Skip to main content

Canadian University Reciprocal Borrowing Agreement (CURBA) And The Council Of Atlantic Academic Libraries (CAAL)

Reciprocal Borrowing Agreement

The Canadian University Reciprocal Borrowing Agreement (CURBA) makes it possible for UNB and STU students, staff, and faculty to borrow library materials from participating university and college libraries across Canada, and for students, staff, and faculty from those same institutions to borrow from UNB libraries. The agreement affects member institutions of four library consortia:

  • CAAL/CBUA: Council of Atlantic Academic Libraries / Conseil des bibliothèques postsecondaires de l'Atlantique
  • CREPUQ: La Conférence des Recteurs et des Principaux des Universités du Québec
  • OCUL: Ontario Council of University Libraries
  • COPPUL: Council of Prairie and Pacific University Librarians

Identification/Borrowing Card

UNB and STU students, staff and faculty need a valid CURBA/CAAL card to borrow library materials at participating libraries. CURBA/CAAL cards are issued at the Harriet Irving Library (Monday to Friday - 8:00 am - 4:00 pm) in Fredericton, and the Hans W. Klohn Commons in Saint John.

When UNB or STU students, staff, or faculty visit participating libraries, they may be asked to provide additional information or identification, such as a UNB or STU ID card. It is their responsibility to ensure that they have obtained the appropriate identification before visiting another library.

Individuals seeking library privileges while visiting UNB libraries are expected to obtain the proper identification card from their home university. UNB libraries have the right to defer an application until such time that the applicant’s status and standing at their home university are confirmed. All applicants must provide additional information by completing and signing the ASIN (for applicants from universities within CAAL/CBUA) or CURBA (for all other Canadian universities) application form.

Library Privileges and Restrictions

The primary privilege under the agreement is in-person borrowing of circulating library materials. Each library may offer additional privileges or services (e.g. interlibrary loan privileges) to users from participating libraries as they see fit, and some fees may apply.

Each university will lend materials to CURBA/CAAL card holders based on their rules and regulations and will determine the loan periods and privileges to extend to card holders. Note, for example, that the University of Toronto and the Ontario College of Art and Design will not lend materials to undergraduate students. Likewise, Quebec universities will not lend materials to undergraduate students from outside of Quebec.

Returning Library Materials

Materials borrowed under the agreement may be returned to the library that owns the materials or to another library within the same consortium. Materials may not be returned to libraries that are outside of the consortium. For example, books borrowed from Dalhousie University Libraries may be returned to UNB Libraries or to any other member of the CAAL/CBUA consortium (listed below), but may not be returned to the University of Alberta, which is a member of the COPPUL consortium. CAAL/CBUA (Atlantic Provinces) members:

  • Acadia University
  • Atlantic School of Theology
  • Cape Breton University
  • Dalhousie University
  • Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • Mount Allison University
  • Mount Saint Vincent University
  • Nova Scotia Agricultural College
  • Nova Scotia College of Art & Design
  • St. Francis Xavier University
  • Saint Mary's University
  • St. Thomas University
  • Université de Moncton
  • Université Sainte-Anne
  • University of King's College
  • University of New Brunswick - Fredericton
  • University of New Brunswick - Saint John
  • University of Prince Edward Island