Reference Materials for Classics and Ancient History

This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access

This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access

This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access

This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access

With 1,125 entries and 170 contributors, this is the first encyclopedia on the history of classical archaeology. It focuses on Greek and Roman material, but also covers the early cultures of the Bronze Age Aegeans and the Etruscans and manifestations of Greek and Roman culture in other parts of Europe and the Mediterranean Sea. Unlike recent studies focusing on the science of excavating, this book considers archaeological study in the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, and the modern era. It includes entries on individuals whose activities influenced knowledge of sites and monuments and sites as seen, changed, and interpreted through time; entries on major works of art excavated during the Renaissance; and works that were known in the Middle Ages. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Artstor is a repository of approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million digital images (and growing), related data and provides tools to actively use those images in a restricted usage environment that balances the rights of the content providers and the needs of the users. The images are drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers.

Scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource. The artistic traditions across many cultures embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.

"Quite simply the most important and most complicated project to be undertaken in classical studies this generation."--NEH reviewer "This atlas provides us with a vital missing tool. It is a model of creative planning, and will be absolutely indispensable."--C. Nicolet (Sorbonne, Paris)

Hailing from all corners of the ancient Greek and Roman worlds, the women profiled here are notable for their own accomplishments as well as their family ties. More than 400 A-to-Z entries tell the life stories of women from all walks of life -- from poets, wives, and mistresses to rulers, slaves, and businesswomen. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Updating and translation of Pauly's Real-Encyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft.

This resource, part of Cambridge Core, contains the online versions of over 270 Cambridge Histories publications in the following 15 areas: American History, British History, Economic History, General History, History of Science, History of the Book, Language and Linguistics, Literary Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political and Social Theory, Regional History, Religious Studies, Theatre Studies and Performing Arts, and Warfare. For a complete listing of titles in each area, please refer to the publisher's site, at: https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-histories

This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access

This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access

A Companion to Roman Architecture presents a comprehensive review of the critical issues and approaches that have transformed scholarly understanding in recent decades in one easy-to-reference volume.

"From amphora to ziggurat, and Beaker Culture to molluscan analysis, this comprehensive dictionary, covers the essential vocabulary for archaeological work, including principles, theories, techniques, artefacts, materials, people, places, monuments, equipment, and descriptive terms. The dictionary focuses especially on Europe, the Old World, and the Americas, and covers legislation relating to the United Kingdom and the USA."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

While archaeologists, researchers, and students generally know the meanings and terms used for artifacts within their own areas of study, it is difficult to find authoritative definitions for those from periods or cultures outside of their expertise. Containing close to 3,000 words and definitions, the Dictionary of Artifacts is an indispensable reference for anyone working within the field of archaeology.

The problem that led Wellington (classics, U. of Cincinnati) to compile the reference is that colleagues and journals in her and related disciplines tend to make up their own bibliographic abbreviations without letting anyone in on what they mean. So, she has identified abbreviations scholars are most apt to run across. She updates and expands the 1983 edition by doubling the entries, expanding the titles referred to, enlarging the field covered, integrating Internet abbreviations, and including more regional historical and archaeological publications and eastern European titles. Annotation (c)2003 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."

