Reference Materials for Engineering
Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference materials
A Dictionary of Computing
"Oxford's acclaimed Dictionary of Computing is regularly revised and updated by a team of computer specialists, making it the most authoritative dictionary on the subject available. The wide range of topics covered includes computer applications in industry, the office, science, education, and the home, the hardware, software, and telecommunications behind these applications. The dictionary also addresses the concepts and theories of computing and associated fields."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
A Dictionary of Earth Sciences (3 ed.)
"Oxford's fully up-to-date Dictionary of Earth Sciences is authoritative and wide-ranging with coverage of topics including climatology, economic geology, geochemistry, oceanography, palaeontology, petrology, and volcanology. There are entries on planetary science, remote sensing, statistics, and sequence stratigraphy, wind strength scales, material, temporal, and chronostratigraphic units, geologic, lunar, and Martian time scales."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
A full text collection from McGraw-Hill providing access to hundreds of engineering book titles, covering 12 major areas of engineering, and more than 200 topics.
eBook Collection title list:
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Additive Manufacturing Handbook Product Development for the Defense Industry
Theoretical and practical interests in additive manufacturing (3D printing) are growing rapidly. Engineers and engineering companies now use 3D printing to make prototypes of products before going for full production. In an educational setting faculty, researchers, and students leverage 3D printing to enhance project-related products. Additive Manufacturing Handbook focuses on product design for the defense industry, which affects virtually every other industry. Thus, the handbook provides a wide range of benefits to all segments of business, industry, and government. Manufacturing has undergone a major advancement and technology shift in recent years.
An Applied Guide to Process and Plant Design
An Applied Guide to Process and Plant Design" is a guide to process plant design for both students and professional engineers. The book covers plant layout and the use of spreadsheet programmes and key drawings produced by professional engineers as aids to design; subjects which are usually learned on the job rather than in education. You will learn how to produce smarter plant design through the use of computer tools, including Excel and AutoCAD, "What If Analysis," statistical tools, and Visual Basic for more complex problems. The book also includes a wealth of selection tables, covering the key aspects of professional plant design which engineering students and early-career engineers tend to find most challenging. Professor Moran draws on over 20 years' experience in process design to create an essential foundational book ideal for those who are new to process design, compliant with both professional practice and the IChemE degree accreditation guidelines. Explains how to deliver a process design that meets both business and safety criteria. Covers plant layout and the use of spreadsheet programmes and key drawings as aids to design. Includes a comprehensive set of selection tables, covering those aspects of professional plant design which early-career designers find most challenging
An Introduction to Contemporary Remote Sensing
Written by an internationally renowned expert in the field, An Introduction to Contemporary Remote Sensing introduces the latest developments in remote sensing and imaging science. This book covers basic principles and discusses essential technologies, such as aerial photography, radar, Lidar (light detection and ranging), photogrammetry, satellites, thermal radiation, and much more. Full-color images illustrate the concepts presented, and review questions at the end of each chapter help reinforce learning. This detailed resource provides the solid foundation in remote sensing required for developing diverse geospatial applications.
Analog Integrated Circuit Design by Simulation: Techniques, Tools, and Methods
This comprehensive textbook and on-the-job reference offers clear instruction on analog integrated circuit design using the latest simulation techniques. Ideal for graduate students and professionals alike, the book shows, step by step, how to develop and deploy integrated circuits for cutting-edge Internet of Things (IoT) and other applications. Analog Integrated Circuit Design by Simulation: Techniques, Tools, and Methods lays out practical, ready-to-apply engineering strategies. Application layer, device layer, and circuit layer IC design are covered in complete detail. You will learn how to tackle real-world design problems and avoid long cycles of trial and error.
Antenna Engineering Handbook
This new edition of the "bible of antenna engineering" has been updated to provide start-to-finish coverage of the latest innovations in antenna design and application. You will find in-depth discussion of antennas used in modern communication systems, mobile and personal wireless technologies, satellites, radar deployments, flexible electronics, and other emerging technologies, including 5G, terahertz, and wearable electronics. Antenna Engineering Handbook, Fifth Edition, is bolstered by real-world examples, hundreds of illustrations, and an emphasis on the practical aspects of antennas.
ASCE Library eBooks (American Society of Civil Engineers)
ASCE E-books and Standards encompass all civil engineering content areas, including construction, structures, transportation, geotechnics, environment, water resources, and professional practice. Also includes ASCE journals and proceedings.
ASTM compass : your portal for standards, testing, learning, & more
ASTM Compass - International Standards & Digital Library includes all 13,000 active ASTM standards (equivalent to the printed 82 volumes), the historical standards back to 1998, as well as the withdrawn and redlined version comparisons. In addition, it includes full-text access to Manuals, Monographs, Data Series, STPs (Special Technical Publications) and almost a dozen Journals dating back to the 1930s.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Automatic Control Systems
A complete toolkit for teaching, learning, and understanding the essential concepts of automatic control systems.
Edition after acclaimed edition, Automatic Control Systems has delivered up-to-date, real-world coverage designed to introduce students to the fundamentals of control systems. More than a comprehensive text, Automatic Control Systems includes innovative virtual labs that replicate physical systems and sharpen readers' problem-solving skills.
The Tenth Edition introduces the concept of Control Lab, which includes two classes of experiments: SIMLab (model-based simulation) and LEGOLab (physical experiments using LEGO® robots). These experiments are intended to supplement, or replace, the experimental exposure of the students in a traditional undergraduate control course and will allow these students to do their work within the MATLAB® and Simulink® environment—even at home. This cost-effective approach may allow educational institutions to equip their labs with a number of LEGO test beds and maximize student access to the equipment at a fraction of the cost of currently available control-systems experiments. Alternatively, as a supplemental learning tool, students can take the equipment home and learn at their own pace.
Building Design and Construction Handbook
A where-would-you-be-without-it handbook covering every single important step in building design and construction, now updated to include key changes in design and construction practices. Surveys materials, structures, soil mechanics and foundations, building types, hardware, insulation, acoustics, plumbing, and more–all the material that will help architects, engineers, contractors, and others work better, faster, and smarter. Includes new design specifications; the latest developments in seismic and wind design criteria; new building systems and material; updated building codes throughout; NFPA requirements; and new wood material and codes.
A free online resource open to anyone to use; no username or password required. Excellent source of Canadian case law and legislation.
Chemical Engineering Design : Principles, Practice and Economics of Plant and Process Design
Chemical Engineering Design, Second Edition, deals with the application of chemical engineering principles to the design of chemical processes and equipment. Revised throughout, this edition has been specifically developed for the U.S. market. It provides the latest US codes and standards, including API, ASME and ISA design codes and ANSI standards. It contains new discussions of conceptual plant design, flowsheet development, and revamp design; extended coverage of capital cost estimation, process costing, and economics; and new chapters on equipment selection, reactor design, and solids handling processes....
