Reference Materials for Political Science
Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference materials
- A Companion to Contemporary Political Philosophy
- A Companion to Greek and Roman Political Thought
A Dictionary of Contemporary World History (6 ed.)
"This dictionary provides in-depth coverage of the major historical figures and events from 1900 to the present day. Extensive surveys of every country are included with detailed analytical entries covering political and military leaders, political parties, international organizations, and acts of war."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
A dictionary of human rights
[HIL-REF K3239.3 .R67 1997]
Providing explanations of the terminology, issues, organizations, and laws, this reference work develops the key aspects of human rights in over 200 clear and concise A-Z entries. * Explains terms connected such as Asylum, Equal Opportunities, Freedom of Speech, Representation, and Civil Liberties* Covers organizations concerned with human rights such as Amnesty International, The European Court of Human Rights, and The American Civil Liberties Union* Outlines the significance of eminent thinkers such as Locke, Cardozo, and Nozick* Places key terms in their legal and constitutional context, with examples and explanations of their implications* Legal terms such as Injunction, Probable Cause, Clear and Present Danger, and Stop and Search are explained clearly and succinctly* Includes an appendix containing texts and extracts of leading documents, such as "The Declaration of the Rights of Man and the Citizen" and "The Universal Declaration of Human Rights," Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
A Dictionary of Political Biography (2nd ed.)
"This dictionary covers all the major figures in world politics of the twentieth century. Authoritative and wide-ranging, it describes and assesses the lives of more than 1000 men and women who have shaped political events across the world."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
African political facts since 1945
[HIL-REF DT30 .C594 1991]
This latest edition of African Political Facts since 1945 provides a work of reference on this period of modern African history and politics.
African-American political leaders
[HIL-REF E185.96 .C18 2004]
This reference for students and the general reader presents alphabetically arranged entries on more than 185 African-American political leaders. Each profile concentrates on the events in that person's life related to his or her accomplishments in politics. Some of the leaders discussed include U.S. Secretary of State Colin Powell, NAACP President and U.S. Congressional Representative Kweisi Mfume, and presidential candidate and U.S. Senator Carol Moseley Braun. Carey, who has written extensively on black history, teaches at Central Virginia Community College. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
American political leaders, 1789-2005
[HIL-REF E176 .A513 2005]
American political parties in the 21st century
[HIL-REF JK2265 .B54 2006]
Bepress legal repository
A growing collection of working papers and presentations emanating mainly from American law school faculty and graduate students. The papers cover all areas of the law, but the emphasis is on law and economics, legal theory, and public law and policy.
Black thought and culture : African Americans from Colonial times to the present (Alexander St. Press)
When complete, Black Thought and Culture will provide approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, art, and includes monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews.
Charter of Rights in Litigation: Direction from the Supreme Court of Canada
The Internet component of the print loose-leaf service Charter of Rights in Litigation: Direction from the Supreme Court of Canada is a collection of case digests prepared by Matthew Taylor and Mahmud Jamal. The digests contain links to full-text decisions. Users can search both the digests and the full-text decisions using a variety of search terms. Although intended to complement Taylor and Jamal's commentary on Charter cases contained in the loose-leaf component, these case digests can be used as an independent resource.
China, trade, politics & culture, 1793-1980 : sources from the School of Oriental and African Studies and the British Library, London (Adam Matthew Digital)
This project provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China's interaction with the West from Macartney's first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74.
CIA World Factbook
Prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency for use by the US Government. The World Factbook provides concise country profiles which include overviews of geography, population, government, and economy.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics, The
"Written by a team of leading political scientists, sociologists, philosophers, and political economists, this is the most authoritative and up-to-date dictionary of politics available. Ranging from John Adams and the Young Hegelians to Additional Member System and zero-sum game, this comprehensive and entertaining work offers international coverage of major political institutions, thinkers, and concepts. All significant political thinkers and designers of political institutions in the West are included, and special attention is give to Muslim and Chinese political thought. There are many entries on new and thriving branches of the subject, such as international political economy, voting theory, and feminism. The dictionary also gives clear and precise definitions of technical terms such as Condorcet winner, Droop quota, and ultra vires. "
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
désLibris eBooks - Canadian Publishers & Public Documents Collections
désLibris is a delivery platform for books from and about Canada. UNB has purchased access to a selected list of books by Canadian Publishers, as well as access to all available Public Documents.
Dictionary of Canadian biography online / Dictionnaire biographique du Canada en ligne
The Dictionary of Canadian Biography/Dictionnaire biographique du Canada provides detailed biographies of important figures in Canadian history from the year 1000 to 1930. This free online resource is produced by Library and Archives Canada, in partnership with Universite Laval and the University of Toronto, and reproduces the full contents of the print Dictionary of Canadian Biography/Dictionnaire biographique du Canada.
Dictionary of health economics and finance
[HIL-REF RA410 .A3 D53 2007]
From "a fortiori," a term used when comparing economic theorems and proofs, to "zombies," a slang term for insolvent companies still in operation, the editors (of Temple U. and Valparaiso U.) present short definitions of some 5000 terms used in health economics and finance to an audience expected to consist of doctors and other health professionals, benefits managers, health care administrators, endowment fund managers, accountants, lawyers, and others. They also offer explanation of some 3000 abbreviations and acronyms and a 2000 item list of resources, readings, and nomenclature derivatives. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Dictionary of international trade: handbook of the global trade community
An eBook accessible through UNB Libraries' ebrary platform.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT)
"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."
All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1743-Current
Encyclopedia of censorship
[HIL-REF Z657 .G73 2005]
Karolides (English, U. of Wisconsin, River Falls) and Green, a UK-based lexicographer, present a resource focused on the history and evolution of censorship and its role in society today. The topic is broad and continues to evolve, and both editors mention in their introductory comments that the encyclopedia necessarily has gaps and cannot be entirely current. Nevertheless, this work offers a serious resource appropriate for a general readership (high school level and above), presenting about 1,000 alphabetically arranged entries ranging in length from a paragraph to several two-column pages. Each includes cross references and reading lists. About 90 entries focus on the policies and practices of individual countries regarding freedom of expression; other entries detail the histories of particular censored works, discuss relevant legal cases and historical events, and profile significant people and organizations. This edition substantially updates and expands the first (1990). Annotation #169;2005 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Encyclopedia of environment and society
[HIL-REF HM856 .E53 2007 vols. 1-5]
This compilation of 1200 entries, authored by a score of international scholars and contributors, reflects the impact that various peoples, their cultures, and other societal features like politics have on the environment. The first thing one observes is the sheer weight of the set and that this well-bound encyclopedia is printed on high-quality stock something worth noting in the print-on-demand publishing world we live in today. The aesthetic quality is introduced in each volume with 20 full-color topographic and political maps of the continents, with more color maps, photographs, tables, and charts interspersed throughout. Edited by Robbins (geography, Univ. of Arizona), the author of textbooks and other scholarly material on similar subjects, the encyclopedia utilizes multiple access points, including a "reader's guide" (akin to a pathfinder) to each volume, a traditional A-to-Z article list, a list of resources, and an index with a large, easy-to-read typeface. Other enhancements include a chronology, a glossary, and a statistical appendix of the UN's main environmental indicators related to water, air, waste, and land, which are listed by country. Entries range in length from a few paragraphs to several pages; each concludes with See references and bibliographies that include web resources. Entries by country name (rather than eco-regions) will make assignments easier. BOTTOM LINE The introduction notes that this set is intended for North American readers, reflecting the larger impact of North American policies and practices worldwide. There's no denying that this is an encyclopedia, but rather than stodgy and dry, the voice of the text is lively and active. The topic is intelligently presented in a thoroughly approachable, authoritative, and complete format. Highly recommended. [Available electronically through SAGE eReference and Gale Virtual Reference Library.] Katherine Mossman, Everett P.L., WA Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. From: Reed Elsevier Inc. Copyright Reed Business Information
Encyclopedia of global studies
[HIL-REF JZ1318 .E626 2012 ]
The Encyclopedia of Global Studies is the reference work for the emerging field of global studies. It covers both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes, including: the globalization of economies and technologies; the diaspora of cultures and dispersion of peoples; the transnational aspects of social and political change; the global impact of environmental, technological and health changes; and the organizations and issues related to global civil society.