All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1743-Current

Archaeology is a subject that fascinates us. From Egyptian tombs to a frozen Alpine wayfarer, from cities buried under volcanic ash to stone arrow heads turned up by the plow, archaeology is in the news and in our backyards. It is paradoxical that a subject that so easily captures the imagination is so difficult for the serious layman to access. Superficial media treatments and picture-book atlases and site guides on the one hand, jargon-heavy scholarly books and narrowly focused articles on the other-there are few ways to learn about the real world of archaeology outside the college classroom or the dig site. The Encyclopedia of Archaeology changes this, in making all aspects of archaeology accessible to a broad audience of the general scientific community, educators, students, and avocational archaeologists. Professional archaeologists and anthropologists will also find the encyclopedia a ready source of up-to-date information on specialities outside their own expertise. The Encyclopedia of Archaeology encompass all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline. Featured in the Encyclopedia of Archaeology are articles by leading authors that summarize archaeological knowledge at the beginning the 21st century, highlighting important sites and issues, and tracing the development of prehistoric cultures around the globe. No existing work provides the breadth and depth of coverage as the Encyclopedia of Archaeology. * A completely new encyclopedia; not a revision or expansion of an earlier publication * The first and only reference work to cover all elements of archaeology, from the Artic to Underwater * Topics provide coverage of 15 general subject areas, encompassing many specific fields of study. Approximately 200 overview articles, specifically commissioned for this work * Distinguished Editorial Board headed by Editor-in-Chief Professor Deborah Pearsall, University of Missouri, along with many other prominent scientists serving as Editorial Advisors * Every article is carefully peer-reviewed to ensure accuracy and comprehensiveness * Each entry in the Encyclopedia begins with an outline of the article content and a concise definition of the subject of the article * Glossary entries explain key terms * Further Reading lists appear at the end of each entry * Extensive cross-referencing system links related articles Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Written by the most authoritative scholars from around the world, a massive treasure-house of information on all aspects of archaeology, from prehistory to the present day.

Created over almost 10 years and involving scholars from all over the world contributing articles on their areas of expertise, the five volumes of this encyclopedia aim to provide general readers with up-to-date information, to dispel myths and misconceptions, and to celebrate the vitality of an ever-evolving science. In this first set, some of the world's best known archaeologists have written 58 biographies of their predecessors. These essays constitute a history of archaeology from its beginnings in Renaissance antiquarianism down to the end of the 20th century.

This two-volume encyclopedia explores Greece and the Greeks for the 3500 years of their recorded history. It is restricted to the history and culture of the Greeks themselves, and does not focus on the Hellenic tradition in global terms or the influence that Hellenism has exerted on other cultures.

The Encyclopedia of Underwater and Maritime Archaeology is the first comprehensive reference book on the discovery and recovery of the submerged past. Written by archaeologists and other scientists who have made the discoveries, the encyclopedia's entries describe sites around the world and across time: prehistoric American Indian settlements; submerged Bronze and Iron Age settlements; sunken Phoenician, Greek, and Roman cities and harbors; Viking ship burials; ancient warships and merchant craft in the Mediterranean; warships sunk during atomic bomb tests; and much more. Detailed entries also cover new fields of research in underwater and maritime archaeology, the techniques and tools used by underwater archaeologists, critical issues and the relevant legislation that has been passed, and important institutions and individuals. Overview articles examine work in broader regional, national, and scientific contexts.

Greece, with all its temples, cities, and sanctuaries created by Europe's most formative ancient civilization, is a must-see for the archaeological traveler. This valuable new addition to the acclaimed Oxford Archaeological Guides series provides coverage of all the main archaeological sites in Greece, ranging from prehistory to the sixth century AD. The individual sites are arranged by region, and include Philip's Tomb at Vergina, the Palace complex at Mycenae, the Temples of the Acropolis, the Hellenistic city of the Messene, and the Roman colony of Corinth. Also included in the book are 'partner factor' ratings that rank the most worthwhile sites for travelers to visit during their stay. An up-to-date introduction surveys Greece's landscape, history, and archaeology from the Neolithic period to the end of antiquity, and places the sites in their cultural context. Finally, there is a chronology for reference and a glossary of essential terms. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

This volume provides readers with a substantial selection of primary sources documenting sexualities, sexual behaviors, and perceptions of sex, sexuality, gender, and the body among people in the ancient Greco-Roman world.

Offers guidance to students needing to learn more about the different fields and subfields of classical research, and its methods and resources. This book is divided into 7 parts: The Basics, Language, The Traditional Fields, The Physical Remains, The Written Word, The Classics and Related Disciplines, The Classics since Antiquity.

