Reference Materials for Kinesiology

This dictionary "provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, as well as key terms from medicine and palaeontology. There are also feature articles on important topics, such as genetically modified organisms."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

"Compiled by an expert team of sociologists under the editorship of Gordon Marshall, this dictionary has international coverage of terms, methods, and concepts; related terms from psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science; and material on topics such as cultural studies and identity, mass media, and the Internet, nationalism and McDonaldization."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

Levinson and Christensen's 1996 Encyclopedia of World Sport: From Ancient Time to Present (Berkshire), a three-volume resource of considerable value, serves as the basis for this new set, which considers sport from the perspective of race, ethnicity, class, and culture. Overlap between the two works is immediately recognizable: for example, many of the original contributors have returned to help shape this set, and several of the original articles, such as those on aerobics and animal rights, have undergone only minor revision. Still, there is a great deal of new material. For example, 51 of the A-through-G entries from the first set (e.g., Buzkashi, the Afghan sport of goat dragging) reappear in the new one, while 28 of the A-through-G entries (e.g., bandy, cockfighting, and chariot racing) do not. On the other hand, the new version offers 100 brand-new articles, such as "America's Cup," "Bondi Beach," "elite sports parents," and "globalization." The set also features a bibliography for each article as well as photographs, illustrations, sidebars, and an index. Bottom Line Since it now comprises many more entries (450 vs. 250), it is not surprising that the set's price has more than doubled. Still, its thoroughness recommends it to all academic and public libraries. John Maxymuk, Rutgers Univ. Lib., Camden, NJ Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. From: Reed Elsevier Inc. Copyright Reed Business Information

Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform decision making at the point of care. Each Cochrane Clinical Answer contains a clinical question, a short answer, and an opportunity to ‘drill down’ to the evidence from relevant Cochrane reviews.
2014-Current

Covers every aspect of getting a good job in the sports field.  Covers all types of careers as well as different sporting organizations.

"This best-selling dictionary is indispensable both as a home medical guide and as an aid for all those working in the medical and allied professions. The entries are clearly laid out and jargon-free, making the book both accessible and informative."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

"Oxford's unprecedented Dictionary of the Social Sciences is designed to break down the barriers between social science disciplines, as well as to make social scientific language comprehensible to general readers. Collecting anthropology, sociology, political science, economics, human geography, cultural studies, and Marxism in one volume, the Dictionary presents concise, clearly written definitions of more than 1,500 important terms. Entries are true definitions, not extended essays or summaries. Ranging from 50 to 500 words, they succinctly define terms within each specific discipline and acquaint readers with the intellectual issues at stake when the terms are used. The entries draw on classic and contemporary scholarship, and include basic terms, concepts, theories, schools of thought, methodologies, techniques, topics, issues, and controversies. In addition to terminology, the Dictionary includes nearly 275 biographies of major figures—from Franz Boas to John Maynard Keynes to Max Weber, whose work has had a profound impact on the various fields."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

Summarises information on over 300 psychological scales questionnaires and inventories specific to sport and exercise settings. This book features test summaries addressing exercise motivation, sport motivation, aggression, cognitive strategies, leadership cohesion and anxiety. It also includes twenty chapters organised by psychological construct.

A non-scholarly introduction to human body sytems (respiratory, digestive, etc.) that is marred by lack of bibliographies.

The five-volume Encyclopedia of Human Rights, edited by David Forsythe, offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history in over 300 entries signed by leading scholars and human rights experts. The coverage includes major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

From the introduction ... "a comprehensive and useful reference work covering all aspects of the science, social science, and medicine of sport...".  There are about 1000 entries in the 3 volumes, most of which contain references for further reading.

subtitle: a history from foot races to extreme sports - 2 vols.

"This dictionary enables users to evaluate the claims made about different diets and types of exercise. It covers all matters relating to diet and exercise including diet methods, food supplements, sex and exercise, sports injuries, anatomy, energy-related terms, exercises for improving strength, flexibility, stamina, weight control, training methods and principles, calorie requirements of different activities, and much more."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

This three-volume set acknowledges the importance of women in sports at the global level, both from a historical perspective and in light of rapid developments in the field at the close of the 20th century. About 400 topics are categorized into sports and athletic activities, women's sport in society and the culture of women's sport, health issues, organizations, events, national programs, and people. Approximately 150 articles discuss the history of particular sports, the history and current status of women's participation in each, and the basic rules of play. The 65 culture of sports articles cover issues such as aggression, media, commercialization, lesbianism and homophobia, values and ethics, and religion, as well as non- competitive aspects of sports including gender verification, drugs and drug testing, motivation, family involvement, marketing, sexual harassment, and sponsorship. Also included are biographies of 130-plus women who have been influential in the development of women's sport, as well as information on 12 active organizations and 18 international multi-sport competitions. The volumes contain many b w photographs. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

The Merck Manual (Home Edition) provides basic information on medical concepts, diseases and disorders in everyday language intended for non-specialists. This freely available online edition includes multimedia pronunciation aids, animations and video.

"he Oxford Companion to the Body is a fascinating and authoritative guide to every aspect of the body. It provides concise and readable accounts of the structure and function of all the major systems of the body and the causes of disorders that affect them. Interwoven with this coverage of the science of the body, are entertaining and informative articles on social and religious attitudes to the body, and its significance for artists, philosophers and writers." [from the website]

This dictionary covers all the major areas of sports science and medicine including: anatomy, biomechanics, exercise physiology, nutrition, sports psychology, sports sociology, sports injuries, and training principles. It was compiled with the help of a team of eminent contributors and advisers; the third edition has been updated to incorporate recent advances, for example in the areas of gene technology and drug and doping regulations.

Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.Covers the humanities and social sciences.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

Free online encyclopedia, containing the full text of the print Canadian Encyclopedia, "the most comprehensive source of information on all things Canadian." Includes the full text of the Encyclopedia of Music in Canada.

The SAGE Dictionary of Sports Studies brings a timely, much-needed, and comprehensive tool for all students in this multi-disciplinary field. Each entry provides a basic definition, a guide to research themes, and a clear account of the relevance of the concept in understanding sport. Not only indispensable for quick clarification of terms, it will give students a springboard for more in-depth research and critical analysis. Key Features: offers cross referencing to assist critical thinking; includes a list of key readings for each entry; provides expert definitions drawn from sociology, history, psychology, economics, management and business, politics and policy, physical education and health, and research methods; and gives concise, student-friendly, and authoritative entries.

WARNING: This resource loads slowly and may need a page reload. Contents: v. 1. Marketing strategy / edited by Robert A. Peterson and Roger A. Kerin -- v. 2. Marketing research / edited by Wagner A. Kamakura -- v. 3. Consumer behavior / edited by Richard P. Bagozzi and Ayalla A. Ruvio -- v. 4. Advertising and integrated communication / edited by Michael A. Belch and George E. Belch -- v. 5. Product innovation and management / edited by Barry L. Bayus -- v. 6. International marketing / edited by Daniel C. Bello and David A. Griffith -- v. 7. Cumulative index.