Practical CNC design, construction, and operation techniques are provided, leading to a thorough understanding of computer-based numerical control systems, components, and technologies. Featuring hundreds of color images and schematic diagrams, the handbook explains machining fundamentals and shows you how to build and safely operate fully automated, technically sophisticated mechatronic equipment. Learn how to work with position controllers, accomplish rapid and precise machine motions, use CAD and CAM systems, and integrate CNC into IT networks. The latest CNC programming languages, flexible manufacturing systems, and troubleshooting methods are also discussed in this hands-on guide.
Combined Heating, Cooling & Power Handbook Technologies & Applications
Completely revised, this second edition of a bestseller explores the latest technology advancements and the many changes and developments in the utility and environmental regulation areas. It includes new information on the state of deregulation and market pricing as well as discussion of smart grid and other emerging programs. The environmental sections reflect the current emphasis on greenhouse gas emissions and carbon management, updates to CAAA regulations and timelines and the latest developments in the use and control of refrigerants.
Computer Architecture Software Aspects, Coding, and Hardware
The book features a "bottom up" computer design approach, based upon the author's thirty years experience in both academe and industry. By combining computer engineering with electrical engineering, the author describes how logic circuits are designed in a CPU. The extensive coverage of a micprogrammed CPU and new processor design features gives the insight of current computer development. Computer Architecture: Software Aspects, Coding, and Hardware presents a comprehensive review of the subject, from beginner to advanced levels.
Computer Systems: An Embedded Approach
This comprehensive textbook explores computing hardware and software principles from an embedded perspective. It uncovers, step by step, how those concepts are used in the real world to build computer systems ranging from tiny embedded devices to warehouse-sized clusters, and how these are interlinked globally through the Internet. Computer Systems: An Embedded Approach fully explains the main hardware components—including processors, memory, storage devices, and performance accelerators—before thoroughly discussing operating systems, connectivity, and networking. You will discover how computer hardware and software work together to deliver pervasive computing, the Internet of Things (IoT), and mobile computing technology as well as apps and programs ranging from the smallest to the largest.
Computing Handbook : Computer Science and Software Engineering
Computing Handbook, Third Edition: Computer Science and Software Engineering mirrors the modern taxonomy of computer science and software engineering as described by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and the IEEE Computer Society (IEEE-CS).
CRC handbook of chemistry and physics
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a ready-reference book of chemical and physical data. The print copy of CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is the premier source not only of physical properties data but also of mathematical tables, sources of critical data, chemical nomenclature, symbols, and terminology. It has been published since 1913; and is updated and enhanced annually.
CRC Handbook of Mechanical Engineering
This second edition of The CRC Handbook of Mechanical Engineering covers every important aspect of the subject in one single volume. It provides a reference for the practicing engineer in industry, government, and academia, with relevant background and up-to-date information on the most important topics of modern mechanical engineering. These topics include modern manufacturing and design, robotics, computer engineering, environmental engineering, economics and project management, patent law, bioengineering, and communication and information systems. The final chapter and appendix provide information regarding physical properties and mathematical and computational methods.
- CRCnetBASE - incorporated into Taylor and Francis Group eBooks
CSA Standards and Codes Online (Canadian Standards Association)
The Canadian Standards Association is a not-for-profit standards development, membership-based association, in business, industry, government and consumers. CSA is the largest standards development organization (SDO) in Canada and is accredited in Canada and the U.S. to develop standards in a wide range of subject areas.
UNB Libraries’ subscribes to the Complete CSA Collection package which includes over 3,000 current and historical (including IT and Telecommunications standards) and standard related documents such as handbooks, guidelines and commentaries.
Data Communications and Networking
As one of the fastest growing technologies in our culture today, data communications and networking presents a unique challenge for instructors. As both the number and types of students are increasing, it is essential to have a textbook that provides coverage of the latest advances, while presenting the material in a way that is accessible to students with little or no background in the field. Using a bottom-up approach, Data Communications and Networking presents this highly technical subject matter without relying on complex formulas by using a strong pedagogical approach supported by more than 700 figures.
Now in its Fourth Edition, this textbook brings the beginning student right to the forefront of the latest advances in the field, while presenting the fundamentals in a clear, straightforward manner. Students will find better coverage, improved figures and better explanations on cutting-edge material. The "bottom-up" approach allows instructors to cover the material in one course, rather than having separate courses on data communications and networking.
Datums and Map Projections : For Remote Sensing, GIS and Surveying
Over the years since its first appearance, Datums and Map Projections has become a key book for many students and professionals around the world. Its theme - a practical guide to coordinate reference systems - is as important now as when it was first published, probably more so when we consider the ever growing use of satellite navigation systems and the introduction of web mapping services such as Google Earth. While retaining the benefits of the first edition - clear presentation assuming no prior knowledge, a problem-solving approach, practical examples and the combination of GPS-derived data from other sources - the rewritten and expanded second edition offers very much more: This new edition, now with a co-author, will maintain the book's reputation as the ideal guide to the subject for years to come.
Design for Advanced Manufacturing: Technologies and Processes
Detailed coverage of the latest advances in manufacturing and product design.
Edited by a past president of the Society of Manufacturing Engineers, this comprehensive resource features contributions from a host of international manufacturing and design experts. You will get thorough explanations of the entire range of advanced manufacturing processes and technologies as well as practical instructions and technical guidance.
Design of Wood Structures—ASD/LRFD
The leading wood design reference—thoroughly revised with the latest codes and data.
Fully updated to cover the latest techniques and standards, this comprehensive resource leads you through the complete design of a wood structure following the same sequence used in the actual design/construction process. Detailed equations, clear illustrations, and practical design examples are featured throughout the text. This up-to-date edition conforms to both the 2018 International Building Code® (IBC®) and the 2018 National Design Specification for Wood Construction (NDS).
Designing Transportation Systems for Older Adults
This book provides comprehensive information needed to assist with all aspects of designing, delivering, or evaluating transportation systems for use by older adults, and presents the necessary background on aging and human factors issues as well as practical guidelines needed to accommodate older adult transport users.
Digital Analysis of Remotely Sensed Imagery
Identifies and introduces new trends in image analysis. Digital Analysis of Remotely Sensed Imagery provides exhaustive coverage of the entire process of analyzing remotely sensed data for the purpose of producing accurate representations in thematic map format. Written in easy-to-follow language with minimal technical jargon, the book explores cutting-edge technique sand trends in image analysis, as well as the relationship between image processing and other recently emerged special technologies.
Digital Logic Design and Computer Organization: With Computer Architecture for Security
Digital Logic Design and Computer Organization: Wwith Computer Architecture for Security provides practicing engineers and students with a clear understanding of computer hardware technologies. The fundamentals of digital logic design as well as the use of the Verilog hardware description language are discussed. The book covers computer organization and architecture, modern design concepts, and computer security through hardware.