Encyclopedia of globalization
[HIL-REF JZ1318 .E63 2007]
"Globalization: much discussed but little understood. The term has catapulted from obscurity to the headlines in just a few years. Globalization, anti-globalization: what does it all mean; and what should we do about it? Everyone has a stake in globalization, but most people are unclear and uncertain about what, more precisely, their stake is. Although a great deal has been written about globalization, surprisingly little has aimed specifically to inform and educate students and general readers. The Encyclopedia of Globalization provides a thorough understanding of the theoretical underpinnings of globalization as well as the various historical and analytical interpretations of globalization. Consisting of over 400 entries, coverage includes key cultural, ecological, economic, geographical, historical, political, psychological and social aspects of globalization. Compiled by a cross-disciplinary editorial team of leading academics on the subject, the Encyclopedia presents the latest research in terms that are accessible to the general reader, student, scholar, or researcher. The Encyclopedia addresses the empirical, theoretical and policy aspects of globalization. In empirical terms, the entries examine the substantive conditions of globalization such as climate change, human rights, the Internet, religious revivalism, and the World Trade Organization. With regard to theory, the entries clarify concepts and approaches that can be used to understand globalization including comparative advantage, cultural imperialism, and sovereignty. Concerning policy, entries in the encyclopedia cover measures (both existing and proposed) that can be used to shape the course of globalization: for example, neoliberalism, sustainable development, and the Tobin tax. In practice, of course, the substantive, conceptual and political aspects are deeply interrelated, so that each entry includes something of all three. Entries in the Encyclopedia vary in length from 500 to 3500 words, depending on the scope of the topic and its relative prominence in studies and politics of globalization. All entries provide bibliographical references for further reading and research. From the advances in nanotechnology to the controversies surrounding humanitarian intervention, the Encyclopedia of Globalization is a key inter-disciplinary resource to all aspects of globalization.
Encyclopedia of human rights
[HIL-REF JC571 .E67 1996]
Published with the cooperation of the United Nations Centre for Human Rights, this standard reference collects information on every important development in the field of human rights that occurred between 1945, when the UN Charter entered into force, and June 30, 1990 (a few later events are covered, such as the UN Security Council action immediately following the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait). The materials, which are presented objectively and with a minimum of editorial comment, include the complete texts of some 200 international and regional treaties; reports on general and specialized subjects, such as health care, the environment, the rights of children, women, minorities, indigenous peoples; special conventions and declarations on such subjects as apartheid and terrorism; an overview of the rights situation in more than 150 countries, and information on about 130 non-governmental and intergovernmental organizations. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues Since 1945
see also [HIL-REF JC571 .L2747 1999]
This outstanding, comprehensive, and up-to-date encyclopedia on human rights issues since 1945 features more than 400 entries on incidents and violations, instruments and initiatives, countries and human rights activists. Its global scope is ideal for high school and college student research and class debate and for use with Model UN clubs. More than fifty years after the adoption of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights in 1948, much has been accomplished on a global scale, particularly by the United Nations, to protect the rights of all people, but many human rights violations continue to be perpetrated. Langley, an internationally recognized expert on human rights, has provided the most current information on both the progress of human rights activities and the continuing incidents of human rights violations around the globe. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Encyclopedia of Political Science
[HIL-REF JA61 .E513 2011]
A 21st century approach to the study of politics Political science needs a resource that serves as a core reference to the central ideas, concepts, and frameworks underlying the study of politics. This title brings together a editorial board and over 600 rising scholars to chronicle the core issues that have long concerned students of politics.
Encyclopedia of privacy
[HIL-REF JC596.2 .U5 E53 2007 vols. 1-2]
This two-volume encyclopedia compiled by Staples (sociology, U. of Kansas) explores cultural, social, and legal issues of privacy in the contemporary United States. The 226 alphabetical entries range from brief technical explanations of various technologies to extended meditations on, for example, the philosophical foundations of privacy. Coverage includes key concepts, events, legal cases and laws, organizations, technological developments, major figures, and ethical debates. In making his selections, Staples sought to ensure that different perspectives were included, especially those concerned with gender. Examples of entry subjects include anti-wiretap statutes, bar code readers and scanners, the Cable Communications Policy Act of 1984, the Clinton-Lewinsky scandal, fingerprints and fingerprinting, freedom of association, McCarthyism, the National Security Agency, privacy torts, traffic control cameras, transaction-generate data, voice identification, and voyeurism. A chronology of select events precedes the entries and the second volume concludes with a subject index and a resource guide to books, websites, organization, and films. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Encyclopedia of social measurement
[HIL-REF HA29 .E525 2005]
Written by experienced methodologists in various fields of the social sciences, the 356 alphabetically arranged, signed entries in this encyclopedia describe the "research questions social scientists ask, the sources and methods they use to collect information, and the techniques they use to analyze these data and provide answers to the important questions."
Encyclopedia of the Arab-Irsaeli Conflict: A Political, Social, and Military History, The
[HIL-REF DS119.7 .E5653 2008 vols. 1-4]
With a focus on the military aspects of the conflict, this 4-volume resource also contains lengthy entries on central issues of religion and culture that have an impact on Israeli and Palestinian relations. The first three volumes are devoted to the A-Z entries, many of them biographies, with topics that include specific battles, treaties, and sites. Individual entries are included for the policies of key countries, such as France, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, and the Soviet Union. Each entry concludes with cross-references and a short list of references, and many include b #38;w images. Volume Four is given over to the comprehensive index and 168 primary documents (many in excerpted form), including military reports, resolutions and declarations by various delegations and congresses, protocols, and speeches. This is a thorough, even-handed work that provides clear descriptions of the history of this long-standing and complex conflict to a wide readership. Annotation #169;2008 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Encyclopedia of the developing world
[HIL-REF HC59.7 .E52 2006 ]
A comprehensive work on the historical and current status of developing countries.
