Reference Materials for Computer Science
Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference materials
5G-Enabled Internet of Things
How the enabling technologies in 5G as an integral or as a part can seamlessly fuel the IoT revolution is still very challenging. This book presents the state-of-the-art solutions to the theoretical and practical challenges stemming from the integration of 5G enabling technologies into IoTs in support of a smart 5G-enabled IoT paradigm, in terms of network design, operation, management, optimization, privacy and security, and applications. In particular, the technical focus covers a comprehensive understanding of 5G-enabled IoT architectures, converged access networks, privacy and security, and emerging applications of 5G-eabled IoT.
A Dictionary of Computing
"Oxford's acclaimed Dictionary of Computing is regularly revised and updated by a team of computer specialists, making it the most authoritative dictionary on the subject available. The wide range of topics covered includes computer applications in industry, the office, science, education, and the home, the hardware, software, and telecommunications behind these applications. The dictionary also addresses the concepts and theories of computing and associated fields."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
A full text collection from McGraw-Hill providing access to hundreds of engineering book titles, covering 12 major areas of engineering, and more than 200 topics.
eBook Collection title list:
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Computer and Information Security Handbook
The second edition of this comprehensive handbook of computer and information security provides the most complete view of computer security and privacy available. It offers in-depth coverage of security theory, technology, and practice as they relate to established technologies as well as recent advances. It explores practical solutions to many security issues. Individual chapters are authored by leading experts in the field and address the immediate and long-term challenges in the authors' respective areas of expertise. The book is organized into 10 parts comprised of 70 contributed chapters by leading experts in the areas of networking and systems security, information management, cyber warfare and security, encryption technology, privacy, data storage, physical security, and a host of advanced security topics. New to this edition are chapters on intrusion detection, securing the cloud, securing web apps, ethical hacking, cyber forensics, physical security, disaster recovery, cyber attack deterrence, and more. Chapters by leaders in the field on theory and practice of computer and information security technology, allowing the reader to develop a new level of technical expertise Comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of security issues allows the reader to remain current and fully informed from multiple viewpoints Presents methods of analysis and problem-solving techniques, enhancing the reader's grasp of the material and ability to implement practical solutions
Computer Security Handbook, Set
Computer security touches every part of our daily lives from our computers and connected devices to the wireless signals around us. Breaches have real and immediate financial, privacy, and safety consequences. This handbook has compiled advice from top professionals working in the real world about how to minimize the possibility of computer security breaches in your systems. Written for professionals and college students, it provides comprehensive best guidance about how to minimize hacking, fraud, human error, the effects of natural disasters, and more. This essential and highly-regarded reference maintains timeless lessons and is fully revised and updated with current information on security issues for social networks, cloud computing, virtualization, and more.
Computers, Software Engineering, and Digital Devices
Computers, Software Engineering, and Digital Devices examines digital and logical devices, displays, testing, software, and computers, presenting the fundamental concepts needed to ensure a thorough understanding of each field. It treats the emerging fields of programmable logic, hardware description languages, and parallel computing in detail. Each article includes defining terms, references, and sources of further information. Encompassing the work of the world's foremost experts in their respective specialties, Computers, Software Engineering, and Digital Devices features the latest developments, the broadest scope of coverage, and new material on secure electronic commerce and parallel computing.
Computing Handbook : Computer Science and Software Engineering
Computing Handbook, Third Edition: Computer Science and Software Engineering mirrors the modern taxonomy of computer science and software engineering as described by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and the IEEE Computer Society (IEEE-CS).
Computing Handbook : Computer Science and Software Engineering
Computing Handbook, Third Edition: Computer Science and Software Engineering mirrors the modern taxonomy of computer science and software engineering as described by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and the IEEE Computer Society (IEEE-CS). Written by established leading experts and influential young researchers
- CRCnetBASE - incorporated into Taylor and Francis Group eBooks
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT)
"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."
All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1743-Current
Faulkner Advisory for Information Technology Studies (FAITS)
Faulkner Advisory for Information Technology Studies (FAITS) is designed to help researchers keep up with the issues, trends, market conditions, products, services and vendors driving the information technology industry. This database provides reports covering IT infrastructure, telecommunications, wireless communications, data networking, convergence, information security, enterprise systems, Internet and web, and technology vendors. In addition, FAITS features links to NewsFactor, CBS Marketwatch, the BBC and other IT news sources.
