Reference Materials for Media Arts and Cultures
Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference materials
A century of Canadian cinema : Gerald Pratley's feature film guide, 1900 to the present
[HIL-REF PN1993.5 .C3 P687 2003]
Anatomy of wonder : a critical guide to science fiction
[HIL-REF PN3433.8 .A52 2004]
Those lucky few amongst us who can get a break from wrestling with the Hairy Xbnsiks of Arestus IV will find over 1,400 entries in the primary literature section of this new edition, listed by author. They will also find an annotated bibliography of criticism and other secondary literature of over 300 pages, including entries for history, online resources, author studies, teaching resources, and examples of SF in popular media. Contributors examine SF from 1516 to 2004 and list awards, series, and other SF-related information for librarians and other non-specialist researchers. Editor Barron includes a very nice set of indices; that listing SF themes is particularly helpful for budding authors seeking to write or research such issues as absurdism, aliens, linguistics, women, or perhaps better ways to deal with Hairy Xbnsiks of Arestus IV without all that wrestling. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Artstor is a repository of approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million digital images (and growing), related data and provides tools to actively use those images in a restricted usage environment that balances the rights of the content providers and the needs of the users. The images are drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers.
Scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource. The artistic traditions across many cultures embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.
Cinema Studies: The Key Concepts
Covering a range of key genres, movements, theories and production terms, this third edition includes a bibliography, and topical entries such as: female masquerade, silent cinema, exploitation cinema, art direction, national cinema, and political cinema.
Columbia Companion to American History on Film, The
see also [HIL-REF PN1995.9 .U64 C65 2003]
Working from the premise that visual media define history for many Americans, essays by scholars of film history, American studies, and communications explore how major eras, institutions, peoples, wars, leaders, social groups, and myths of our national culture have been portrayed on film. Many of the essays compare and contrast the interpretations of filmmakers with those of professional historians; they consider questions such as the impact of contemporary issues on the film under discussion, how the films deviate from their sources, and how the important films on a subject convey meaning and theme. A handsome and hefty volume illustrated with b #38;w stills. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music, The (5 ed.)
No specific instructions are required to access this resource.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
Contemporary Canadian Musicians
see also [HIL-REF ML106 .C3 C68]
Critical dictionary of film and television theory
see also [HIL-REF PN1993.45 .C75 2001]
This Dictionary lays out the major theoretical approaches deployed in the study of the moving image as well as defining key theoretical terms. Contextual entries range from 500 to 3,000 words.
Dictionnaire du Cinema Quebecois, Le
[HIL-REF PN1993.45 .D42 2006 ]
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT)
"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."
All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1743-Current
Encyclopedia of Canadian rock, pop & folk music
[HIL-REF ML102 .P66 J34 1994]
Biographical sketches and discographies of hit singles and albums for Canadian pop, rock, and folk music artists and groups.
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory
see also [HIL-REF P87.5 .E496 2009 v.1-2]
With more than 300 entries, these two volumes provide a one-stop source for a comprehensive overview of communication theory, offering current descriptions of theories as well as the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories. This is the first resource to summarize, in one place, the diversity of theory in the communication field. Key themes include: Applications and contexts; Critical orientations; Cultural orientations; Cybernetic and systems orientations; Feminist orientations; Group and organizational concepts; Information, media, and communication technology; International and global concepts; Interpersonal concepts; Non-Western orientations; Paradigms, traditions, and schools; Philosophical orientations; Psycho-cognitive orientations; Rhetorical orientations; Semiotic, linguistic, and discursive orientations; Social/interactional orientations; Theory, metatheory, methodology, and inquiry.
Encyclopedia of film noir
[HIL-REF PN1995.9 .F54 M39 2007]
Film noir, its directors, actors, histories, and themes, are presented for the student, scholar, and film fan.
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media
see also [HIL-REF P96 .S5 E53 2012 ]
The Encyclopedia of Gender in Media critically examines the role of the media in enabling, facilitating, or challenging the social construction of gender in our society. The work addresses a variety of entertainment and news content in print and electronic media and explores the social construction of masculinity as well as femininity. In addition to representations of gender within the media, we also analyze gender issues related to media ownership and the media workforce. Despite an abundance of textbooks, anthologies, and university press monographs on the topic of gender in media, until now no comprehensive reference work has tackled this topic of perennial interest in student research and papers.
Encyclopedia of Multimedia
The Encyclopedia of Multimedia provides in-depth coverage of the important concepts,
issues and technology trends in the field of multimedia technologies, systems,
techniques, and applications. It is a comprehensive collection of entries that present
perspectives and future trends in the field from hundreds of leading researchers and
experts in the field. The entries in the book describe a number of topics in multimedia
systems and applications - from multimedia servers, to multimedia databases and
multimedia networks and communications, to emerging multimedia applications.