Encyclopedia of women and gender : sex similarities and differences and the impact of society on gender
see also [HIL-REF HQ1115 .E43 2001 vols. 1-2]
Intended as a wide-ranging, yet in-depth resource for those seeking overviews of issues connected with women, this two-volume reference comprises about 100 alphabetically arranged articles; its emphasis on psychological aspects is not entirely clear from the title. The article topics were selected to represent scholarly issues--in the many disciplines that deal with gender issues--as well as areas of public interest and concern; thus, the following sampling of topics only partially reflects the scope: abortion and its health effects, child care, the feminist movement, hate crimes, imprisonment in the United States, reproductive technologies, sport and athletics, test bias, and women in non-traditional work fields. The articles are accessible enough to be useful to students, yet meaty enough for more sophisticated readers who want a starting point for further research; each article begins with an outline and a glossary and ends with a reading list. Although the articles are cross-referenced, and the indexing is thorough, a thematic grouping of the article topics would have helped give shape to the contents. Editor Worrell is professor emerita (psychology, U. of Kentucky); the contributors are affiliated with institutions all over the US. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Encyclopedia of World War II : a political, social and military history
[HIL-REF D740 .E516 2004 vols. 1-5]
Tucker (retired, military history, Virginia Military Institute, Lexington and emeritus, history, Texas Christian U.) and five assistant editors have compiled an impressive reference of over 1500 alphabetical entries, supplemented with maps and a volume of primary documents. The entries contain descriptions and analysis of battles, weapons systems, wartime conferences, battlefield and diplomatic turning points, geographical areas, and military divisions. A large percentage of the entries are biographies. Care has been taken to achieve a global focus, with entries covering aspects of all theaters of the war. Maps are one of the reference's strengths; they're plentiful and clearly marked with cities and towns, battle sites, lines of battle, etc. Each entry includes cross-referencing and a short list of references; many include b #38;w photos. Volume Five, edited by Priscilla Mary Roberts (history, U. of Hong Kong) is devoted to 238 primary documents, including speeches, the texts of broadcasts, acts, resolutions, laws, directives, and charters; it contains as well the comprehensive index for all five volumes. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs - Books & Journals
"This database is the definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history. It spans more than four centuries and 15 languages and includes over two million pages in full image. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of that country's feminist movement on other countries and their movements. The Gerritsen Collection also provides immediate access to many primary sources from around the world that were previously available only in a limited number of rare book rooms."
Globalization: Encyclopedia of Trade, Labor, and Politics
[HIL-REF HF1359 .G5854 2006 vols. 1-2]
International trade is as old as nations. During the last five decades, however, advances in technology and transportation have changed the scope and method of international trade. Disputes rage about the effects of these changes; advocates for different positions offer argument, but little factual or theoretical analysis.
Globalization offers all the information readers need to sort out the arguments. Written with the highest degree of scholarship, intended for college students or working professionals, the encyclopedia provides both introductory material to broad economic, legal, political, and environmental theory, and in-depth analysis of how theory interacts with practice in the framework of global trade. A trader in New York can, in a matter of seconds, execute a billion-dollar currency transaction in Hong Kong. What does this transaction mean to New Yorkers, to residents of Hong Kong, and to the rest of the world? This book gives readers the tools to answer those questions.
Globalization: The Key Concepts
[HIL-REF GN27 .E69 2007]
"Globalization: The Key Concepts presents an accessible guide to the way we live now. The causes and the effects of globalization are hotly disputed and the book aims to present the range of arguments in a clear and balanced way. However, arguing that variation is as characteristic of globalization as standardization, the book stresses the necessity for a bottom-up, comparative analysis. Distinguishing between the cultural, political, economic and ecological aspects of globalization, the book highlights the implications of globalization for people's everyday lives. Throughout, the discussion is illustrated with wide-ranging case material. Chapter summaries and a guide to further reading underline the book's concern to clarify this most complex and influential of ideas."--BOOK JACKET. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Governments of the world : a global guide to citizens' rights and responsibilities
see also [HIL-REF JA61 .G645 2006 vols. 1-4]Presents an illustrated four-volume encyclopedia on governmental institutions, historical figures, and political systems around the world, and contains over three hundred alphabetically-arranged articles, nearly four hundred maps, and photographs on major people, themes, and events.
Guide to U.S. elections
[HIL-REF JK1967 .C662 2016]
Volume I. Elections in America. The evolution of American elections ; Elections: an expanding franchise -- Political parties. Campaign finance ; Politics and issues, 1945-2014 ; Political party development ; Historical profiles of American political parties ; The Southern electoral experience -- Presidential elections. Introduction to Presidential elections ; Chronology of Presidential elections ; Presidential primaries ; Presidential primary returns, 1912-2012 ; Nominating conventions ; Political party nominees, 1831-2012 ; Convention chronology, 1831-2012 ; Key convention ballots ; Popular vote returns for President ; The Electoral College ; Electoral votes for President, 1789-2012 ; Biographical directory of Presidential and Vice-Presidential candidates -- Volume II. Congressional elections. Introduction to Congressional elections ; House elections ; Reapportionment and redistricting ; House general election returns, 1824-2015 ; Senate elections ; U.S. Senators, 1789-2015 ; Senate general election returns, 1913-2014 ; Senate primary election returns, 1920-2014 -- Gubernatorial elections. Introduction to gubernatorial elections ; Governors of the states, 1776-2015 ; Gubernatorial general election returns, 1776-2014 ; Gubernatorial primary election returns, 1919-2014 ; Reference materials -- House candidates index -- Senate general election candidates index -- Senate primary candidates index -- Gubernatorial general election candidates index -- Gubernatorial primary candidates index -- General index.
Handbook of Global Health Policy
This is an essential state-of-the-art guide to global health and its associated policies. It covers an extensive range of issues including the governance, financing, and architecture of global health; the influence of evidence and politics on health policy; human and national security; trans-border threats; and human rights and partnerships. In doing so, it maps out key debates and policy structures involved in global health policy, and isolates and examines new policy initiatives.
Handbook of public administration
[HIL-REF JF1351 .H274 2003]
Sixty-eight scholars provide an international treatment of the major issues in, and perspectives on, public administration. Forty-nine chapters are organized into sections on public management of the past and present, human resource management, organization theory and public administration, administrative history, implementation, law and administration, politics and administration, administration and society, budgeting and finance, comparative and international public administration, administrative reform, public administration in developing and transitional societies, accountability, and intergovernmental relations and public administration. For students, academics, and practitioners. Annotation (c)2003 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Handbook of research on citizen engagement and public participation in the era of new media
[HIL-REF HM742 .H355 2017]
Citizen engagement in local environmental issues: intersecting modes of communication / Lorna Heaton, Patrícia Días da Silva -- Integrating multiple channels of engagement in democratic innovations: opportunities and challenges / Paolo Spada, Giovanni Allegretti -- Public engagement and policy entrepreneurship on social media in the time of anti-vaccination movements / Melodie Yun-Ju Song, Julia Abelson -- Old media, new media, and public engagement with science and technology / Yulia A. Strekalova [and 4 others] -- Social media and public participation: opportunities, barriers, and a new framework / James Patrick Toscano -- Youth engagement in the era of new media / Yoshitaka Iwasaki -- Organically modified news networks: gatekeeping in social media coverage of GMOs / Jacob Groshek -- Citizen engagement and news selection for Facebook pages / Georgeta Drulă -- A comparative view of citizen engagement in social media of local governments from North American countries / María del Mar Gálvez-Rodríhuez [and 2 others] -- Information hubs or drains? The role of online sources in campaign learning / Terri L. Towner -- Occupy rhetoric: responding to charges of "slacktivism" with digital activism successes / Stephanie Vie [and 2 others] -- Citizen journalism: news gathering by amateurs / Rabia Noor -- Social media as public political instrument / Ikbal Maulana -- A gradual political change? The agenda setting effect of online activism in China 1994-2011 / Yuan Yuan -- A comparative view of censored and uncensored political discussion: the case of Chinese social media users / Qihao Ji -- Smartphones and their increased importance in U.S. presidential elections / Ramona Sue McNeal [and 2 others] -- The Dutch participation society needs open data, but what is meant by open? / Roel During [and 3 others] -- Alternative tweeting: a comparison of frames in Twitter's political discourse and mainstream newspaper coverage of the Singapore general election of 2011 / Sabrina Mercy Anthony, Weiyu Zhang -- Building a new state from outrage: the case of Catalonia / Marc Perelló-Sobrepere -- Social media, political mobilization, and citizen engagement: a case study of the March 18, 2014, Sunflower Student Movement in Taiwan / Kenneth C.C. Yang, Yowei Kang -- Measuring enclosures and efficacy in online feminism: the case of Rewire / Erin Heisler -- Social media and the public sphere in China: a case study of political discussion on Weibo after the Wenzhou high-speed rail derailment accident / Zhou Shan, Lu Tang.
