Article & Research Databases for Computer Science
Use article databases to find articles, reviews, book chapters, etc.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Annual Reviews publishes "authoritative, analytic reviews in 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences."
"Open access to 674,613 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics"--Home page.
- Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library
Canadian research index / Index de recherche du Canada
Canadian Research Index (CRI) "covers monographs and annual publications of lasting reference value from Canadian government and institutional sources."
Computer Source Index (EBSCO)
Computer Source (formerly Computer Science Index) provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database features: abstracts and indexing for over 320 titles - valuable market information on topics such as computers, telecommunications, electronics, and the Internet. - information users need to remain informed on the technological advances that are changing our world.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Current index to statistics
CIS extended database is a bibliographic database covering the entire contents of core statistics literature from 1975 to present, with some coverage of older core journals. Selected non-core journals indexed for articles with statistical content.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT)
"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."
All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1743-Current
EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service : Opening Access to UK Theses)
EThOS makes UK theses (e and paper based) available via a 'one-stop-shop' by harvesting e-theses from institutional repositories and digitizing paper theses on-demand from researchers. The British Library, in collaboration with many UK universities and other associations, aims to provide over 250,000 theses produced by the UK higher education system on an open access model to all researchers and others requiring information. Some theses are available for immediate download, while others can be requested from a participating institution which then sends the thesis to the British Library for digitization.
Faulkner Advisory for Information Technology Studies (FAITS)
Faulkner Advisory for Information Technology Studies (FAITS) is designed to help researchers keep up with the issues, trends, market conditions, products, services and vendors driving the information technology industry. This database provides reports covering IT infrastructure, telecommunications, wireless communications, data networking, convergence, information security, enterprise systems, Internet and web, and technology vendors. In addition, FAITS features links to NewsFactor, CBS Marketwatch, the BBC and other IT news sources.
Use of this product is restricted to students, faculty and staff of the University of New Brunswick and requires login with a *current UNB Login ID*.
Forrester Research is a global research and advisory firm specializing in information and communication technologies (ICT) in the following areas: IT infrastructure, networking, software, eCommerce, digital marketing and cybersecurity.
Faculty, staff or students interested in IT assessment, digital transformation, applications development, IT trends, emerging technologies and their impact on businesses and consumers will find Forrester's reports offer important insights to your research.
Frost & Sullivan online
Frost & Sullivan provides in-depth full-text market research and strategy reports in various emerging high-technology sectors.
Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library (Current & Archive)
The IEEE Xplore Digital Library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to both current and archival scientific and technical content published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. This resource provides Web access to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics, including:
- IEEE & Assorted Publisher journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents
- IEEE & Assorted Publisher conference proceedings
- IEEE published standards
- IEEE Standards Dictionary Online
Limited to 10 simultaneous users
Inspec (Engineering Village)
"Inspec is the world’s leading bibliographic database, providing comprehensive access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. First published in 1898 as the Scientific Abstracts, Inspec now contains close to 10 million bibliographic records taken from more than 3850 scientific and technical journals and 2200 conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, reports, dissertations and patents, many with full-text linking."
Science Direct (Elsevier)
Science Direct offers comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science, medicine and technology. All previous ScienceDirect journal collections have been merged into this single collection, along with select purchased eBook titles.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
SpringerLINK service provides access to electronic journals in a variety of subjects, including "life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics."
[NOTE: pre-1996 Archival content now accessible when available]
Statista is a multidisciplinary database that aggregates information covering 80,000 topics. Access to data from over 18,000 sources covering 1.5 million statistics. All statistics can be directly downloaded in PNG, PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats. Data prepared according to academic citation standards, with a citation tool (APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Bluebook) and links to the original source for further research. Statista also covers industry reports, studies, forecasts, dossiers, digital market outlook , aesthetically pleasing infographics, and more.
TechRxiv is an open, moderated preprint server for unpublished research in electrical engineering, computer science, and related technology.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals. UNB also subscribes to select eBook titles.