Techniques for designing both small and large combinational and sequential circuits are thoroughly explained. This detailed reference addresses memory technologies, CPU design and techniques to increase performance, microcomputer architecture, including "plug and play" device interfaces, and memory hierarchy. A chapter on security engineering methodology as it applies to computer architecture concludes the book. Sample problems, design examples, and detailed diagrams are provided throughout this practical resource.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT)
"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."
All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1743-Current
Electrical Engineer’s Portable Handbook
Aimed at electrical engineers and technicians working in building power systems, the relentlessly practical Handbook succeeded as an in the field working tool. This new edition is necessitated by the new 2002 version of the National Electrical Code (NEC). This code changes render much of the existing material obsolete, so over half the chapters require heavy rewrites to stay current.
Electrical Equipment Handbook: Troubleshooting and Maintenance
Details diagnostic testing and inspection methods for all industrial equipment, Covers advanced fault detection techniques, critical components, and common failure modes, Includes predictive and preventive maintenance and reliability testing for industrial equipment.
Electrical Equipment Handbook: Troubleshooting and Maintenance
Details diagnostic testing and inspection methods for all industrial equipment, Covers advanced fault detection techniques, critical components, and common failure modes, Includes predictive and preventive maintenance and reliability testing for industrial equipment.
All-inclusive opto electronics guide. A valuable "must-have" tool for electronic and optical engineers, this Handbook is the only single-volume, tell-it-all guide to the use of optical devices and light in electronics systems. Developed by a towering figure in the field, this manual familiarizes you with UV, VUV and X-Ray lasers; visible, solid-state, semiconductor and infrared gas lasers; FEL and ultrashort laser pulses; visible and infrared optical materials; infrared and imaging detectors; optical fibers and fiber optic sensors; holography; laser spectroscopy and photochemistry; high resolution lithography for optoelectronics; and much more. In this up-to-the-minute edition you’ll find new chapters on optical communications, electro-optic devices, and high intensity optical fields, in addition to extensively updated material throughout, and abundant charts, diagrams and data tables.
Electronic Technology Handbook
Cutting edge electronics technology demystified. Anyone with a basic technical background can gain a fast understanding of electronics technology with the easy-to-read Electronics Technology Handbook. Electronic engineering newcomers will find this a one-step, non-mathematical resource for clear explanations of electronics technology essentials–from AC theory and generation to wireless communications and microprocessors. Encyclopedic coverage supported with hundreds of concept-clarifying illustrations shows you exactly how contemporary electronic devices and systems work and interact. You’ll quickly discover the principles at the heart of such widely used technologies as transistors; integrated circuits; television; ATM machines; cell phones; bar-code readers; sensors; robotics; satellites; electron microscopes; process control; radar; global positioning system; night vision systems; and much more.
Fully updated for the latest technologies, devices, test instruments, and problem-solving methods, the new edition of this practical resource provides you with the comprehensive information you need to troubleshoot today's electrical and electronic equipment.
Elements of Fracture Mechanics
Fracture Mechanics is an essential tool to evaluate whether a component is likely to fill or not. This book has been written in a simple and step-wise manner to help readers familiarise with the basic and advanced topics.
Elements of Photogrammetry with Applications in GIS
The definitive guide to photogrammetry—fully updated. Thoroughly revised to cover the latest technological advances in the field, Elements of Photogrammetry with Applications in GIS, Fourth Edition, provides complete details on the foundational principles of photogrammetry as well as important advanced concepts. Significant changes in the instruments and procedures used in modern photogrammetry, including laser scanning, are discussed. Example problems clarify computational procedures and extensive photographs and diagrams illustrate the material presented in this comprehensive resource.
Environmental Modeling with GIS
The living environment is one of the most important factors for human evolution and socio-economic development. But during the last decades, the continuously increasing need of new energy resources has led to rapidly growing awareness in the field of environmental protection considering to over exploitation and environmental pollution. In order to provide effective management and environmental protection, detail knowledge and quantitative characterization of our living environment are needed for prediction in local and global scales, in time and space. Thus, environmental modeling through the use of modern GPS technology and approaches represent high priority towards this direction. This book provides leading-edge research on this field, which is demonstrated by a number of environmental case studies that, in addition to environmental modeling, include the latest research on remote sensing, GPS, and database management.
Forensic Structural Engineering Handbook
A thorough, up-to-date resource on structural investigation and expert witness delivery. The investigation of structural and construction failures is a segment of engineering that has come into its own after 9/11, Hurricane Katrina, and other high profile disasters in the U.S. and abroad. Fully revised, Forensic Structural Engineering, Second Edition includes information on how engineers become proficient on the subject; procedures, codes and standards; dealing with clients; critical characteristics of structures; common deficiencies and failures, and more. Written by a leading expert in the field, this handbook contains updated and expanded information on material specific forensics including steel, concrete, masonry, timber, foundations, and the building envelope. Appropriate codes, standards, and regulations as well as customary U.S. and SI units, are included throughout.
Gas Turbine Handbook
Newly revised, this new fifth edition includes a chapter on waste heat recovery and discusses this technology in detail including a the advantages and barriers to waste heat recovery, environmental restraints, thermodynamics of heat recovery, fluid properties, boiler, condensers, steam turbines, off design behavior and exhaust catalyst. This book shows how microturbine designs rely heavily on the centrifugal compressor and are, in many aspects, similar to the early flight engines and will illustrate how the approach of the microturbine designer is to minimize cost.
Geographical Information Systems (GIS) are computer systems for storing, displaying and analyzing spatial data. The past twenty years have seen a rapid growth in their use in government, commerce and academia, and they can be used for managing a network of utilities, from handling census data through to planning the location of a new supermarket. But how do they work?
Stephen Wise has been a regular contributor to GeoEurope and his 'Back to Basics' articles have provided a clear and simple introduction to the inner workings of GIS for a non-specialist audience. He now presents the original articles with new material and provides a new coverage of both major types of GIS: vector and raster systems.
Undergraduates and professionals who wish to improve their knowledge of GIS should get a better understanding of how GIS operate in the way that they do, such as how spatial data is stored on a computer, how the different methods affect the capabilities of the GIS, how basic operations performed and how the choice of algorithm affects the speed of the system.
Groundwater Resources: Sustainability, Management, and Restoration
Written by professional hydrogeologist Dr. Neven Kresic, Groundwater Resources offers an authoritative, comprehensive treatment of groundwater resources development and management, offering sustainability methods and detailed principles on groundwater protection and restoration. The author reviews established as well as emerging techniques and technologies for aquifer restoration.
Handbook of Applied Hydrology
Fully updated hydrology principles, methods, and applications.