Encyclopedia of Music in Canada
[HIL-REF ML106 .C3 E52 1992]
This monumental work, first published in 1981, is a comprehensive guide to all aspects, historical and current, of popular, folk, religious, concert, and other forms of music in Canada, and is cited in BCL3, Sheehy, and Walford. The present revised and updated edition adds 820 new entries, and expands such entries as ethnomusicology and the discography sections throughout. Some 200 old entries have been eliminated, others condensed. Warning: this reference is habit-forming. 9.25x12.25". Annotation copyright by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics
"This work explores how the rise of social media is altering politics both in the United States and in key moments, movement, and places around the world. Its scope encompasses the disruptive technologies and activities that are changing basic patterns in American politics." - form the publisher
Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media
"This work explores how the rise of social media is altering politics both in the United States and in key moments, movement, and places around the world. Its scope encompasses the disruptive technologies and activities that are changing basic patterns in American politics." - from the publisher
Handbook of Diasporas, Media, and Culture
Introduction : diaspora, media and culture : exploring dimensions of human mobility and connectivity in the era of global eiterdependency / Roza Tsagarousianou and Jessica Retis...
History in the Media: Film and Television
[HIL-REF PN1995.9 .H5 N54 2006]
Aimed at general readers, this text considers the relationship between Hollywood and history from the invention of moving pictures to the present. Niemi (American studies, St. Michael's College, Vermont) examines more than 350 movies that are based on actual events and analyzes how the film treatment of topics such as baseball, the Civil War, and punk rock have changed over time to reflect prevalent cultural attitudes. Coverage includes both docudramas and documentaries. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Media and cultural studies : keyworks
[HIL-REF P94.6 .M424 2006]
Media and Cultural Studies: KeyWorks is a comprehensive anthology of the most significant theoretical readings on critical approaches to media culture and communications. The volume brings together what are considered the KeyWorks of current theory and method for the study of the abundance and diversity of culture and society in the present age.
"Media scholarship has responded to a rapidly evolving media environment that has challenged existing theories and methods while also giving rise to new theoretical and methodological approaches. This volume explores the state of contemporary media research. Focusing on intellectual foundations, theoretical perspectives, methodological approaches, context, and contemporary issues, this volume is a valuable resource for media scholars and students"-- Provided by publisher.
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography & Directory of Periodicals (EBSCO)
MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literature, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. Dating back to 1925, the database contains more than 2.7 million citations, over 6,000 journals and series, 1,200 book publishers and over 372,000 subject names and terms and adds over 66,000 records annually (May 2018).
Coverage is international and includes titles and full-text links from online publishers including JSTOR, Project MUSE, Wiley-Blackwell and Taylor & Francis.
The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1925-Current
Naxos music library (NML)
"Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 650 record labels, with more labels joining every month. Along with classical music, jazz, world, and pop/rock are also represented."
Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.Covers the humanities and social sciences.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
Routledge Companion to Media and Human Rights
[HIL-REF P96 .H85 R57 2017]
The Companion is the first collection to bring together two distinct ways of thinking about human rights and media, including scholarship that examines media as a human right alongside that which looks at media coverage of human rights issues. This international collection of 49 newly written pieces thus provides a unique overview of current research in the field, while also providing historical context to help students and scholars appreciate how such developments depart from past practices.
The volume examines the universal principals of freedom of expression, legal instruments, the right to know, media as a human right, and the role of media organisations and journalistic work. It is organised thematically in five parts:
- Communication, Expression and Human Rights
- Media Performance and Human Rights: Political Processes
- Media Performance and Human Rights: News and Journalism
- Digital Activism, Witnessing and Human Rights
- Media Representation of Human Rights: Cultural, Social and Political.
Individual essays cover an array of topics, including mass-surveillance, LGBT advocacy, press law, freedom of information and children’s rights in the digital age. With contributions from both leading scholars and emerging scholars, the Companion offers an interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary approach to media and human rights allowing for international comparisons and varying perspectives.
The Routledge Companion to Media and Human Rights provides a comprehensive introduction to the current field useful for both students and researchers, and defines the agenda for future research.
Routledge Companion to Semiotics
[HIL-REF P99 .R643 2010]
Offers an introduction to semiotics, presenting essays from a range of international leaders in the field. Featuring a glossary of key terms and thinkers as well as suggestions for further reading, this title is suitable for students of semiotics at different levels.
SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods
[HIL-REF P91 .S24 2017 ]
Communication research is evolving and changing in a world of online journals, open-access, and new ways of obtaining data and conducting experiments via the Internet. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods contains entries that cover every step of the research process, accompanied by engaging examples from the literature of communication studies.
SAGE Handbook of Consumer Culture
[HIL-REF HF5415.32 .S24 2018 ]
The question of consumption emerged as a major focus of research and scholarship in the 1990s but the breadth and diversity of consumer culture has not been fully enough explored. The meanings of consumption, particularly in relation to lifestyle and identity, are of great importance to academic areas including business studies, sociology, cultural and media studies, psychology, geography and politics. The SAGE Handbook of Consumer Culture is a one-stop resource for scholars and students of consumption, where the key dimensions of consumer culture are critically discussed and articulated.
Smithsonian Global Sound® for Libraries (Music Online)
Smithsonian Global Sound provides over 35,000 tracks of music, natural sounds and spoken words, delivered via streaming audio. It includes performances of traditional musics from around the world, poetry readings, environmental sounds, and recordings by legendary folk, jazz and blues performers. Liner notes for many recordings are also available.