Handbook of restorative justice : a global perspective
[HIL-REF HV8688 .H36 2006]
Handbook of Restorative Justice: A Global Perspective is a collection of original, cutting-edge essays that offer an insightful and critical assessment of the theory, principles, and practices of restorative justice around the globe. This much-awaited book is a response to the cry of students, scholars, and practitioners of restorative justice for a comprehensive resource about a practice that is radically transforming the way the human community responds to loss, trauma, and harm. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Handbook of social problems : a comparative, international perspective
[HIL-REF HN28 .H29 2004]
The Handbook of Social Problems: A Comparative International Perspective provides a unique, broadly comparative perspective on the current state of social problems and deviance in a variety of societies around the world. Editor George Ritzer, along with leading U.S. and international sociologists, examines the relationship between social problems and a society’s level of development and affluence.
The essays in this volume focus on four interrelated issues involved in the relationship between social problems and the level of development and affluence:
· Less developed and less affluent societies are more likely to experience a range of social problems than developed and affluent societies.
· Affluence causes or at least brings with it a series of social problems that do not exist in less affluent societies.
· It is only with affluence that certain things can come to be imagined as social problems, such as excessive consumption.
· The very affluence of a society makes it vulnerable to problems that would not be social problems in poorer societies.
The Handbook explores the theory of the weakness of the strong—in other words, strong or wealthy nations may have greater vulnerability to some social problems than less developed or affluent societies. This theory is clearly illustrated in this volume by the aftermath of September 11, 2001depicting the vulnerability of the U.S. to social problems in far-removed corners of the world. In addition, the international and comparative essays in this volume cover other important issues such as the impact of modern technologies on social problems, ecological problems, global inequality, health as a social problem, and much more. The Handbook of Social Problems is a vital resource for sociologists and graduate students, as well as an excellent addition to any academic library.
Handbook on Gender in World Politics
[HIL-REF HQ1075 .H354 2016]
"The Handbook on Gender in World Politics is an up-to-date, comprehensive, multi-disciplinary compendium of scholarship in gender studies. The text provides an indispensable reference guide for scholars and students interrogating gender issues in international and global contexts. Substantive areas covered include: statecraft, citizenship and the politics of belonging, international law and human rights, media and communications technologies, political economy, development, global governance and transnational visions of politics and solidarities"--Provided by publisher.
HeinOnline is a comprehensive database of U.S. and international law journals, treatises, yearbooks, reports, cases, treaties, and other legal information resources. Organized into collections called “libraries,” all documents are image-based, full-text searchable PDFs. Most of HeinOnline’s libraries are searchable by citation.
HeinOnline - Canada Supreme Court Reports
Full-text access to all volumes of the Supreme Court Reports. When using the Citation Navigator, enter the volume number in the search box labelled "Vol." for citations to volumes 1 (1876/77)-64 (1923), but enter the volume year without brackets and the volume number if applicable for citations to volumes published after v.64 (1923). For example, enter 1977 2 in the "Vol." box to find  2 S.C.R. 36. Advanced search options are also available.
HeinOnline - Revised Statutes of Canada
The Revised Statutes of Canada is the consolidation of the Statutes of Canada incorporating amendments and Acts that have been added since the last revision. There have been six revisions thus far in 1886, 1906, 1927, 1952, 1970, and 1985. HeinOnline includes complete coverage of all six revisions from the official printed volumes.
Historical dictionary of human rights and humanitarian organizations
[HIL-REF JC571 .G655 1997]
Most of the entries describe past and present organizations and list treaties, founding members, related organizations, and other pertinent information. Other entries pertain to terminology, treaties, and individuals. Acronyms and abbreviations are listed and texts of important international documents appended. Also included are a chronology of the 20th century, a historical introduction, and an extensive bibliography, but no index. Well cross-referenced. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc
[HIL-REF HV4493 .H68 2007]
Described as a practical tool to aid efforts to end homelessness, this work is an important resource on this social problem. Levinson previously edited The Encyclopedia of Homelessness (CH, Jan'05, 42-2572). This handbook will be indispensable for professionals working either to help people who are homeless or to address the causes of homelessness. It deserves high praise for its thoroughness. Written by contributors from diverse fields (sociology, anthropology, medicine, and social work), the essays cover a wide variety of topics. Arranged under headings like "How Others See the Homeless," "Explaining Homelessness" (causes, etc.), and "Preventing and Alleviating Homelessness," the essays do an excellent job of presenting the many issues related to this topic. Included are bibliographies, a directory of street newspapers, and a filmography. Summing Up: Highly recommended. Lower-level undergraduates through professionals/practitioners. Lower-division Undergraduates; Upper-division Undergraduates; Graduate Students; Researchers/Faculty; Professionals/Practitioners. Reviewed by K. M. Venturella. From: Syndetics Solutions, Inc. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Human rights : a compilation of international instruments
United Nations Centre for Human Rights.
Human rights in Atlantic Canada : 1990 regional conference report
[HIL-REF JC599 .C3 R43 1990]
Regional Conference on Human Rights in Atlantic Canada (1990 : Fredericton, N.B.)
Information sources of political science
[HIL-REF JA71 .H64 2005]
The eagerly anticipated new edition of the widely acclaimed Information Sources of Political Science</I> is the most comprehensive English-language political bibliography available, offering the surest way for students and researchers to get straight to the information they need. Like no other volume, it provides a fully rounded view of the field both in the United States and internationally, including relevant works in history, economics, sociology, and education.
Its 2,500 entries cover a wide variety of source types: indexing and abstracting services, major bibliographical tools, encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, directories, statistical compilations, and more. In addition, this edition is the first to feature substantial coverage of electronic resources, both databases and Internet sites. Each source receives its own annotation, with entries grouped in categories to bring together like works for easy comparison. This work is a cornerstone reference for academic and public libraries.
