Article & Research Databases for Chemistry
Use article databases to find articles, reviews, book chapters, etc.
American Chemical Society (ACS)
The American Chemical Society promotes research and the advancement of knowledge in Chemistry and Chemistry-related fields. This resource provides us with access to approximately 46 journals.
BIOSIS citation index
BIOSIS Citation Index is the world's most comprehensive reference database for life science research. It includes cited references to primary journal literature on vital biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. It also covers original research reports and reviews in traditional biological and biomedical areas.
A free resource from the Royal Siciety of Chemistry. It allows structure or keyword searching searching. It will then link to articles from RSC journals or from Google Scholar.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
The Directory of Open Access Journals provides access to over 1300 open access journals in an attempt "to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content."
Access controls to fulltext varies by title and some may require personal registration.
Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
Inspec (Engineering Village)
"Inspec is the world’s leading bibliographic database, providing comprehensive access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. First published in 1898 as the Scientific Abstracts, Inspec now contains close to 10 million bibliographic records taken from more than 3850 scientific and technical journals and 2200 conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, reports, dissertations and patents, many with full-text linking."
MSDS plus CHEMINFO
The MSDS database gives access to the most up-to-date (approximately 120,000) Material Safety Data Sheets from 600 North American manufacturers and suppliers. The MSDSs are contributed by North American sources, many from multi-national companies which market chemical products world-wide. MSDS records contain information such as: chemical and physical properties, health hazards, first aid recommendations, personal protection,fire and reactivity data, spill and disposal procedures, and storage and handling.The database can be searched for product names and other product identification, manufacturer or supplier names, date of MSDS, or any term used in the text of the MSDS itself.CHEMINFO provides summarized occupational health and safety information on chemicals. Produced by CCOHS occupational health and safety specialists, each chemical profile uses non-technical language to describe potential workplace hazards and control measures including: a detailed evaluation of health, fire and reactivity hazards, recommendations on topics such as handling and storage personal protective equipment, accidental release, first aid, and hazard classifications for WHMIS, OSHA and the European Union (EU).
PubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) database of biomedical citations and abstracts. It includes MEDLINE, which covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and more than 70 other countries primarily from 1966 to the present.
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC)
Provides access to a variety of scholarly journals in chemistry and chemistry-related fields.
RTECS (Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances)
RTECS® contains critical toxicological information with citations to over 150,000 chemical substances from more than 2,500 sources, including: international journals, textbooks,technical reports, scientific proceedings and compendia. CCOHS has also added options to search for 400,000+ chemical names and synonyms plus the 120,000+ unique CAS numbers found in RTECS®.
SciFinder-n (Chemical Abstracts (CAplus), CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMCATS, CHEMLIST, MARPAT)
SciFinder-n is the world's premier chemical information database produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), a division of the American Chemical Society. SciFinder-n indexes over 50,000 journal titles (historical and current) and patent records from 63 patent authorities. You can search documents by topic, author, company name, or document identifier such as DOI; substances by name or CAS Registry Number, OR use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. SciFinder-n is a core research tool for chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, physics, environmental science. SciFinder-n is a collection of 6 CAS databases plus Medline: Chemical Abstracts (CAplus), CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMCATS, CHEMLIST, MARPAT.Depending on your research, SciFinder-n is complementary to other databases like Scopus, PubMed, INSPEC, IEEE. Content includes: journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, books, dissertations, and meeting abstracts, organic and inorganic substances, DNA and protein sequences, single and multi-step reactions, synthetic preparations, catalog database of commercially available products from chemical suppliers, Markush structures, etc.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.