Article & Research Databases for Engineering
Use article databases to find articles, reviews, book chapters, etc.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
American Chemical Society (ACS)
The American Chemical Society promotes research and the advancement of knowledge in Chemistry and Chemistry-related fields. This resource provides us with access to approximately 46 journals.
American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
A collection of engineering and mechanical engineering journals from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
Annual Reviews publishes "authoritative, analytic reviews in 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences."
"Open access to 674,613 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics"--Home page.
ASCE Library eJournals (American Society of Civil Engineers)
The ASCE Library provides a comprehensive online tool for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering. The American Society of Civil Engineers publishes just over 30 journals available through the ASCE Library.
- Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library
ASTM compass : your portal for standards, testing, learning, & more
ASTM Compass - International Standards & Digital Library includes all 13,000 active ASTM standards (equivalent to the printed 82 volumes), the historical standards back to 1998, as well as the withdrawn and redlined version comparisons. In addition, it includes full-text access to Manuals, Monographs, Data Series, STPs (Special Technical Publications) and almost a dozen Journals dating back to the 1930s.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Canadian research index / Index de recherche du Canada
Canadian Research Index (CRI) "covers monographs and annual publications of lasting reference value from Canadian government and institutional sources."
A free online resource open to anyone to use; no username or password required. Excellent source of Canadian case law and legislation.
Computer Source Index (EBSCO)
Computer Source (formerly Computer Science Index) provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database features: abstracts and indexing for over 320 titles - valuable market information on topics such as computers, telecommunications, electronics, and the Internet. - information users need to remain informed on the technological advances that are changing our world.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT)
"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."
All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1743-Current
EMBASE is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1947-Current
EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service : Opening Access to UK Theses)
EThOS makes UK theses (e and paper based) available via a 'one-stop-shop' by harvesting e-theses from institutional repositories and digitizing paper theses on-demand from researchers. The British Library, in collaboration with many UK universities and other associations, aims to provide over 250,000 theses produced by the UK higher education system on an open access model to all researchers and others requiring information. Some theses are available for immediate download, while others can be requested from a participating institution which then sends the thesis to the British Library for digitization.
Frost & Sullivan online
Frost & Sullivan provides in-depth full-text market research and strategy reports in various emerging high-technology sectors.
GeoRef "covers worldwide technical literature on geology and geophysics."
Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
ICE Virtual Library (Institution of Civil Engineers)
The ICE Virtual Library gives you full online access to the journals published by the Institution of Civil Engineers, along with eBook collections covering Energy and Transport information. With coverage back to 1836, including all ICE Transactions and all titles published under the Thomas Telford banner, the Virtual Library gives you access to some of the most prestigious scholarly journals in Civil Engineering, along with a subset of ebooks in the energy and transport fields.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library (Current & Archive)
The IEEE Xplore Digital Library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to both current and archival scientific and technical content published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. This resource provides Web access to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics, including:
- IEEE & Assorted Publisher journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents
- IEEE & Assorted Publisher conference proceedings
- IEEE published standards
- IEEE Standards Dictionary Online
Limited to 10 simultaneous users
INIS (International Nuclear Information Systems)
International Nuclear Information System (INIS), provides indexing for scientific literature published worldwide on the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology. It accesses technical data, references, and bibliographies from the world's biggest digital nuclear reference centers in fields of nuclear science and technology.
Inspec (Engineering Village)
"Inspec is the world’s leading bibliographic database, providing comprehensive access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. First published in 1898 as the Scientific Abstracts, Inspec now contains close to 10 million bibliographic records taken from more than 3850 scientific and technical journals and 2200 conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, reports, dissertations and patents, many with full-text linking."
Medline (1950 to Present)
"MEDLINE® is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry, Veterinary medicine, Allied health, and Pre-clinical sciences. As well, MEDLINE is the primary source of global information from international literature on biomedicine, including the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and health care: Biology, Environmental science, Marine biology, Plant and animal science, Biophysics, and Chemistry."