International encyclopedia of political science
see also [HIL-REF JA61 .I58 2011]
With entries from leading international scholars from around the world, this eight-volume encyclopedia offers the widest possible coverage of key areas both regionally and globally. The International Encyclopedia of Political Science provides a definitive, comprehensive picture of all aspects of political life, recognizing the theoretical and cultural pluralism of our approaches and including findings from the far corners of the world. The eight volumes cover every field of politics, from political theory and methodology to political sociology, comparative politics, public policies, and international relations.
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences (2nd Ed.)
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
International relations, international security, and comparative politics : a guide to reference and information sources
[HIL-REF JZ1305 .K34 2008]
An annotated bibliography of print and electronic resources central to the field of world politics.
The resources previously available through Justis and JustCite are now available through JustisOne. JustisOne provides access to all UK statutes dating back to 1235. The full text of legislation, including repealed legislation, is provided as originally enacted with references to amending legislation. Legislation is formatted to resemble the original printed documents, including side notes. UK statutory instruments back to 1671 are also included. UNB's subscription includes access to the full-text of reported and unreported civil and criminal judgments from England and Wales (coverage varies). JustisOne incorporates features from JustCite, a citator service that cross-references case law and legislation from a number of jurisdictions, including Canada.
WestlawNext Canada's LabourSource provides access to arbitration, labour board, and court decisions in Canada; labour and employment legislation from all jurisdictions in Canada; and the latest commentary from Canada's labour law experts, including Donald Brown and David Beatty's Canadian Labour Arbitration, George Adams' Canadian Labour Law, and Warren Winkler and Elaine Willis' Willis & Winkler on Leading Labour Cases.
Please note that UNB does not subscribe to all components of LabourSource; UNB subscribes to the Classic Edition package.
Legal identity for inclusive development
[HIL-GOV TA41 L496ii]
Legislative history of the Convention on the Rights of the Child
[HIL-GOV TU17 HR PUB 07/1 vols. 1-2]
The adoption of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights sixty years ago ushered in an era of prolific standard-setting in the field of international human rights law. As of 2007, universal human rights norms have been articulated in nine international human rights treaties, including the Convention on the Rights of the Child and its Optional Protocols. This study documents how the Convention came into being, providing a comprehensive record of its legislative history. It aims to serve as a research tool for children's rights advocates.
A growing collection of legal and governmental documents, including statutes, treatises, case law, administrative decisions, and reports of government agencies, boards and departments from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, and other countries. There is some recent material, but the emphasis is on historical documents.
Maclean's Magazine Archive (EBSCO)
Maclean’s Magazine Archive, offering content from 1905-2015, a Canadian news and general interest magazine, provides a unique perspective on both national and international affairs. Topics include investigative reporting, opinion and analysis on politics, economy and business, science and technology, society, arts and culture, education and work. It was initially known as then The Busy Man’s Magazine from 1896-1911, with a couple of 1905 issues published as The Business Magazine, and then changed to the current title, Maclean’s, in 1911.
• Cover-to-cover processing presents each issue in its entirety as originally published
• Articles and cover pages are fully indexed
• Advertisements are fully searchable
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1905-2015
Neglected Diseases: A Human Rights Analysis
[HIL-GOV TW33 Sp741to no.6]
New Brunswick Commissions of Inquiry
This bilingual reference collection brings together all 57 commissions reports conducted between 1784 and 1950 for the province of New Brunswick. The fully-indexed reports, with illustrations and supporting text, are a valuable resource to researchers interested in New Brunswick's history, policy, politics and social issues.
New Brunswick Legislation (Attorney General)
New Brunswick legislation as hosted by the Attorney General website.
New dictionary of the history of ideas
[HIL-REF, HWK-REF CB9 .N49 2005]
The earlier work was published at a time when interdisciplinarity was a new trend; and the new work continues this emphasis, as stated in the preface, by "its focus on the most influential multidisciplinary practices, such as 'Mysticism,' 'Mathematics,' and 'Reading,' which have ancient origins, and 'Representation: Mental Representation' and 'Bioethics,' which are creations of our own times." The approximately 600 articles are signed, include references and cross-references, and are arranged chronologically. Access is facilitated by a theme-oriented Reader's Guide (in each volume) and a substantial index, which occupies about half of volume six.
see also [HIL-REF JL75 .C34 vols.13 (1977) - 27 (2007/2009)]
Oxford encyclopedia of foreign policy analysis
[HIL-REF JZ1242 .O84 2018]
"The Oxford Encyclopedia of Foreign Policy Analysis examines the theories and factors that influence and determine foreign policy. In a wide-ranging set of over 100 articles, experts examine topics as diverse as climate change, organized crime, two-level games, and veto player approaches"-- Provided by publisher.
Oxford Guide to the United States Government, The
"Compiled by three leading scholars, it contains the key figures, events, and structures that have animated U.S. government for more than 200 years. In addition to coverage of the 2000 Presidential race and election, it features biographies of all the Presidents, Vice Presidents, and Supreme Court Justices, as well as notable members of Congress, including current leadership; historical commentary on past elections, major Presidential decisions, international and domestic programs, and the key advisors and agencies of the executive branch; in-depth analysis of Congressional leadership and committees, agencies and staff, and historic legislation; and detailed discussions of 100 landmark Supreme Court cases and the major issues facing the Court today. Other entries define legal terms and phrases and elaborate on the wide array of government traditions."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
Oxford Guide to Treaties
[HIL-REF KZ1301 .O94 2012]
From trade relations to greenhouse gasses, from shipwrecks to cybercrime, treaties structure the rights and obligations of states, international organizations, and individuals. For centuries, treaties have regulated relations among nation states. Today, they are the dominant source of international law. Being adept with treaties and international agreements is an indispensable skill for anyone engaged in international relations, including international lawyers, diplomats, international organization officials, and representatives of non-governmental organizations.
Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions, The
"This dictionary includes all 400 entries on major Supreme Court cases through history published in the acclaimed Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States, in addition to approximately 45 new entries for the post-1991 decisions. It also gives entries on the U.S. Constitution, and the nominations and successions of justices. Terms covered in the Companion are briefly defined and explained, and a complete case list is given."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
Oxford Handbook of Public Policy, The
see also [HIL-REF H97 .O88 2006]
Oxford Handbooks of Political Science are the essential guide to the state of political science today. With engaging contributions from 55 major international scholars, the Oxford Handbook of Public Policy provides the key point of reference for anyone working in public policy and beyond.
Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.Covers the humanities and social sciences.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
Oxford Textbook of Public Health
[HIL-REF RA425 .O9 2004]
The Oxford Textbook of Public Health 4e is unique in its presentation of the breadth and depth of the complex, dynamic field of public health. To accomplish this goal the textbook is divided into three volumes. The first volume presents the scope of public health, the second presents the methodologies and strategies and the third presents the practice of public health. This fourth edition has updated the many changes which have occurred in the field since the third edition was published, has expanded the scope to include issues of developing countries and presents the perspective of public leaders including the Director General of the World Health Organization on startegies to resolve these existing and anticipated public health problems. The textbook tackles such difficult issues as how to prioritize disparate public health problems, how to identify and implement cost effective startegies, the need for mobilizing the community through community involvement and the need for a comprehensive rather than an issue/disease oriented approach for the resolution of public health problems.The Oxford Textbook of Public Health is a comprehensive reference source for postgraduate students in public health, and provides insights into public health for those not primarily in public health but who need access to its expertise. The book is intended as a reference volume for use by public health professionals and academics. It should be included in every comprehensive library serving the health field and be on the shelf of every public health practitioner. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Planning and urban design standards
[HIL-REF TH2031 .P55 2006]
Steiner and Butler (architecture, research, and planning, U. of Texas at Austin) present a student edition of a text on planning and urban design standards, derived from the full edition published in 2006. It contains information aimed at planning students and presents widely- used and emerging standards relating to types of plans, environmental factors and hazards, building types, and transportation planning, and is meant to serve as a reference, not a main text, for planning courses in architecture, landscape architecture, geography, civil engineering, environmental studies, and public administration programs. Analysis and implementation techniques are also covered. Many b #38;w illustrations are incorporated throughout. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Political handbook of the world
[HIL-REF JF37 .P6 2008]
The following volumes are held in HIL-STACKS: 1995/96-2000/02, 2005/06-2007
The following volumes are located in HIL-STORA (ask at the Circulation Desk): 1975-1976, 1979-1982/83, 1986-1994/95
Public Housing, Racial Policies, and Civil Rights: The Intergroup Relations Branch of the Federal Public Housing Administration, 1936-1963
"Public housing at the federal level was introduced in 1937 and was intended to provide public financing of low-cost housing in the form of publicly- managed and owned multifamily developments. This collection includes directives and memoranda related to the Public Housing Administration's policies and procedures. Among the documents are civil rights correspondence, statements and policy about race, labor-based state activity records, local housing authorities' policies on hiring minorities, court cases involving housing decisions, racially-restrictive covenants, and news clippings. The intra-agency correspondence consists of reports on sub-Cabinet groups on civil rights, racial policy, employment, and Commissioner's staff meetings."
Public opinion and polling around the world : a historical encyclopedia
see also [HIL-REF HM1236 .P83 2004 vols. 1-2]
Although the literature about public opinion polling is extensive, there is surprisingly little reference material on this widely discussed topic. This work fills a serious gap in the literature. The first volume covers the U.S and contains a wide range of essays surveying polling in different eras in American history, followed by A-Z entries examining public opinion on 33 issues such as abortion, Foreign policy, and women presidential candidates. A third section includes information on major pollsters and polling organizations along with some informative essays on Internet surveys, exit polls, and other aspects of polling. The second volume covers international polling, surveying countries as diverse as Israel, Kyrgyzstan, Thailand, and Uruguay, among many others. The entries in volume 2 are very helpful for students and researchers, providing hard-to-find material in one source. Most useful are the bibliographic references at the end of each entry in both volumes. Polling graphs and charts appear frequently in the two volumes and enhance the reader's understanding of the text. The concluding bibliography of print and nonprint resources would have been more useful if arranged topically, instead of alphabetically. This unique encyclopedia is an outstanding reference source for both major metropolitan public libraries and academic institutions. DonaldAltschiller. From: Syndetics Solutions, Inc. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
LexisNexis Advance Quicklaw is a Canadian online legal information system that provides full text of Canadian and foreign case law, federal and provincial legislation and regulations, case reports, digests, tribunal decisions, and statutes, as well as secondary materials such as law journals and newsletters.
Routledge Companion to Media and Human Rights
[HIL-REF P96 .H85 R57 2017]
The Companion is the first collection to bring together two distinct ways of thinking about human rights and media, including scholarship that examines media as a human right alongside that which looks at media coverage of human rights issues. This international collection of 49 newly written pieces thus provides a unique overview of current research in the field, while also providing historical context to help students and scholars appreciate how such developments depart from past practices.
The volume examines the universal principals of freedom of expression, legal instruments, the right to know, media as a human right, and the role of media organisations and journalistic work. It is organised thematically in five parts:
- Communication, Expression and Human Rights
- Media Performance and Human Rights: Political Processes
- Media Performance and Human Rights: News and Journalism
- Digital Activism, Witnessing and Human Rights
- Media Representation of Human Rights: Cultural, Social and Political.
Individual essays cover an array of topics, including mass-surveillance, LGBT advocacy, press law, freedom of information and children’s rights in the digital age. With contributions from both leading scholars and emerging scholars, the Companion offers an interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary approach to media and human rights allowing for international comparisons and varying perspectives.
The Routledge Companion to Media and Human Rights provides a comprehensive introduction to the current field useful for both students and researchers, and defines the agenda for future research.
Routledge encyclopedia of international political economy
[HIL-REF HF1359 .R68 2001 vols. 1-3]
This encyclopedia offers a comprehensive and authoritative survey of the rapidly developing field of international political economy. Its entries provide a guide to the basic issues, concepts, and institutions used by international political economy in its various forms.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online (REP)
"Features over 2000 original articles from over 1300 leading international experts across the discipline of philosophy. The articles cover an unparalleled breadth of subject matter, including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy. With a summary providing a rapid orientation at the beginning of every in-depth article."
Routledge international encyclopedia of women : global women's issues and knowledge
see also [HIL-REF HQ1115 .R69 2000 vols. 1-4]
In over 900 alphabetically-organized entries, contributed by some of the world's most important Women's Studies scholars, this set covers all of the major areas: from Arts and Literature and Health and Sexuality to Spirituality and Religion.
Sage encyclopedia of political behavior
[HIL-REF JA74.5 .S23 2017]
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Political Behavior explores the intersection of psychology, political science, sociology, and human behavior. This encyclopedia integrates theories, research, and case studies from a variety of disciplines that inform this established area of study. Aimed at college and university students, this one-of-a-kind book covers voting patterns, interactions between groups, what makes different types of government systems appealing to different societies, and the impact of early childhood development on political beliefs, among others. Topics explored by political psychologists are of great interest in fields beyond either psychology or political science, with implications, for instance, within business and management. This title will be available online on SAGE Knowledge, the ultimate social sciences library.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 (Adam Matthew Digital)
This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.
Supreme Court of Canada Cases
Online versions of the Supreme Court of Canada cases, as hosted by the University of Montreal.
Terrorism and global security
[HIL-REF HV6432 .R59 2007]
For most Americans, the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, are a watershed event, a turning point in how Americans think about their place in the world. After 9/11, new fears intruded on daily life, and Americans were now forced to face a clever enemy who could seemingly attack at any time, at any place. The subsequent war on terrorism also dramatically changed the terms of a possible career in the military. Accurate and balanced, Terrorism and Global Security provides key information on the definition, causes, and goals of terrorism; the history of terrorism; the perpetrators and their backgrounds; counterterrorism; and the issues of balancing security and liberty. Separate case studies focus on the United States as well as the United Kingdom, Germany, Japan, Peru, and Colombia, examining how each has been affected by terrorism and comparing and contrasting the measures taken in response. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
- The Blackwell Companion to Globalization
- The Blackwell Dictionary of Western Philosophy
- The Blackwell Guide to Social and Political Philosophy
The Cambridge History of Eighteenth-Century Political Thought (The Cambridge History of Political Thought)
Written by a distinguished team of international contributors, this text provides a comprehensive overview of the development of western political thought during the European enlightenment.
Purchased multi-user unlimited access
The Canadian annual review of public affairs
[HIL-REF FC2 .C3]
The Canadian encyclopedia
Free online encyclopedia, containing the full text of the print Canadian Encyclopedia, "the most comprehensive source of information on all things Canadian." Includes the full text of the Encyclopedia of Music in Canada.
