Article & Research Databases for Physics

AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality educational material covering all major scientific disciplines. An acclaimed gateway to scientific knowledge, AccessScience is continually expanding the ways it can demonstrate and explain core, trustworthy scientific information that inspires and guides users to deeper knowledge.

Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

The American Physical Society "publishes the world's most prestigious and widely-read physics research journals"

This database contains over 83,000 records describing publications and research projects about northern Canada.
Open Access

"Open access to 674,613 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics"--Home page.
Open Access

The ASCE Library provides a comprehensive online tool for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering. The American Society of Civil Engineers publishes just over 30 journals available through the ASCE Library.

ASTM Compass - International Standards & Digital Library includes all 13,000 active ASTM standards (equivalent to the printed 82 volumes), the historical standards back to 1998, as well as the withdrawn and redlined version comparisons. In addition, it includes full-text access to Manuals, Monographs, Data Series, STPs (Special Technical Publications) and almost a dozen Journals dating back to the 1930s.

Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

The Earth, Atmospheric, & Aquatic Science Database is an interdisciplinary resource of quality, curated A&I combined with full-text content from scholarly journals, trade journals, conference proceedings, and other sources. The coverage extends Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) by providing a sizable element of full-text access along with comprehensive discovery through the extensive abstracts and indexes structured using controlled vocabulary managed by expert editorial teams. For coverage of aquatic science, the collection features the entire range of bibliographic records from Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA).

Content Types: Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals, Books, Conference Papers and Proceedings, Government & Official Publications, Magazines, Newspapers, Other Sources, Reports, Tables, Wire Feeds, Working Papers, Video and Audio.

GeoRef "covers worldwide technical literature on geology and geophysics."

Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.

The IEEE Xplore Digital Library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to both current and archival scientific and technical content published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. This resource provides Web access to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics, including:

• IEEE & Assorted Publisher journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents
• IEEE & Assorted Publisher conference proceedings
• IEEE published standards
• IEEE Standards Dictionary Online

Limited to 10 simultaneous users

"Inspec is the world’s leading bibliographic database, providing comprehensive access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. First published in 1898 as the Scientific Abstracts, Inspec now contains close to 10 million bibliographic records taken from more than 3850 scientific and technical journals and 2200 conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, reports, dissertations and patents, many with full-text linking."
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

The Institute of Physics Publishing promotes research and the advancement of knowledge in Physics and Physics-related fields. This resource provides access to eBooks, as well as current and archival journal content.

In addition to being an archive, JSTOR offers current access to a range of titles from various publishers. UNB has access to current and archival content for almost 50 of these journals.

JSTOR Open Access offers more than 2,000 ebook titles now available from publishers such as University of California Press, Cornell University Press, NYU Press, and University of Michigan Press, and JSTOR will continue to add new titles. In addition, all journal content in JSTOR published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere is freely available to anyone, anywhere in the world. These open access books and archival journals are freely available for anyone in the world to use.
Permitted Use | Open Access

MathSciNet "is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature."

SciFinder-n is the world's premier chemical information database produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), a division of the American Chemical Society. SciFinder-n indexes over 50,000 journal titles (historical and current) and patent records from 63 patent authorities. You can search documents by topic, author, company name, or document identifier such as DOI; substances by name or CAS Registry Number, OR use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions.

SciFinder-n is a core research tool for chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, physics, environmental science. SciFinder-n is a collection of 6 CAS databases plus Medline: Chemical Abstracts (CAplus), CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMCATS, CHEMLIST, MARPAT.

Depending on your research, SciFinder-n is complementary to other databases like Scopus, PubMed, INSPEC, IEEE.

Content includes: journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, books, dissertations, and meeting abstracts, organic and inorganic substances, DNA and protein sequences, single and multi-step reactions, synthetic preparations, catalog database of commercially available products from chemical suppliers, Markush structures, etc.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.