This industry-standard resource has been completely revised for the first time since Ven Te Chow's classic edition was published over 50 years ago. Compiled by a colleague of the late Dr. Chow and featuring chapter contributions from a "who's who" of international hydrology experts, Handbook of Applied Hydrology, Second Edition, covers scientific and engineering fundamentals and presents all-new methods, processes, and technologies. Complete details are provided for the full range of ecosystems and models. Advanced chapters look to the future of hydrology, including climate change impacts, extraterrestrial water, social hydrology, and water security.
Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations
Up-to-date techniques for solving any civil engineering problem
Perform complex design and construction calculations quickly and accurately with help from this thoroughly revised guide. Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations, Third Edition, features more than 3000 logically organized calculations that align with the latest practices, codes, and standards. You will get start-to-finish calculation procedures for load resistance factor design (LRFD), anti-terrorism components, enhanced building security, green construction, safe bridge design, and environmentally sound water treatment. All-new steps to improve indoor air quality and protect structures from hurricanes, tornadoes, floods, and waves are also discussed in this on-the-job resource.
Handbook of Corrosion Engineering
The most complete corrosion control reference on the market, thoroughly revised for the latest advances.
This fully updated guide offers total coverage of the latest corrosion-resistant materials, methods, and technologies. Written by a recognized expert on the subject, the book covers all aspects of corrosion damage, including detection, monitoring, prevention, and control. You will learn how to select materials and resolve design issues where corrosion is a factor. Handbook of Corrosion Engineering, Third Edition, shows, step by step, how to understand, predict, evaluate, mitigate, and correct corrosion problems. This edition provides a new focus on the management of corrosion problems and draws on methodologies and examples from the 2016 IMPACT report. A new chapter discusses corrosion management across governments and industries.
Handbook of Electrical Engineering Calculations
Written by experienced teachers and recognized experts in electrical engineering, Handbook of Electrical Engineering Calculations identifies and solves the seminal problems with numerical techniques for the principal branches of the field -- electric power, electromagnetic fields, signal analysis, communication systems, control systems, and computer engineering. It covers electric power engineering, electromagnetics, algorithms used in signal analysis, communication systems, algorithms used in control systems, and computer engineering. Illustrated with detailed equations, helpful drawings, and easy-to-understand tables, the book serves as a practical, on-the-job reference.
Handbook of Energy Engineering
With new chapters on electrical system optimization and ISO 50001, this edition covers the latest updates to codes and standards in the energy industry. It includes chapters on energy economic analysis, energy auditing, waste heat recovery, utility system optimization, HVAC, cogeneration, control systems, energy management, compressed air system optimization and financing energy projects. This reference will guide you step by step in applying the principles of energy engineering and management to the design of electrical, HVAC, utility, process and building systems for both new design and retrofit projects. The text is thoroughly illustrated with tables, graphs, diagrams and sample problems.
Handbook of Machining and Metalworking Calculations
Thousands of machining and metalworking formulas and calculations pack this handbook, a must for any machinist or designer. Provides the details on formulas for gears, sprockets, linkages and more. Up-to-date and current with the latest ANSI and ISO specifications
Handbook of Mechanical Engineering Calculations
Solve any mechanical engineering problem quickly and easily. This trusted compendium of calculation methods delivers fast, accurate solutions to the toughest day-to-day mechanical engineering problems. You will find numbered, step-by-step procedures for solving specific problems together with worked-out examples that give numerical results for the calculation.Covers: Power Generation; Plant and Facilities Engineering; Environmental Control; Design Engineering; New Edition features methods for automatic and digital control; alternative and renewable energy sources; plastics in engineering design.
Handbook of petrochemicals and processes
Provides information on petrochemical processes and reflects important changes in the industry over the last decade. The entries for each petrochemical detail chemical reactions, competing processes, physical characteristics and properties, and transportation regulations.
Handbook of petrochemicals production processes
Get all the information you need on petrochemical processes for major organic chemicals inside this industry-standard one-stop reference. Prepared by leading petrochemicals licensing firms, Handbook of Petrochemicals Production Processes, Second Edition, clearly explains the powerful techniques used to create the most economically important chemicals in the world. The book offers cutting-edge production methods along with detailed product properties. You will discover how to effectively evaluate licensable processes for new production through the comparison of technologies, environmental factors, and economics.
Handbook of Petroleum Refining Processes
This authoritative resource will prove essential for anyone who needs current, expertly written coverage of the latest developments in the petroleum refining process industry. This fully revised Fourth Edition is a complete compendium of licensable technologies for the refining of petroleum and production of environmentally acceptable fuels and petrochemical intermediates. It delivers in-depth coverage of today's petroleum refining technologies, methods, and best practices.
Handbook Of Software Engineering And Knowledge Engineering
The book covers the recent new advances in software engineering and knowledge engineering. It is intended as a supplement to the two-volume handbook of software engineering and knowledge engineering. The editor and authors are well-known international experts in their respective fields of expertise. Each chapter in the book is entirely self-contained and gives in-depth information on a specific topic of current interest. This book will be a useful desktop companion for both practitioners and students of software engineering and knowledge engineering.
Handbook of Structural Steel Connection Design and Details
Essential steel connection design and details for building and bridge design, fully updated with the latest codes. This fully revised guide presents steel connection design and details for building and bridge design, and includes current LRFD load information and the latest AISC and ICC codes and specifications. New to this edition are details on welding design and bridge connection.Steel Connection Design and Details offers complete coverage of seismic connection design; cold metal framing connection; partially restrained connections; steel decks; inspection and quality control; and much more. Consulting engineers, architects, building inspectors, and graduate students will find this an invaluable resource.
Handbook of Switchgears
Switchgears are the switching devices that form the backbone of modern electrical distribution systems. The Handbook of Switchgears offers electrical power engineers and technicians a one-stop guide to the basic design, operation, and protection of switchgears, including circuit breakers, transformers, relays, switches, and fuses. Containing contributions by 22 experts from Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited, the Handbook of Switchgears guides readers through switchgears for electrical power grids and industrial facilities, as well as for residential and commercial buildings. Readers will find up-to-the-minute information on circuit breaker technologies…GIS…current and voltage transformers… protective relays…energy metering…generator protection…EHV transmission system control and protection…and much more.
Handbook of Transportation Engineering, Volume II: Applications and Technologies
The definitive transportation engineering resource—fully revised and updated. The two-volume Handbook of Transportation Engineering, Second Edition offers practical, comprehensive coverage of the entire transportation engineering field. Featuring 18 new chapters and contributions from nearly 70 leading experts, this authoritative work discusses all types of transportation systems—freight, passenger, air, rail, road, marine, and pipeline—and provides problem-solving engineering, planning, and design tools and techniques with examples of successful applications. Volume II focuses on applications in automobile and non-automobile transportation, and on safety and environmental issues.