The Canadian fact book on poverty, 2000
[multiple locations HIL-REF HC120 .P6 R67 2000]
The Canadian who's who
[multiple locations (latest volume shelved in HIL-RFDSK) FC25 .C389 vols. 1-43]
The Columbia dictionary of European political history since 1914
[HIL-REF D424 .C65 1992]
Originally published: Dictionary of British and European history since 1914. U.K. : Macmillan.
The core international human rights treaties
[HIL-GOV TU17 ST HR HIL C797ih]
This volume reproduces the "core" universal human rights treaties. These are: the Universal Declaration of Human Rights; International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights; International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights; International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination; Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women; Convention on the Rights of the Child; Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment; and International Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families. Also included are the major Optional Protocols for the various treaties. Only the basic texts of the treaties are presented and those looking for signatories, reservations, and other ancillary information should look elsewhere. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
The encyclopedia of the American Revolutionary War : a political, social, and military history
[HIL-REF E208 .E64 2006 vols. 1-5]
This impressive 5-volume reference, appropriate for high school and undergraduate students and the public library, contains over 900 entries on the people, battles, issues, and events of the war. Many of the entries are biographical, describing the subject's life and the details of their involvement in the conflict. Two general essays are included at the outset, on the origins of the American Revolution and the military operations during the war. Maps are included at the beginning of vols.1-4 (maps of specific actions are also incorporated into the text), and a glossary, chronology, and bibliography are included in vol.4. All of vol.5 is devoted to primary documents, including acts, resolutions, official reports, first-hand and sometimes contrasting accounts of significant events, letters, treaties, and political proclamations. The volumes are well illustrated with b #38;w images. Fremont-Barnes is an independent historian; Ryerson is academic director of the David Library of the American Revolution, Washington Crossing, Penn. The contributors are academics and independent scholars in the U.S., Canada, and the U.K. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
The encyclopedia of the Cold War : a political, social, and military history
[HIL-REF D840 .E63 2008 vols. 1-5]
This set is a comprehensive five-volume reference on the defining conflict of the second half of the 20th century, covering all aspects of the Cold War as it influenced events around the world. The confrontation of Western capitalism and Soviet and Chinese Communism shaped world affairs for almost the entire second half of the 20th centurya period defined by pervasive political tension, nuclear-fueled nightmares, intense diplomacy, and the transformation of regional/national disputes into test-case ideological battlefields where the superpowers squared off. The conflict that dominated world events for nearly five decades is now captured in a multivolume work of unprecedented magnitudefrom a publisher widely acclaimed for its authoritative military and historical references. Under the direction of internationally known military historian Spencer Tucker, ABC-CLIO's The Encyclopedia of the Cold War: A Political, Social, and Military History offers the most current and comprehensive treatment ever published of the ideological conflict that not so long ago enveloped the globe. From the Second World War to the collapse of the Soviet Union, The Encyclopedia of the Cold War provides authoritative information on all military conflicts, battlefield and surveillance technologies, diplomatic initiatives, important individuals and organizations, national histories, economic developments, societal and cultural events, and more. The nearly 1,300 entries, plus topical essays and an extraordinarily rich documents volume, draw heavily on recently opened Russian, Eastern European, and Chinese archives. The work is a definitive cornerstone reference on one of the most important historical topics of our time.
The ethnopolitical encyclopaedia of Europe
[HIL-REF GN492 .E86 2004]
This volume presents a comprehensive and up-to-date picture of ethnopolitics in Europe. It details the dynamics of the political mobilization of ethnic groups across the continent and its consequences for domestic and international politics. Written by recognized experts in the field and following a clear structure, this is an essential reference work for any student of contemporary Europe, allowing for systematic cross-national and cross-community comparisons. It also serves as a unique data source on the continent's politically mobilized ethnic groups. The Ethnopolitical Encyclopaedia of Europe is the first work of its kind that systematically and rigorously examines the politics of ethnicity throughout the continent as a whole. Rather than indulge in a tour of Europe designed to unearth as many diverse population groups as possible, the Encyclopaedia is focused and serves as a unique data source on the continent's politically mobilized ethnic groups. In order to facilitate easy access, the various regions of Europe are assessed and then the nature of the politics of ethnicity is analyzed on a country-by-country basis. The combination of incisive entries, maps, tables and easy-to-use country guides makes this an invaluable reference book for both academics and practitioners.
The Europa world year book
[HIL-REFDSK JN1 .E85 ]
The most current edition (2016) is available from the Research Help Desk in the Harriet Irving Library. HIL-REFDSK
Second latest edition is shelved in HIL-REF.
Older editions (30th ed. 1989 - third latest edition) are shelved in HIL-STACKS.
The Greenwood encyclopedia of children's issues worldwide
[HIL-REF HQ767.84 .G74 2008 vols. 1-6]
From the skyrocketing AIDS rate in Haiti to the oppressive pollution in industrial China, from the violent street culture of Nigeria to the crippling poverty in Nicaragua, from child trafficking in Thailand to child marriages in India, this jam-packed six-volume set explores all these issues and more in an unprecedented look at the world's children at the dawn of the 21st century. Organized by region, The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Children's Issues Worldwide is the first globally focused set of this magnitude, offering extensive, up-to-date coverage of these critical issues. Original chapters accessibly synthesize current data on key topics, including education, play and recreation, child labor, family, health, laws and legal status, religious life, abuse and neglect, and growing up in the 21st century.
The handbook of Canadian public administration
[HIL-REF JL108 .H35 2002]
- The Handbook of Political Economy of Communications
The human rights encyclopedia
[HIL-REF JC571 .L522 2001 vols. 1-3]
This illustrated A-Z reference includes 600 signed articles, many by leading experts in the field, and was compiled with special emphasis on the impact of the 1948 United Nations Declaration of Human Rights. The set provides a country-by-country analysis of each nation's approach to human rights. It also includes detailed examinations of such crucial topics as torture, slavery, asylum, genocide, hostages, indigenous peoples, freedom of the press, and the right to education. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
The international encyclopedia of revolution and protest: 1500 to the present
[HIL-REF JC491 .I58 2009 vols. 1-8]
This definitive 8-volume reference is a comprehensive print resource covering the history of protest and revolution over the past 500 years - throughout the modern era of mass movements.
The Jossey-Bass handbook of nonprofit leadership and management
[HIL-REF HD62.6 .J67 2005]
The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management offers a comprehensive and in-depth description of the most effective leadership and management practices that can be applied throughout a nonprofit organization. This second edition of the best-selling handbook brings together the leading experts in the nonprofit field to discuss the current knowledge and trends of effective practice in a phases of nonprofit organization leadership and management. This thoroughly revised edition is based on the most up-to-date research, theory, and experience. It offers practical advice on every aspect of managing nonprofit organizations, including board development, strategic planning, lobbying, marketing, government contracting, volunteer programs, fund-raising, financial accounting, compensation and benefits programs, and risk management. In addition, this new edition examines emerging topics of interest such as strategic alliances and finding and keeping the right employees. Book jacket. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
The new core international human rights treaties
see also [HIL-GOV TU17 ST HR HIL N532ci]
This publication reproduces the new core universal human rights treaties in pocket-size. By issuing the latest core instruments in this format, the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights wishes to make them more accessible, in particular to government officials, civil society, human rights defenders, legal practitioners, scholars, individual citizens and others with an interest in human rights norms and standards
The Palgrave Macmillan dictionary of political thought
see also [HIL-REF JA65 .H64 2007]
Covers alphabetically both the major concepts in political theory and the key writers in the field. This book is based on the premise that politics cannot be studied without theory, and for students, the more concrete and relevant the theory, the better. It presents definitions that relate political ideas to political realities.