MSDS plus CHEMINFO
The MSDS database gives access to the most up-to-date (approximately 120,000) Material Safety Data Sheets from 600 North American manufacturers and suppliers. The MSDSs are contributed by North American sources, many from multi-national companies which market chemical products world-wide. MSDS records contain information such as: chemical and physical properties, health hazards, first aid recommendations, personal protection,fire and reactivity data, spill and disposal procedures, and storage and handling.The database can be searched for product names and other product identification, manufacturer or supplier names, date of MSDS, or any term used in the text of the MSDS itself.CHEMINFO provides summarized occupational health and safety information on chemicals. Produced by CCOHS occupational health and safety specialists, each chemical profile uses non-technical language to describe potential workplace hazards and control measures including: a detailed evaluation of health, fire and reactivity hazards, recommendations on topics such as handling and storage personal protective equipment, accidental release, first aid, and hazard classifications for WHMIS, OSHA and the European Union (EU).
"OnePetro.org is a multi-society library that provides a simple way to search for and access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry. From one place, you can search and [view] documents from many different professional societies, or similar organizations, that serve the oil and gas industry. OnePetro currently contains more than 80,000 documents, with more being added frequently."--From the OnePetro website, Nov. 2009.
Participants include American Petroleum Institute (API), American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE), Offshore Technology Conference (OTC), Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE), Society of Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA), Society of Underwater Technology (SUT), World Petroleum Council (WPC) and others. Further details can be found at http://www.onepetro.org/coverage.htm
PubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) database of biomedical citations and abstracts. It includes MEDLINE, which covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and more than 70 other countries primarily from 1966 to the present.
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC)
Provides access to a variety of scholarly journals in chemistry and chemistry-related fields.
RTECS (Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances)
RTECS® contains critical toxicological information with citations to over 150,000 chemical substances from more than 2,500 sources, including: international journals, textbooks,technical reports, scientific proceedings and compendia. CCOHS has also added options to search for 400,000+ chemical names and synonyms plus the 120,000+ unique CAS numbers found in RTECS®.
Science Direct (Elsevier)
Science Direct offers comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science, medicine and technology. All previous ScienceDirect journal collections have been merged into this single collection, along with select purchased eBook titles.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
SciFinder-n (Chemical Abstracts (CAplus), CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMCATS, CHEMLIST, MARPAT)
SciFinder-n is the world's premier chemical information database produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), a division of the American Chemical Society. SciFinder-n indexes over 50,000 journal titles (historical and current) and patent records from 63 patent authorities. You can search documents by topic, author, company name, or document identifier such as DOI; substances by name or CAS Registry Number, OR use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. SciFinder-n is a core research tool for chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, physics, environmental science. SciFinder-n is a collection of 6 CAS databases plus Medline: Chemical Abstracts (CAplus), CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMCATS, CHEMLIST, MARPAT.Depending on your research, SciFinder-n is complementary to other databases like Scopus, PubMed, INSPEC, IEEE. Content includes: journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, books, dissertations, and meeting abstracts, organic and inorganic substances, DNA and protein sequences, single and multi-step reactions, synthetic preparations, catalog database of commercially available products from chemical suppliers, Markush structures, etc.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
SIAM Journals Online
"SIAM has a comprehensive publishing program in applied and computational mathematics. SIAM fosters the development of the methodologies needed in these areas."
SpringerLINK service provides access to electronic journals in a variety of subjects, including "life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics."
[NOTE: pre-1996 Archival content now accessible when available]
Statista is a multidisciplinary database that aggregates information covering 80,000 topics. Access to data from over 18,000 sources covering 1.5 million statistics. All statistics can be directly downloaded in PNG, PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats. Data prepared according to academic citation standards, with a citation tool (APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Bluebook) and links to the original source for further research. Statista also covers industry reports, studies, forecasts, dossiers, digital market outlook , aesthetically pleasing infographics, and more.
TechRxiv is an open, moderated preprint server for unpublished research in electrical engineering, computer science, and related technology.
TRIS (Transportation Research Information Services)
The Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) database is the largest online bibliographic database of transportation research. TRIS now contains more than 650,000 records of published research covering all modes and disciplines of transportation. TRIS is produced and maintained by the Transportation Research Board of the National Academies with sponsorship by state Departments of Transportation and the administrations of the U.S. Department of Transportation, and other sponsors of TRB's core technical activities.
NOTE: The Transportation Research Record is NOT accessible through the TRB site.
Please use UNB's access through SAGE Journals Online:
Transportation Research Record: Journal of the Transportation Research Board
no. 1517 1996-Current
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1901?-Current
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals. UNB also subscribes to select eBook titles.