Hardware Implementation of Finite-Field Arithmetic
This state-of-the-art guide shows you how to apply the basic mathematical techniques needed to synthesize and design Field Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGAs), an attractive option for small production quantities with lower costs and the ability to be reconfigured so that the same programmable device can execute different predefined functions.
Hardware Security Design, Threats, and Safeguards
Beginning with an introduction to cryptography, Hardware Security: Design, Threats, and Safeguards explains the underlying mathematical principles needed to design complex cryptographic algorithms. It then presents efficient cryptographic algorithm implementation methods, along with state-of-the-art research and strategies for the design of very la
Harris’ Shock and Vibration Handbook
The classic reference on shock and vibration, fully updated to incorporate the latest advances in the field. Written by a team of internationally recognized experts, this practical and comprehensive handbook provides all the information needed to design, analyze, install, and maintain systems subject to mechanical shock and vibrations. The book covers theory, measurement, testing, design, and control methodologies, and practical applications. The Sixth Edition of Harris’ Shock and Vibration Handbook has been extensively revised with ten chapters replaced with new material. Coverage of waveform replication and wavelets in shock and vibration testing, and the use of temporal moments to describe an effective duration for shock data is now included.
High Power Laser Handbook
Filled with full-color images, High-Power Laser Handbook offers comprehensive details on the latest advances in high-power laser development and applications. Performance parameters for each major class of lasers are described. The book covers high-power gas, chemical, and free-electron lasers and then discusses semiconductor diode lasers, along with the associated technologies of packaging, reliability, and beam shaping and delivery. Current research and development in solid-state lasers is described as well as scaling approaches for high CW powers, high pulse energies, and high peak powers. This authoritative work also addresses the emergence of fiber lasers and concludes by reviewing various methods for beam combining.
Highway Planning, Survey, and Design
Highway Planning, Survey, and Design presents the latest engineering concepts, techniques, practices, principles, standard procedures, and models that are applied and used to design and evaluate alternatives of transportation systems and roadway horizontal and vertical alignments and to forecast travel demand using variety of trip forecasting models to ultimately achieve greater safety, sustainability, efficiency, and cost-effectiveness. It provides in-depth coverage of the major areas of transportation engineering and includes a broad range of practical problems and solutions, related to theory, concepts, practice, and applications. Solutions for each problem follow step-by-step procedures that include the theory and the derivation of the formulas and computations where applicable. Additionally, numerical methods, linear algebraic methods, and least squares regression techniques are presented to assist in problem solving.
Innovations in GIS 6
Integrating Information with GI Technology examines the components necessary for building infrastructure to support the panoly of Geographic Information (GI) research and services. These include novel approaches to two- and three-dimensional spatial analysis and spatio-temporal modelling. The book establishes the case for the Web as the technologic
Introduction to GIS Programming and Fundamentals with Python and ArcGIS®
Combining GIS concepts and fundamental spatial thinking methodology with real programming examples, this book introduces popular Python-based tools and their application to solving real-world problems. It elucidates the programming constructs of Python with its high-level toolkits and demonstrates its integration with ArcGIS Theory. Filled with hands-on computer exercises in a logical learning workflow this book promotes increased interactivity between instructors and students while also benefiting professionals in the field with vital knowledge to sharpen their programming skills. Readers receive expert guidance on modules, package management, and handling shapefile formats needed to build their own mini-GIS. Comprehensive and engaging commentary, robust contents, accompanying datasets, and classroom-tested exercises are all housed here to permit users to become competitive in the GIS/IT job market and industry.
Land Resources Monitoring, Modeling, and Mapping with Remote Sensing
A volume in the three-volume Remote Sensing Handbook series, Land Resources Monitoring, Modeling, and Mapping with Remote Sensing documents the scientific and methodological advances that have taken place during the last 50 years. The other two volumes in the series are Remotely Sensed Data Characterization, Classification, and Accuracies, and Remo
Location-Based Services Handbook Applications, Technologies, and Security
Location-Based Services Handbook: Applications, Technologies, and Security is a comprehensive reference containing all aspects of essential technical information on location-based services (LBS) technology. With broad coverage ranging from basic concepts to research-grade material, it presents a much-needed overview of technologies for positioning and localizing, including range- and proximity-based localization methods, and environment-based location estimation methods. Featuring valuable contributions from field experts around the world, this book addresses existing and future directions of LBS technology, exploring how it can be used to optimize resource allocation and improve cooperation in wireless networks.
It is a self-contained, comprehensive resource that presents:
- A detailed description of the wireless location positioning technology used in LBS
- Coverage of the privacy and protection procedure for cellular networks—and its shortcomings
- An assessment of threats presented when location information is divulged to unauthorized parties
- Important IP Multimedia Subsystem and IMS-based presence service proposals
The demand for navigation services is predicted to rise by a combined annual growth rate of more than 104 percent between 2008 and 2012, and many of these applications require efficient and highly scalable system architecture and system services to support dissemination of location-dependent resources and information to a large and growing number of mobile users.
This book offers tools to aid in determining the optimal distance measurement system for a given situation by assessing factors including complexity, accuracy, and environment. It provides an extensive survey of existing literature and proposes a novel, widely applicable, and highly scalable architecture solution. Organized into three major sections—applications, technologies, and security—this material fully covers various location-based applications and the impact they will have on the future.
Ludwig's Applied Process Design for Chemical and Petrochemical Plants : Distillation, packed towers, petroleum fractionation, gas processing and dehydration
The Fourth Edition of Applied Process Design for Chemical and Petrochemical Plants Volume 2 builds upon the late Ernest E. Ludwig’s classic chemical engineering process design manual. Volume Two focuses on distillation and packed towers, and presents the methods and fundamentals of plant design along with supplemental mechanical and related data, nomographs, data charts and heuristics. The Fourth Edition is significantly expanded and updated, with new topics that ensure readers can analyze problems and find practical design methods and solutions to accomplish their process design objectives. A true application-driven book, providing clarity and easy access to essential process plant data and design information Covers a complete range of basic day-to-day petrochemical operation topics Extensively revised with new material on distillation process performance; complex-mixture fractionating, gas processing, dehydration, hydrocarbon absorption and stripping; enhanced distillation types
Machine Tools Handbook: Design and Operation
Machine Tools Handbook: Design and Operation is a practical guide which an engineer can use while designing a new machine.
The book introduces basic machine tools, followed by a discussion on various types of machine tool drives, their mechanisms, transmission and manipulation. It also provides an in-depth coverage of machine tool elements and operation, including working of electrical elements such as contactors, time relays, etc. Besides these Machine Tools Handbook also covers the pertinent aspects of tool engineering.
Manufacturing Engineering Handbook
A fully revised guide to manufacturing engineering technologies, principles, and applications.