Handbook of Information Science
Dealing with information is one of the vital skills in the 21st century. It takes a fair degree of information savvy to create, represent and supply information as well as to search for and retrieve relevant knowledge. How does information (documents, pieces of knowledge) have to be organized in order to be retrievable? What role does metadata play? What are search engines on the Web, or in corporate intranets, and how do they work? How must one deal with natural language processing and tools of knowledge organization, such as thesauri, classification systems, and ontologies? How useful is social tagging? How valuable are intellectually created abstracts and automatically prepared extracts? Which empirical methods allow for user research and which for the evaluation of information systems? This Handbook is a basic work of information science, providing a comprehensive overview of the current state of information retrieval and knowledge representation. It addresses readers from all professions and scientific disciplines, but particularly scholars, practitioners and students of Information Science, Library Science, Computer Science, Information Management, and Knowledge Management.
Handbook of IoT and Big Data
This multi-contributed handbook focuses on the latest workings of IoT (internet of Things) and Big Data. As the resources are limited, it's the endeavor of the authors to support and bring the information into one resource. The book is divided into 4 sections that covers IoT and technologies, the future of Big Data, algorithms, and case studies showing IoT and Big Data in various fields such as health care, manufacturing and automation.
Handbook of Mobile Communication Studies
Experts analyze how mobile communication is changing daily life and local culture around the world, in both industrialized and developing countries. Mobile communication has become mainstream and even omnipresent. It is arguably the most successful and certainly the most rapidly adopted new technology in the world: more than one of every three people worldwide possesses a mobile phone. This volume offers a comprehensive view of the cultural, family, and interpersonal consequences of mobile communication across the globe. Leading scholars analyze the effect of mobile communication on all parts of life, from the relationship between literacy and the textual features of mobile phones to the use of ringtones as a form of social exchange, from the "aspirational consumption" of middle class families in India to the belief in parts of Africa and Asia that mobile phones can communicate with the dead. The contributors explore the ways mobile communication profoundly affects the tempo, structure, and process of daily life around the world. They discuss the impact of mobile communication on social networks, other communication strategies, traditional forms of social organization, and political activities. They consider how quickly miraculous technologies come to seem ordinary and even necessary--and how ordinary technology comes to seem mysterious and even miraculous. The chapters cut across social issues and geographical regions; they highlight use by the elite and the masses, utilitarian and expressive functions, and political and operational consequences. Taken together, the chapters demonstrate how mobile communication has affected the quality of life in both exotic and humdrum settings, and how it increasingly occupies center stage in people's lives around the world.
Handbook of natural language processing
This study explores the design and application of natural language text-based processing systems, based on generative linguistics, empirical copus analysis, and artificial neural networks. It emphasizes the practical tools to accommodate the selected system.
Handbook of Sensor Networking
The Most Complete and Up-to-Date Account of Advanced Sensor Networking Technologies Handbook of Sensor Networking: Advanced Technologies and Applications provides a complete professional reference and practitioner's guide to today's advanced sensor networking technologies. The handbook focuses on both established and recent sensor networking theory,
Handbook Of Software Engineering And Knowledge Engineering
The book covers the recent new advances in software engineering and knowledge engineering. It is intended as a supplement to the two-volume handbook of software engineering and knowledge engineering. The editor and authors are well-known international experts in their respective fields of expertise. Each chapter in the book is entirely self-contained and gives in-depth information on a specific topic of current interest. This book will be a useful desktop companion for both practitioners and students of software engineering and knowledge engineering.
Mobile Computing Handbook
The debut of small, inexpensive, yet powerful portable computers has coincided with the exponential growth of the Internet, making it possible to access computing resources and information at nearly any location at almost any time. This new trend, mobile computing, is poised to become the main technology driver for a decade to come. There are many
ProQuest Ebook Central Collections
UNB subscribes to a few collections of eBooks through this one access point, including both a mix of subscribed and purchased titles, along with faculty selected purchased titles. These are fulltext, searchable databases of books, maps and other authoritative documents in all academic disciplines. Many books now allow complete downloading.
eBook Collection title lists:
SpringerLink eBooks provides access to eBooks, eReference Works and eBook Series titles on a wide variety of subjects, including science, technology, medicine and the humanities.