Designed to accompany the Handbook of Archaeological Theory (2005), this reference contains 34 essays by British and American archaeologists describing the history and various practices utilized in their field, with the chapters grouped according to type, namely, methods used in the field, for analysis, in application, methodological frameworks, and management issues. Individual chapter topics include ethnoarchaeology, maritime archaeology, statistics, pottery, rock art analysis, geoarchaeology, and funding archaeological research. Each chapter concludes with a bibliography. The reference will be used by undergraduate and graduate students as well as specialists. Maschner teaches anthropology at Idaho State U. Chippindale, former editor of Antiquity, is with the Cambridge U. Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology in the UK. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome, Updated Edition provides in-depth, easy-to-understand information on all areas of Roman life, moving from the eighth century B.C. to the fifth century A.D., spanning more than 1,200 years. Organized thematically, each chapter includes an extensive bibliography as well as site-specific photographs, line drawings, and maps, more than 175 in all. Clear, authoritative, and well-organized, Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome, Updated Edition provides a unique look at a society whose art, literature, law, and engineering have profoundly influenced the development and shape of Western civilization throughout the Middle Ages and the Renaissance and up to today. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Leick (Chelsea College of Art and Design, London) has written widely about ancient Mesopotamia and Babylonia. Here she offers a reference on the area between the Tigris and Euphrates Rivers and surrounding territory from the earliest record of irrigation and large permanent settlements some 80,000 years ago through the myriad civilizations and empires to the arrival of Islam in the seventh century AD. Among her entries are building materials, the trade city of Dilmun, archaeologist Jacobsen Thorkild (1904-93), the Babylonian king Rim-Sin I (r. 1822-1763 BC), and warfare. The cross-referencing is extensive; there is no index. No date is noted for the first edition. Annotation c2010 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

A multi-volume set that offers information concerning the iconography of Greek, Etruscan and Roman mythologies.

A five-volume set containing 2,300 entries on the topography of ancient Rome including buildings and monuments constructed within the Aurelianic walls through the early seventh century A.D.

MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literature, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. Dating back to 1925, the database contains more than 2.7 million citations, over 6,000 journals and series, 1,200 book publishers and over 372,000 subject names and terms and adds over 66,000 records annually (May 2018).

Coverage is international and includes titles and full-text links from online publishers including JSTOR, Project MUSE, Wiley-Blackwell and Taylor & Francis.

The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1925-Current

Richardson defines and describes the known buildings and monuments, as well as the geographical and topographical features, of ancient Rome.

"Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is an entirely new research tool for the social sciences and humanities. A scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules, OBO is designed to help busy researchers find reliable sources of information in half the time by directing them to exactly the right chapter, book, website, archive, or data set they need for their research."
Purchased multi-user unlimited access

The authoritative one-volume guide to all aspects of the ancient world.

Since its publication in 1996, the Oxford Companion to Archaeology has firmly established itself as the standard reference work in the field of archaeology, remaining a favorite among students, scholars, and anyone interested in archaeology. In close to 800 entries, the second edition provides thorough coverage of historical archaeology, the development of archaeology as a field of study, and the ways the discipline works to explain the past. In addition to these theoretical entries, other entries describe the major excavations, discoveries, and innovations, from the discovery of the cave paintings at Lascaux to the deciphering of Egyptian hieroglyphics and the use of luminescence dating.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization provides an authoritative survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects. Drawing on the latest edition of the higly praised Oxford Classical Dictionary, the Companion offers articles on diverse fields such as, history and politics; ethics and morals; law and punishment; social and family life; language, literature, and art; religion and mythology; technology, science, and medicine. Edited by Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is an illustrated/fulltext reference tool providing 55,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. It is the product of research instituted at the University of Oxford and funded by the British Academy and by Oxford University Press. It is the achievement of 10,000 contributors and advisers staff in Oxford. The Oxford DNB aims to provide full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included: the Dictionary's articles are confined to people who died before 31 December 2000.

Spanning almost one thousand years, from the first Olympic Games in 776 BC to the death of Marcus Aurelius in AD 180, this accessible and wide-ranging reference work draws on the groundbreaking Oxford Classical Dictionary to present more than 2,500 entries on the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome. The dictionary covers key aspects of ancient Greek and Roman life and literature, such as science, social structure, philosophy, and religion, and contains comprehensive articles on central figures, both real and mythological, from Achilles to Zeno. Edited by John Roberts.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

This text includes substantial entries from all disciplines on the topic of ancient Egypt. Among the multitude of subjects covered are religion and mythology, medicine, art, archaeology sociology, trade and commerce, dialects, and agriculture.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

v. 1. Academy-Bible -- v. 2. Bilingualism and multilingualism-Dura-Europos -- v. 3. Earthquakes-Hetaera -- v. 4. Hippocratic Corpus-Mosaics -- v. 5. Mos Maiorum-Posidonius of Apamea -- v. 6. Postal service-Teleology -- v. 7. Temples-Zoology ; Topical outline ; Index.