This thoroughly updated resource offers complete details on traditional, advanced, and emerging manufacturing engineering processes. Written by a team of 58 international experts, this second edition shows how to optimize all aspects of the global manufacturing process and build the highest quality goods at the lowest price in the shortest possible time. All-new topics include cloud computing, the Internet of Things, 3D printing, nanomanufacturing and advanced manufacturing, and operations research.
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers
The 100th anniversary edition of the cornerstone text of mechanical engineering—fully revised to focus on the core subjects critical to the discipline.
This 100th anniversary edition has been extensively updated to deliver current, authoritative coverage of the topics most critical to today's mechanical engineer. Featuring contributions from more than 160 global experts, Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Twelfth Edition, offers instant access to a wealth of practical information on every essential aspect of mechanical engineering. It provides clear, concise answers to thousands of mechanical engineering questions. You get accurate data and calculations along with easy-to-understand explanations of current principles, standards, and practices and important codes. All-new sections cover micro- and nano-engineering, robotic vision, alternative energy production, biological materials, biomechanics, composite materials, engineering ethics, and much more.
Materials for Civil Engineering: Properties and Applications in Infrastructure
Analyze material properties and select optimal materials for civil engineering projects.
This hands-on textbook offers complete coverage of the construction materials that civil engineers use in the field. You will learn how to analyze material properties and select appropriate materials for civil engineering projects of all types and sizes. Materials for Civil Engineering: Properties and Applications in Infrastructure lays out key characteristics, manufacturing processes, and sustainability issues. Data analysis of materials is emphasized throughout, with references to ASTM standards for material testing.
McGraw-Hill dictionary of engineering
Derived from the content of the respected McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, Sixth Edition, each title provides thousands of definitions of words and phrases encountered in a specific discipline.
"The Merck Index is an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds." 15th ed.
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook
The gold standard for chemical engineering information—from the fundamentals to the state of the art. This industry-standard resource, first published in 1934, has equipped generations of engineers and chemists with vital information, data, and insights. Thoroughly revised to reflect the latest technological advances and processes, Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Ninth Edition, is indispensable for unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering.
Petroleum engineering handbook
This 2006 version of SPE's Petroleum Engineering Handbook is the result of several years of effort by technical editors, copy editors, and authors. It is designed as a handbook rather than a basic text. As such, it will be of most benefit to those with some experience in the industry who require additional information and guidance in areas outside their areas of expertise.
ProQuest Ebook Central Collections
UNB subscribes to a few collections of eBooks through this one access point, including both a mix of subscribed and purchased titles, along with faculty selected purchased titles. These are fulltext, searchable databases of books, maps and other authoritative documents in all academic disciplines. Many books now allow complete downloading.
eBook Collection title lists:
LexisNexis Advance Quicklaw is a Canadian online legal information system that provides full text of Canadian and foreign case law, federal and provincial legislation and regulations, case reports, digests, tribunal decisions, and statutes, as well as secondary materials such as law journals and newsletters.
The standard reference on radar technology, completely updated to cover all the advances of the past seventeen years. For 17 years, the Radar Handbook has been the yardstick by which all other radar books are measured. Covering the entire scope of the field - from basic theory to real world applications - this trusted resource offers the unmatched expertise of more than 30 world leaders in every major area of radar technology. Complete with five brand new chapters, the third edition has been thoroughly updated to cover the latest trends and advances in this dynamic field. Classic chapters from the previous edition have also been revised by a new generation of radar experts to ensure this edition will withstand the test of time as efficiently as previous editions.
Reinforced Concrete Structures: Analysis and Design
This practical resource offers concise explanations of reinforced concrete design principles and teaches safe and cost-effective engineering and construction techniques. Reinforced Concrete Structures: Analysis and Design, Second Edition, has been thoroughly updated to reflect the latest requirements in both the 2014 ACI 318 structural concrete code and the 2015 International Building Code¯. Examples, procedures, and flowcharts illustrate compliance with each provision. This comprehensive guide features new in-depth coverage of ACI earthquake design requirements. SI units are now included throughout all of the chapters.
RFID Handbook Applications, Technology, Security, and Privacy
The RFID Handbook provides an overview of RFID technology, its associated security and privacy risks, and recommended practices that will enable organizations to realize productivity improvements while also protecting sensitive information and the privacy of individuals.
Expert contributors present a host of applications including RFID enabled automated receiving, triage with RFID for massive incidents, RFID and NFC in relation to mobile phones, and RFID technologies for communication robots and a privacy preserving video surveillance system. The unprecedented coverage also includes detailed descriptions of adaptive splitting protocols as well as tree-based and probabilistic anti-collision protocols.
Rules of thumb for chemical engineers
Explores the trends in gas treating and fractionator computer solutions analysis. This book provides engineers with hundreds of common sense techniques, shortcuts, and calculations to quickly and accurately solve day-to-day design, operations, and equipment problems. It includes practical tips, formulas, correlations, curves, charts and tables.
Highly regarded for more than a decade as both a teaching text and professional tutorial, this classic guide to satellite communications has been revised, updated, and expanded to cover global wireless applications, digital television, and Internet access via satellite. In-depth, textbook-style coverage combined with an intuitive, low-math approach makes this book particularly appealing to the wireless and networking markets. New to this edition: Global wireless services, including 3G; Antenna Options, Error Coding
Completely updated with new sensor breakthroughs. The second edition of Sensors Handbook equips you with cutting-edge information on advancements in sensing technology and applications in various fields, including medical, geographical, environmental, industrial, semiconductor manufacturing, and mechanical engineering. This expert guide features new developmentsin nano MEM sensing, smart biosensing, CMOS sensor and silicon integration, chemical sensing for environmental applications, and more. With its comprehensive coverage, this revised classic now offers you a global picture of sensor technology and applications.
SIP Handbook Services, Technologies, and Security of Session Initiation Protocol
Widely adopted by service providers to enable IP telephony, instant messaging, and other data services, SIP is the signaling protocol of choice for advanced multimedia communications signaling. Compiled by noted engineering experts Syed Ahson and Mohammad Ilyas, SIP Handbook: Services, Technologies, and Security of Session Initiation Protocol presents a thorough technical review of all aspects of SIP. It captures the current state of IP Multimedia Subsystem technology and provides a unique source of comprehensive reference material on this subject.