The dictionary of art
[HIL-REF N31 .D5 1996 vols. 1-34]
Vol. 33 includes Appendix A, List of locations; Appendix B, List of periodical titles; Appendix C, List of standard reference books and series.
The encyclopedia of popular music
[HIL-REF ML102 .P66 E59 1998 vols. 1-8]
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music is the most thorough reference work on the music that has formed the soundtrack of this century. Covering both mega-star and little-known performers, the Encyclopedia includes jazz, rock, country, folk, rap, blues, stage and film musicals, heavy metal, punk, techno, and unique coverage of world music and reggae. Selected by Library Journal as a Best Reference Source in its two previous editions, The Encyclopedia of Popular Music has established itself as the definitive reference for libraries, broadcasters, recording industry professionals, musicians, and scholars in music history and cultural studies. Expanded to eight volumes, the Third Edition includes over 18,000 articles ranging in length from 150 to 5,000 words and covers performers, composers, producers, record companies, events, venues, and magazines. The discographies, lists of films and videos, sources for further reading, and bold-faced cross-references provide invaluable tools for research. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
The Encyclopedia of Underground Movies: Films from the Fringes of Cinema,
[HIL-REF PN1995.9 .E96 H35 2004]
Uncover The hidden reels of cinema that Hollywood won't acknowledge, The media won't examine, and few moviegoers have even heard about: The bizarre world of underground movies. Unlike most ``independent'' films, undergrounds roll far from traditional filmmaking circles. With micro-budgets that couldn't cover a day's catering on typical Hollywood films, these productions challenge audiences with bold content and audacious visuals that make cineplex fare taste like stale popcorn. Never Coming to a Theater Near You covers over 1,000 movies. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
The Film Companion: A Comprehensive Guide to more than 650 Canadian Films and Filmmakers
[HIL-REF PN1993.5 .C2 M62]
The Garland encyclopedia of world music
[HIL-REF ML100 .G16 1998 vols. 1-10]
The premiere volume of the" Garland Encyclopedia of World Music" series offers a comprehensive view of African music as a vital part of the social and cultural life of it peoples. The 34 expert contributors have all conducted fieldwork in Africa and their firsthand experience is reflected in the immediacy of their observations. In 39 articles, this encyclopedia explores key themes in African music that have emerged in recent years - a subject usually neglected in country-by-country coverage; emphasizes the contexts of musical performance-unlike studies that offer static interpretations isolated from other performing traditions; and presents the fresh insights and analyses of musicologists and anthropologists of diverse national origins-African, Asian, European and American. Also includes nine maps and 96 music examples. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
[HIL-REF ML102 .J3 N48 2002 vols. 1-3]
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition will be the definitive resource for any serious lover & listener of jazz. This 3 volume hardcover second edition builds upon the impressive foundation laid by its predecessor in 1988 to become the most comprehensive jazz reference work ever published. Editor Barry Kernfeld, a well-known jazz authority & scholar, has brought together the world's leading experts in jazz, ensuring the accuracy, breadth, & depth expected from Grove's.
The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians
[HIL-REF ML100 .N48 2001 vols. 1-29]
"Excellent coverage of the art music (Behague) of Colombia, as well as traditional music (Waxer/List), broken down by region, and popular music (Waxer). Illustrated with maps, photographs, and musical examples"--Handbook of Latin American Studies, v. 58.
The New Grove dictionary of musical instruments
[HIL-REF ML102 .I5 N48 1984 vols. 1-3]
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera
[HIL-REF ML102 .O6 N5 1998 vols. 1-4]
The New Harvard dictionary of music
[HIL-REF ML100 .N485 1986]
Nearly six thousand entries and articles define musical terms, describe instruments, and discuss musical forms, concepts, and theory.
The Routledge guide to music technology
[HIL-REF ML102 .S67 R68 2006]
"The Routledge Guide to Music Technology" is an A to Z trade reference aimed at music students, technophiles, and audio-video-computer users. It offers brief definitions of key concepts, biographies of key figures, and discussion of the historical development of the audio world over the 20th century. The world of music technology has exploded over the last decades, thanks to introductions of new formats (MP3, RealAudio), hardware (Apple's iPod, DVD, CD-ROM), and software (computer file sharing). Now, musicians can create their own audio files and share them with listeners all over the world. Music students (and the average music consumer) need a quick guide to this technological universe. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
The SAGE Handbook of Media Studies
[HIL-REF P90 .S18 2004]
In 26 extended articles, Downing (mass communications and media arts, U. of Illinois, Carbondale), his co-editors and international cast of contributors provide critical analyses and describe their research in a variety of aspects of mass media, including its technology, uses, theories, and cultural issues. Their topics include the human side of mass media, such as its ethics, globalization, approaches, and variants, such as alternate media. They describe audiences, users and effects, including the psychology of media use and a history of media studies. They show how economy, politics and public opinion shape even the freest of media. They also describe how narrative, sound, advertising, and the ways of getting the show on the road matter, how Hollywood and Bollywood have changed and create change, and the effects of sex and violence. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.