This comprehensive five-volume work analyzes the archaeological and linguistic data that pertain to the broad cultural milieu of the ancient Near East, the crossroads of three of the world's most influential religions -- Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. Ranging from prehistoric times up to the early centuries of the rise of Islam, the work covers the civilizations of Syria-Palestine, Mesopotamia, Anatolia, Iran, Arabia, Cyprus, Egypt, and the coastal regions of North and East Africa. It includes 1,125 alphabetically arranged entries on sites, languages, material culture, archaeological methods, organizations and institutions, and major excavators and scholars of the field.

A collaborative work of over 600 scholars from more than forty countries, the 'Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages' provides 3,000 concise and detailed articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century. It explores art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history. With a focus on focus on Europe and Christendom, the Encyclopedia also covers the rise of Islam and people of other cultures with whom Europeans came into contact.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

The Oxford Handbook of Maritime Archaeology is a comprehensive survey of the field at a time when maritime archaeology has established itself as a mature branch of archaeology. This volume draws on the expertise of nearly fifty international scholars who examine the many distinct and universal aspects of the discipline.

The study of ancient Roman society blossomed in the 1970s. By now, we possess a very large literature on the individuals and groups that constituted the Roman community, and the various ways in which members of that community interacted. There is, however, no overview that takes into account the multifarious progress that has been made in the past thirty or forty years.

Divided into four parts, the handbook begins with "Background and Definitions," which contains chapters establishing the discipline in its historical, geographical, and chronological settings, and in its relation to other disciplines. The second part, "Chronology and Geography," contains chapters examining the Bronze Age Aegean by chronological period (Early Bronze Age, Middle Bronze Age, Late Bronze Age). Each of the periods is further subdivided geographically, so that individual chapters are concerned with Mainland Greece during the Early Bronze Age, Crete during the Early Bronze Age, the Cycladic Islands during the Early Bronze Age, and the same for the Middle Bronze Age, followed by the Late Bronze Age. The third part, "Thematic and Specific Topics," includes chapters examining thematic topics that cannot be done justice in a strictly chronological/geographical treatment, including religion, state and society, trade, warfare, pottery, writing, and burial customs, as well as specific events, such as the eruption of Santorini and the Trojan War. The fourth part, "Specific Sites and Areas," contains chapters examining the most important regions and sites in the Bronze Age Aegean, including Mycenae, Tiryns, Pylos, Knossos, Kommos, Rhodes, the northern Aegean, and the Uluburun shipwreck, as well as adjacent areas such as the Levant, Egypt, and the western Mediterranean.

This handbook gathers 38 leading historians to describe, analyze, and interpret warfare and its effects in classical Greece and Rome.

Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.Covers the humanities and social sciences.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

"This practical dictionary is designed specifically to meet the needs of students in their first years of studying Latin, as well as those with an interest in the Latin language or the classical world."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

"This practical dictionary is designed specifically to meet the needs of students in their first years of studying Latin, as well as those with an interest in the Latin language or the classical world."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

This guide brings the work of one of the best known scholars of Roman archeology and art to an English-language audience. Conveniently organized by walking tours and illustrated throughout with clear maps, drawings, and plans, it covers all of the city's ancient sites (including the Capitoline, the Forum, the Palatine Hill, the Valley of the Colosseum, the Esquiline, the Caelian, the Quirinal, and the Campus Martius), and, unlike most other guides, now includes the major monuments in a large area outside Rome proper but within easy reach, such as Ostia Antica, Palestrina, Tivoli, and the many areas of interest along the ancient Roman roads.