The Statesman's year-book
[HIL-REFDSK HA46 .S83 2016]
Current year shelved in HIL-REFDSK.
2011 - 2015 are shelved in HIL-REF.
1995/96 - 2010 are shelved in HIL-STACKS.
The following years are located in HIL-STORA (ask at the Circulation Desk):
1873, 1875, 1882, 1884-1885, 1890-1893, 1896, 1898, 1907, 1909-1944, 1946-1994/95
The work and family handbook : multi-disciplinary perspectives, methods, and approaches
[HIL-REF HD4904.25 .W6626 2006]
Editors Pitt-Catsouphes (Boston College), Kossek (Michigan State U.), and Sweet (Ithaca College) have organized 34 contributions in four sections reflecting four goals: discussing the diverse nature of experience people have at home and at work; analyzing the work-family area of study from different disciplinary points of view; comparing and contrasting different methodological approaches to the field; and linking research to work and family policy and practice. Overview chapters surveying the field are followed by disciplinary perspectives drawn from the fields of history, demography, anthropology, psychology, sociology, economics, law, and social work. Methodologies discussed include ethnography, survey research, focus groups, longitudinal research, and organizational documentation research. The final section includes contributions discussing managerial perspectives on work and the family, the role of law in work-family relationships, and arbitration of work-family conflicts. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Ulrichsweb : global serials directory
Bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive and authoritative information on serials published around the world.
UNB Scholar Dissertations & Theses (Centre for Digital Scholarship)
UNB Scholar's Theses and Dissertations collection provides full-text access to most theses and dissertations submitted electronically from 2012 to the present. Please note that since electronic submission was optional for graduate students until January 2019, this is not a comprehensive collection of all UNB theses. Researchers are urged to check the library catalogue for the most complete record of UNB theses and dissertations in print, microfilm, and electronic formats.
For UNB theses submitted before 2012, please consult ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat for select theses available online through the ProQuest resource.
The UNdata database (formerly the United Nations Common Database (UNCDB)) provides access to selected statistical sources from a wide range of UN organizations including the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), the International Labour Organization (ILO), UNICEF, UNESCO, and the World Health Organization (WHO). In addition, the UNCDB features databases from other international organizations such as the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the World Bank, the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and the Inter-Parliamentary Union.
United Nations treaty collection / Collection des traités des Nations Unies
Under Article 102 of the Charter of the United Nations, "Every treaty and every international agreement entered into by any Member of the United Nations after the present Charter comes into force shall as soon as possible be registered with the Secretariat and published by it".
Urban transit : operations, planning, and economics
[HIL-REF HE305 .V83 2005]
In this follow-up to Transportation for Livable Cities(CUPR Press, 1999) and Urban Public Transportation Systems and Technology (Prentice-Hall, 1981), Vuchic (transportation engineering, city and regional planning, U. of Pennsylvania) completes his trilogy on the relationship of public transportation systems to urban livability. In covering transit system operations and planning worldwide, he reviews methodologies for transit unit and personnel scheduling; forms and methods of evaluating transit lines and networks; system management and regulation; and the entire planning process, including travel demand forecasting and comparison/selection of transportation modes. The text includes equations, chapter exercises, photos of transit options, and a glossary. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Vividata provides statistical data that tracks Canadian consumer demographics, media usage, lifestyle, attitudinal data and brand/product usage across 150+ categories. Data is derived from an annual national survey (Survey of the Canadian Consumer) of 40,000 Canadians (age 14+) surveyed across 50+ markets; data is released in quarterly updates.
War on Poverty and Office of Economic Opportunity: Part III Administration of Antipoverty Programs & Civil Rights, 1964-67 (Gale)
"This collection brings together a series of Office of Economic Opportunity (OEO) collections that highlight efforts to meld the issue of civil rights and antipoverty initiatives:1) Alphabetical File of Samuel Yette, 1964-1966: Yette was the Special Assistant to the Director of Civil Rights. Among his records are correspondence, reports, antipoverty program analyses, minutes of meetings, transcripts of testimonies, and other material.2) Program Files, 1964-1967: These records consist of correspondence, weekly reports on civil rights matters, reports by civil rights coordinators, equal employment opportunity guidelines, and more.3) Records Relating to the Administration of the Civil Rights Program in the Regions, 1965-1966: These records arranged by region > state > local areas and cities consist of correspondence between regional coordinators, various civil rights groups, labor organizations, members of Congress, and community groups regarding the activities of the OEO."Original Microform Title: The War on Poverty and the Office of Economic Opportunity; Part 3: Administration of Antipoverty Programs and Civil Rights, 1964-1967
Water treatment : principles and design
[HIL-REF TD430 .W375 2005]
Crittenden (civil and environmental engineering, Arizona State University) provides a text which can be used in undergraduate elective classes in water treatment and graduate classes in water treatment, ground remediation, and physical chemical treatment. This second edition has been completely rewritten, reflecting changes in the field since the first edition was published 19 years ago. There are new chapters on conventional and advanced chemical oxidation processes and membrane filtration. To provide a background for discussion of water treatment theory and technology, separate chapters are devoted to water quality, microbiological quality, and water quality management strategies. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Who's who in Canada
[HIL-REF FC25 .W467]
Who's Who in the Twentieth Century
"From Albert Einstein to the Marx Brothers, this authoritative reference book provides biographies of men and women from different countries and cultures who have contributed to the thought as well as the action of the twentieth century."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
Who's who of canadian women
see also [HIL-REF FC26 .W65 W46]
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
Women and social movements in the United States 1600-2000
Women and Social Movements in the United States serves as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. It provides learning modules in the form of mini-monographs, each of which is organized around a specific question about a single social movement.
World at risk : a global issues sourcebook
[HIL-REF JZ1242 .W67 2002]
Mostly US scholars offer introductory analysis and reference material on 30 key issues facing the world in such fields as economics, the environment, human development, law, politics, and security. The articles are formatted uniformly to facilitate comparing the different issues and finding links between them. Each moves from general analysis to detailed assessment at regional and national levels. Among the issues are AIDS, deforestation, ethnic and regional conflict, global warming, income inequality, peacemaking and peacebuilding, terrorism, and women. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
"This encyclopedia features concise entries providing essential information on a range of subjects, including world affairs, science and technology, the arts, modern and ancient history, religion, sports, and popular culture."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
World encyclopedia of peace
[HIL-REF JX1944 .W67 1986 vols. 1-4]
Youth activism : an international encyclopedia
[HIL-REF HQ799.2 .P6 Y65 2006 vols. 1-2]
How such citizens develop from children into adults is crucial information for educators, psychologists, young people, parents, politicians and many others. This two-volume set brings an understanding to the disparate activist youth groups internationally, as well as the interdisciplinary research that explores this phenomenon.