Note: UNB has online access to over 15,000 titles published between 2005-2008, as well as select titles from later years.
Statista is a multidisciplinary database that aggregates information covering 80,000 topics. Access to data from over 18,000 sources covering 1.5 million statistics. All statistics can be directly downloaded in PNG, PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats. Data prepared according to academic citation standards, with a citation tool (APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Bluebook) and links to the original source for further research. Statista also covers industry reports, studies, forecasts, dossiers, digital market outlook , aesthetically pleasing infographics, and more.
Syngress IT Security Project Management Handbook
The definitive work for IT professionals responsible for the management of the design, configuration, deployment, and maintenance of enterprise wide security projects. Provides specialized coverage of key project areas including Penetration Testing, Intrusion Detection and Prevention Systems, and Access Control Systems. The first and last word on managing IT security projects, this book provides the level of detail and content expertise required to competently handle highly complex security deployments. In most enterprises, be they corporate or governmental, these are generally the highest priority projects and the security of the entire business may depend on their success. * The first book devoted exclusively to managing IT security projects * Expert authors combine superb project management skills with in-depth coverage of highly complex security projects * By mastering the content in this book, managers will realise shorter schedules, fewer cost over runs, and successful deployments
The Handbook of Ad Hoc Wireless Networks
A relative newcomer to the field of wireless communications, ad hoc networking is growing quickly, both in its importance and its applications. With rapid advances in hardware, software, and protocols, ad hoc networks are now coming of age, and the time has come to bring together into one reference their principles, technologies, and techniques. The Handbook of Ad Hoc Wireless Networks does exactly that. Experts from around the world have joined forces to create the definitive reference for the field. From the basic concepts, techniques, systems, and protocols of wireless communication to the particulars of ad hoc network routing methods, power, connections, traffic management, and security, this handbook covers virtually every aspect of ad hoc wireless networking. It includes a section that explores several routing methods and protocols directly related to implementing ad hoc networks in a variety of applications. The benefits of ad hoc wireless networks are many, but several challenges remain. Organized for easy reference, The Handbook of Ad Hoc Wireless Networks is your opportunity to gain quick familiarity with the state of the art, have at your disposal the only complete reference on the subject available, and prepare to meet the technological and implementation challenges you'll encounter in practice.
The Handbook of Software for Engineers and Scientists
The Handbook of Software for Engineers and Scientists is a single-volume, ready reference for the practicing engineer and scientist in industry, government, and academia as well as the novice computer user. It provides the most up-to-date information in a variety of areas such as common platforms and operating systems, applications programs, networking, and many other problem-solving tools necessary to effectively use computers on a daily basis.
Specific platforms and environments thoroughly discussed include MS-DOS®, Microsoft® Windows™, the Macintosh® and its various systems, UNIX™, DEC VAX™, IBM® mainframes, OS/2®, Windows™ NT, and NeXTSTEP™. Word processing, desktop publishing, spreadsheets, databases, integrated packages, computer presentation systems, groupware, and a number of useful utilities are also covered. Several extensive sections in the book are devoted to mathematical and statistical software. Information is provided on circuits and control simulation programs, finite element tools, and solid modeling tools.
Video, Speech, and Audio Signal Processing and Associated Standards
Now available in a three-volume set, this updated and expanded edition of the bestselling The Digital Signal Processing Handbook continues to provide the engineering community with authoritative coverage of the fundamental and specialized aspects of information-bearing signals in digital form. Encompassing essential background material, technical details, standards, and software, the second edition reflects cutting-edge information on signal processing algorithms and protocols related to speech, audio, multimedia, and video processing technology associated with standards ranging from WiMax to MP3 audio, low-power/high-performance DSPs, color image processing, and chips on video. Drawing on the experience of leading engineers, researchers, and scholars, the three-volume set contains 29 new chapters that address multimedia and Internet technologies, tomography, radar systems, architecture, standards, and future applications in speech, acoustics, video, radar, and telecommunications. This volume, Video, Speech, and Audio Signal Processing and Associated Standards, provides thorough coverage of the basic foundations of speech, audio, image, and video processing and associated applications to broadcast, storage, search and retrieval, and communications.