Space Antenna Handbook
This book addresses a broad range of topics on antennas for space applications. First, it introduces the fundamental methodologies of space antenna design, modelling and analysis as well as the state-of-the-art and anticipated future technological developments. Each of the topics discussed are specialized and contextualized to the space sector. Furthermore, case studies are also provided to demonstrate the design and implementation of antennas in actual applications. Second, the authors present a detailed review of antenna designs for some popular applications such as satellite communications, space-borne synthetic aperture radar (SAR), Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS) receivers, science instruments, radio astronomy, small satellites, and deep-space applications. Finally it presents the reader with a comprehensive path from space antenna development basics to specific individual applications. Key Features: Presents a detailed review of antenna designs for applications such as satellite communications, space-borne SAR, GNSS receivers, science instruments, small satellites, radio astronomy, deep-space applications Addresses the space antenna development from different angles, including electromagnetic, thermal and mechanical design strategies required for space qualification Includes numerous case studies to demonstrate how to design and implement antennas in practical scenarios Offers both an introduction for students in the field and an in-depth reference for antenna engineers who develop space antennas This book serves as an excellent reference for researchers, professionals and graduate students in the fields of antennas and propagation, electromagnetics, RF/microwave/millimetrewave systems, satellite communications, radars, satellite remote sensing, satellite navigation and spacecraft system engineering, It also aids engineers technical managers and professionals working on antenna and RF designs. Marketing and business people in satellites, wireless, and electronics area who want to acquire a basic understanding of the technology will also find this book of interest.
Springer Handbook of Global Navigation Satellite Systems
This Handbook presents a complete and rigorous overview of the fundamentals, methods and applications of the multidisciplinary field of Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS), providing an exhaustive, one-stop reference work and a state-of-the-art description of GNSS as a key technology for science and society at large. All global and regional satellite navigation systems, both those currently in operation and those under development (GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, BeiDou, QZSS, IRNSS/NAVIC, SBAS), are examined in detail. The functional principles of receivers and antennas, as well as the advanced algorithms and models for GNSS parameter estimation, are rigorously discussed. The book covers the broad and diverse range of land, marine, air and space applications, from everyday GNSS to high-precision scientific applications and provides detailed descriptions of the most widely used GNSS format standards, covering receiver formats as well as IGS product and meta-data formats. The full coverage of the field of GNSS is presented in seven parts, from its fundamentals, through the treatment of global and regional navigation satellite systems, of receivers and antennas, and of algorithms and models, up to the broad and diverse range of applications in the areas of positioning and navigation, surveying, geodesy and geodynamics, and remote sensing and timing. Each chapter is written by international experts and amply illustrated with figures and photographs, making the book an invaluable resource for scientists, engineers, students and institutions alike.
SpringerLink eBooks provides access to eBooks, eReference Works and eBook Series titles on a wide variety of subjects, including science, technology, medicine and the humanities.
Note: UNB has online access to over 15,000 titles published between 2005-2008, as well as select titles from later years.
Standard handbook for civil engineers
A revision of the classic reference covering all important principles and techniques needed by practicing civil engineers.
Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers
This fully revised, industry-standard resource offers practical details on every aspect of electric power engineering. The book contains in-depth discussions from more than 100 internationally recognized experts. Generation, transmission, distribution, operation, system protection, and switchgear are thoroughly explained. Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Seventeenth Edition, features brand-new sections on measurement and instrumentation; interconnected power grids; smart grids and microgrids; wind, solar, and photovoltaic power generation; electric machines and transformers; power system analysis, operations, stability, and protection; and the electricity market.
Standard specifications for transportation materials and methods of sampling and testing (AASHTO materials)
As of 2016, AASHTO materials standards are published in digital format only. Updates are released annually in three groups, broken up by subject area. Summaries of changes and revision charts are provided for each release for Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3. When a standard is revised or reconfirmed, the release number will appear, with month and year in parentheses, beneath the designation number. Releases 1 through 3 occur in April, June, and August, respectively, covering the following subjects:
Release 1—Hydraulic Cements; Concrete; Concrete-Related Materials; Pavement Serviceability;Environmental Quality; and Quality Assurance.
Release 2—General Manufactured Materials
Release 3—Geotechnical; and Bituminous Materials and Mixtures.
Statista is a multidisciplinary database that aggregates information covering 80,000 topics. Access to data from over 18,000 sources covering 1.5 million statistics. All statistics can be directly downloaded in PNG, PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats. Data prepared according to academic citation standards, with a citation tool (APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Bluebook) and links to the original source for further research. Statista also covers industry reports, studies, forecasts, dossiers, digital market outlook , aesthetically pleasing infographics, and more.
Structural Engineering Handbook
The industry-standard guide to structural engineering—fully updated for the latest advances and regulations.
For 50 years, this internationally renowned handbook has been the go-to reference for structural engineering specifications, codes, technologies, and procedures. Featuring contributions from a variety of experts, the book has been revised to align with the codes that govern structural design and materials, including IBC, ASCE 7, ASCE 37, ACI, AISC, AASHTO, NDS, and TMS. Concise, practical, and user-friendly, this one-of-a-kind resource contains real-world examples and detailed descriptions of today's design methods.
Switching Power Supply Design
Fully updated to reflect the latest technologies and materials. This bestselling tutorial shows you how to designstate-of-the-art power supply systems for any type of computer or electronic device.
Taylor & Francis Group eBooks
Taylor & Francis Group publishes books for all levels of academic study and professional development, across a wide range of subjects and disciplines including Humanities, Social Science, Behavioral Science, Law, and the Built Environment as well as Natural Science, Technology and Medicine.
UNB has purchased access to 10,000+ titles through a CRKN agreement, as well as subscribed access to 4,000+ CRC Press titles.
The Computer Engineering Handbook
After nearly six years as the field's leading reference, the second edition of this award-winning handbook reemerges with completely updated content and a brand new format. The Computer Engineering Handbook, Second Edition is now offered as a set of two carefully focused books that together encompass all aspects of the field. In addition to complete updates throughout the book to reflect the latest issues in low-power design, embedded processors, and new standards, this edition includes a new section on computer memory and storage as well as several new chapters on such topics as semiconductor memory circuits, stream and wireless processors, and nonvolatile memory technologies and applications.
The Control Handbook Control System Applications
The Control Handbook, Second Edition organizes cutting-edge contributions from more than 200 leading experts. The second volume, Control System Applications, includes 35 entirely new applications organized by subject area. Covering the design and use of control systems, this volume includes applications for:
- Automobiles, including PEM fuel cells
- Industrial control of machines and processes
- Biomedical uses, including robotic surgery and drug discovery and development
- Electronics and communication networks
Other applications are included in a section that reflects the multidisciplinary nature of control system work. These include applications for the construction of financial portfolios, earthquake response control for civil structures, quantum estimation and control, and the modeling and control of air conditioning and refrigeration systems.
The Electrical Engineering Handbook - Six Volume Set
In two editions spanning more than a decade, The Electrical Engineering Handbook stands as the definitive reference to the multidisciplinary field of electrical engineering. Our knowledge continues to grow, and so does the Handbook. For the third edition, it has grown into a set of six books carefully focused on specialized areas or fields of study. Each one represents a concise yet definitive collection of key concepts, models, and equations in its respective domain, thoughtfully gathered for convenient access. Combined, they constitute the most comprehensive, authoritative resource available. Circuits, Signals, and Speech and Image Processing presents all of the basic information related to electric circuits and components, analysis of circuits, the use of the Laplace transform, as well as signal, speech, and image processing using filters and algorithms. It also examines emerging areas such as text to speech synthesis, real-time processing, and embedded signal processing.
