience for users
Encyclopedia of American disability history
[HIL-REF HV1553 .E523 2009 ]
This work focuses on the importance of disability in American history, the need to explain disability in historical rather than medical terms, and the varieties and similarities of the historical experiences among those with disabilities. It thus succeeds in bringing to the forefront something that has typically gone unnoticed, allowing us to understand America in new ways by looking at it through a specific lens.
Routledge History of Disability
[HIL-REF HV1552 .R69 2018]
"Taking a truly global view of disability history, The Routledge History of Disability brings together an impressive range of scholarship that places the lives of individuals with disabilities in their social, cultural and historical context. Moving beyond the national or local focus of many disability histories, and exploring a variety of impairments, The Routledge History of Disability provides a means for examining disability history comparatively, shedding new light on how social policy, education and civil rights have evolved in different parts of the world."David Turner, Swansea University, UK
"This book is timely and phenomenal in nationally and internationally highlighting historical events that have affected disabled people. It exposes the origins of issues and controversies about disability, interpreting historical documents and legislation and discussing significant topics such as the eugenics movement and the civil rights movement."Irene Carter, University of Windsor, Canada
Oxford English dictionary (OED)
"This unique and powerful resource offers unprecedented access to the definitive record of the meaning, history and evolution of more than 600,000 words over the last 1,500 years."A complete text of the 2nd. ed. of the Oxford English dictionary with quarterly updates, including revisions not available in any other form.
5 simultaneous users
A cultural history of the human body
[HIL-REF HM636 .C853 2010]
A Cultural History of The Human Body presents an authoritative survey from ancient times to the present. This set of six volumes covers 2800 years of the human body as a physical, social, spiritual and cultural object.
Each volume discusses the same themes in its chapters:
1. Birth and Death
2. Health and Disease
3. Sex & Sexuality
4. Medical Knowledge and Technology
5. Popular Beliefs
6. Beauty and Concepts of the Ideal
7. Marked Bodies I: Gender, Race, Class, Age, Disability and Disease
8. Marked Bodies II: the Bestial, the Divine and the Natural
9. Cultural Representations of the Body
10. The Self and Society
This means readers can either have a broad overview of a period by reading a volume or follow a theme through history by reading the relevant chapter in each volume. Superbly illustrated, the full six volume set combines to present the most authoritative and comprehensive survey available on the human body through history.
Women and gender in the early modern world: critical concepts in women's history
[HIL-REF HQ1150 .W6425 2016 ]
International historical statistics
[HIL-REF HA155 .M575 2003 vols. 1-3]
This three-volume set of international historical statistics allows the full breadth of statistical analysis and comparisons across both time and across the world.