Skip to main content

Music Guides

Detailed Guides

Top Article & Research Databases

Use article databases to find articles, reviews, book chapters, etc.

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
    Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I
  • America: History and Life (EBSCO)
    "America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present ... The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews."--Database information page.
    Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1964-Current
  • Anthropology Plus (EBSCO)
    Anthropology Plus is an index of bibliographic materials combining Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute, from the UK. It provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present of all core periodicals in the field in addition to lesser-known journals.
    Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Late 19th Century-Current
  • Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
    "Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more ... Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955."--Database information page.
    Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1955-Current
  • JSTOR Archival Collections
    JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
    Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
  • Classical Scores Library (Music Online)
    "Music Online: Classical Scores Library is a series of four volumes with a mission to provide a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, composition and theory for a variety of scholars."
  • Naxos music library (NML)
    "Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 650 record labels, with more labels joining every month. Along with classical music, jazz, world, and pop/rock are also represented."
  • Smithsonian Global Sound® for Libraries (Music Online)
    Smithsonian Global Sound provides over 35,000 tracks of music, natural sounds and spoken words, delivered via streaming audio. It includes performances of traditional musics from around the world, poetry readings, environmental sounds, and recordings by legendary folk, jazz and blues performers. Liner notes for many recordings are also available.
  • Iter - Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
    A bibliography covering the period 400-1700. Citations are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues.

 

(Showing 9 of 11 resources | View All Results)

Top Reference Materials

Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other materials

  • The Cambridge History of American Music (The Cambridge History of Music)
    This volume examines the diversity of America's musical life, with its influences from Native, European, African, Asian, and other sources. It explores the social, historical, and cultural events of musical life and the influence of popular musics.
    Purchased multi-user unlimited access
  • The Cambridge History of Twentieth-Century Music (The Cambridge History of Music)
    Surveys the Western twentieth-century 'art' tradition alongside development in jazz, popular music, and world music.
    Purchased multi-user unlimited access
  • The Cambridge History of Nineteenth-Century Music (The Cambridge History of Music)
    This comprehensive overview of 19th-century music is divided into two parts (1800-1850 and 1850-1900), each of which investigates the intellectual and socio-political history of the time.
    Purchased multi-user unlimited access
  • The Cambridge History of Seventeenth-Century Music (The Cambridge History of Music)
    While this history does not depart entirely from the traditional study of musical works and their composers, there is a strong emphasis on the institutions, cultures & politics of the age, together with an interrogation of the ways in which music related to contemporary arts, sciences & beliefs.
    Purchased multi-user unlimited access
  • The Cambridge History of Western Music Theory (The Cambridge History of Music)
    This comprehensive history of Western music is a collaborative project by music theorists and historians. The volume traces the rich panorama of music-theoretical thought from the Ancient Greeks to 2000.
    Purchased multi-user unlimited access
  • Oxford Dictionary of Dance, The (2 ed.)
    "The Oxford Dictionary of Dance offers wide coverage of dancers, choreographers, teachers, composers, technical terms, major works, important films, and organizations involved in the dance world. It embraces the new activity within traditional forms like ballet as well as the stream of new dance languages invented by fresh generations of choreographers and the many dance forms imported from the rest of the world. There is information on classical ballet, Spanish flamenco, Indian Bharata Natyam, Japanese Butoh, and jazz. The volume also covers post-modern dance, examining everything from Balanchine to recent practitioners of Eurocrash, minimalism, and contact improvisation. Ranging from the history of music to the changing design of the ballet shoe, this is a comprehensive dictionary compiled by two leading authorities on dance."
    Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

 

(Showing 6 of 26 resources | View All Results)

More Information