The Electronics Handbook
The Electronics Handbook, Second Edition provides a comprehensive reference to the key concepts, models, and equations necessary to analyze, design, and predict the behavior of complex electrical devices, circuits, instruments, and systems. With 23 sections that encompass the entire electronics field, from classical devices and circuits to emerging technologies and applications, The Electronics Handbook, Second Edition not only covers the engineering aspects, but also includes sections on reliability, safety, and engineering management.
The Handbook of Photonics
Reflecting changes in the field in the ten years since the publication of the first edition, The Handbook of Photonics, Second Edition explores recent advances that have affected this technology. In this new, updated second edition editor Mool Gupta is joined by John Ballato, strengthening the handbook with their combined knowledge and the continued contributions of world-class researchers.
New in the Second Edition:
- Information on optical fiber technology and the economic impact of photonics
- Coverage of emerging technologies in nanotechnolog
- Sections on optical amplifiers, and polymeric optical materials
The book covers photonics materials, devices, and systems, respectively. An introductory chapter, new to this edition, provides an overview of photonics technology, innovation, and economic development. Resting firmly on the foundation set by the first edition, this new edition continues to serve as a source for introductory material and a collection of published data for research and training in this field, making it the reference of first resort.
The Handbook of Software for Engineers and Scientists
The Handbook of Software for Engineers and Scientists is a single-volume, ready reference for the practicing engineer and scientist in industry, government, and academia as well as the novice computer user. It provides the most up-to-date information in a variety of areas such as common platforms and operating systems, applications programs, networking, and many other problem-solving tools necessary to effectively use computers on a daily basis.
Specific platforms and environments thoroughly discussed include MS-DOS®, Microsoft® Windows™, the Macintosh® and its various systems, UNIX™, DEC VAX™, IBM® mainframes, OS/2®, Windows™ NT, and NeXTSTEP™. Word processing, desktop publishing, spreadsheets, databases, integrated packages, computer presentation systems, groupware, and a number of useful utilities are also covered. Several extensive sections in the book are devoted to mathematical and statistical software. Information is provided on circuits and control simulation programs, finite element tools, and solid modeling tools.
The IEEE Guide to Writing in the Engineering and Technical Fields
This book introduces students and practicing engineers to all the components of writing in the workplace. It teaches readers how considerations of audience and purpose govern the structure of their documents within particular work settings. The IEEE Guide to Writing in the Engineering and Technical Fields is broken up into two sections: "Writing in Engineering Organizations" and "What Can You Do With Writing?" The first section helps readers approach their writing in a logical and persuasive way as well as analyze their purpose for writing. The second section demonstrates how to distinguish rhetorical situations and the generic forms to inform, train, persuade, and collaborate.
The Satellite Communication Ground Segment and Earth Station Handbook
This updated and expanded second edition reflects the state of earth station design and ground segment architecture. From international telephone network gateways to direct broadcast home receivers, today's broad range of ground systems and devices require satellite communication engineers and business managers to have a broad and sound understanding of the design and operating principles of earth stations and ground control facilities. This book explores the delivery end of the satellite link and its relationship to delivery of services. Authored by a leading authority in the field, the book provides engineers and managers with the knowledge they need to devise their own approach to implementing and managing earth stations and the overall ground segment. Readers find practical guidance in an array of critical areas, including: preparing requirements, performing preliminary analyses, reviewing hardware designs, managing the introduction of the overall ground segment, and more.
The VLSI Handbook
For the new millenium, Wai-Kai Chen introduced a monumental reference for the design, analysis, and prediction of VLSI circuits: The VLSI Handbook. Still a valuable tool for dealing with the most dynamic field in engineering, this second edition includes 13 sections comprising nearly 100 chapters focused on the key concepts, models, and equations.
Written by a stellar international panel of expert contributors, this handbook is a reliable, comprehensive resource for real answers to practical problems. It emphasizes fundamental theory underlying professional applications and also reflects key areas of industrial and research focus.
Traffic and Pavement Engineering
Traffic and Pavement Engineering presents the latest engineering concepts, techniques, practices, principles, standard procedures, and models that are applied and used to design and evaluate traffic systems, road pavement structures, and alternative transportation systems to ultimately achieve greater safety, sustainability, efficiency, and cost-effectiveness. It provides in-depth coverage of the major areas of transportation engineering and includes a broad range of practical problems and solutions, related to theory, concepts, practice, and applications. Solutions for each problem follow step-by-step procedures that include the theory and the derivation of the formulas and computations where applicable. Additionally, numerical methods, linear algebraic methods, and least squares regression techniques are presented to assist in problem solving.
Video, Speech, and Audio Signal Processing and Associated Standards
Now available in a three-volume set, this updated and expanded edition of the bestselling The Digital Signal Processing Handbook continues to provide the engineering community with authoritative coverage of the fundamental and specialized aspects of information-bearing signals in digital form. Encompassing essential background material, technical details, standards, and software, the second edition reflects cutting-edge information on signal processing algorithms and protocols related to speech, audio, multimedia, and video processing technology associated with standards ranging from WiMax to MP3 audio, low-power/high-performance DSPs, color image processing, and chips on video. Drawing on the experience of leading engineers, researchers, and scholars, the three-volume set contains 29 new chapters that address multimedia and Internet technologies, tomography, radar systems, architecture, standards, and future applications in speech, acoustics, video, radar, and telecommunications. This volume, Video, Speech, and Audio Signal Processing and Associated Standards, provides thorough coverage of the basic foundations of speech, audio, image, and video processing and associated applications to broadcast, storage, search and retrieval, and communications.
VLSI Circuits for Emerging Applications
VLSI: Circuits for Emerging Applications presents cutting-edge research, design architectures, materials, and uses for VLSI circuits, offering valuable insight into the current state of the art of micro- and nanoelectronics.
VoIP Handbook Applications, Technologies, Reliability, and Security
The VoIP Handbook: Applications, Technologies, Reliability, and Security captures the state of the art in VoIP technology and serves as the comprehensive reference on this soon-to-be ubiquitous technology. It provides:
- A step-by-step methodology to evaluate VoIP performance prior to network implementation
- An invaluable overview of implementation challenges and several VoIP multipoint conference systems
- Unparalleled coverage of design and engineering issues such VoIP traffic, QoS requirements, and VoIP flow
As this promising technology’s popularity increases, new demands for improved quality, reduced cost, and seamless operation will continue to increase. Edited by preeminent wireless communications experts Ahson and Illyas, the VoIP Handbook guides you to successful deployment.