The largest archaeological site in the world, Rome includes such breathtaking structures as the Capitoline Hill, the Roman Forum, the Colosseum, the Mausoleums of Augustus and Hadrian, the Circus Maximus, and the Catacombs. Maps diagrams.

Contains archaeologist Lanciani's first hand account of ancient Rome sites. Includes his first hand experience of excavations, the history of the city and its monuments. Maps, illustrations and plans throughout the text.

Governmental guidelines have forced a dramatic change in the practice of archaeological surveying. This book provides an introduction to students, field novices, and land managers on the strategies, methods, and logic of contemporary survey work. It is useful for an archaeological methods class, field school, or reference collection.

Kipfer, a lexicographer and author, provides a guide to information and materials needed when doing archeological fieldwork, compiled in one volume that can be carried while in the field. Aimed at students, amateurs, and professionals, the book covers classification and typology; sample forms and records; lists and checklists; mapping, drawing, and photographing settings and artifacts; measurements and conversion, including charts and using equipment; and planning and designing projects. Resources are listed in the final chapter, including organizations and journals, ethical guidelines, legislation, and government information. Chapters cover topics in alphabetical order; no index is supplied. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Complete new edition of the text volumes of this definitive work of reference.

Includes bibliographies and index.

The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture spans every art form, medium, and civilization the fall of the Roman Empire, The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art #38; Architecture is a comprehensive reference source on this important field of study. Drawing on the expansivescholarship of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols) and Grove Art Online, and adding dozens of new entries, the Encyclopedia includes all subject areas in the classical arts, including philosophers, rulers, writers and artists, architecture, ceramics, sculpture, and more. Arranged alphabetically, this two-volume set contains over 800 entries tracing the development of the art forms in classical civilizations such as ancient Greece and Rome. Illustrated with 400 halftones, maps and line drawings, and 32 color plates, the Encyclopedia is a reliable and convenientresource covering this field of everlasting significance in the development of western culture. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Unique in its coverage of both Greek and Roman myths and religious life in ancient times The Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion is the first A-Z reference work of its kind. From Abaris to Zoroaster the Dictionary provides invaluable information not only on the mythologies of Greece and Rome but also on festivals, religious places, monuments, personnel, divination, astrology, magic, Judaism, Christianity, regional religions, and 'mystery cults' in the Graeco-Roman world. Offering quick, accessible information in short entries and longer detailed entries on the legends and rituals of classical antiquity, this wide-ranging reference work is the ideal resource for students and teachers of ancient history and religion, and anyone fascinated with the classical period. Book jacket. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Featuring 600 original articles written by leading scholars, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt goes far beyond the records of archaeology to make available what we know about the full social, political, religious, cultural and artistic legacy of this 5,000 year civilization.The Encyclopedia offers the most complete picture available of ancient Egyptian civilization, from the predynastic era to its eclipse in the seventh century CE. Here is the Egyptian world in illuminating, accessible detail: art, architecture, religion, language, literature, trade, politics, everyday social life and the culture of the court. Of special interest is the coverage of themes and issues that are particularly controversial--such as the new theories of the origins of complex society in the Nile Valley, new discoveries about Greco-Roman Egypt, and new developments in literature, religion, linguistics and other fields, including the debates about Egypt's African legacy.Extensively illustrated with photographs, line drawings, and maps, the Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt is designed for the widest possible access, serving students, teachers, and scholars in fields ranging from Near East archaeology and classics to ancient art, architecture, history, language and religion, as well as general readers fascinated by a world that remains--even today--incompletely mapped. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

A multi-volume reference work on various aspects of Greek, Etruscan, and Roman cults and rituals.

The TLG allows searching the full text of all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period beginning with Homer (c. 8th century BCE) down to the fall of the Roman Empire and further beyond into the Byzantine period. Topics include Greek literature, history, and culture.

"Based on the highly praised Oxford Companion to Classical Literature, this is the ideal reference book for anyone interested in the classical world and its literary heritage. It gives accounts of the lives of many classical authors and character entries and plot summaries for their works. General entries trace the development of literary forms such as comedy and tragedy. There is also wide coverage of the historical, political, social, and artistic background."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."