UNB Libraries' Guide to Chemistry
Overview / News
Welcome to UNB Libraries' (Saint John) guide to Chemistry. The purpose of this guide is to help you find resources related to this discipline and enhance your learning. If you are taking a chemistry course at UNB Saint John, you may find you also have a specific course guide available.
How you want to begin your research depends on your topic and your knowledge. If your topic is brand new to you, you might want to start with book based material. The data and information in books, at least, in non-fiction, academic books, generally differs from that found in articles. It is presented at length but tends to be presented in less depth and with less specificity. Book content may be less "cutting edge" and more likely to present standard, and accepted information. Journal articles often present more controversial content and preliminary research results which require more testing before they are accepted.
For students, books are a logical starting point for research because they often introduce several relevant topics around a broader subject while articles often deal with a single, very specific topic with an assumed context -- that is, articles may assume an audience with a high level of subject knowledge.
Once you have some background on your topic which may help you think critically about related information and data, you will be ready to plunge into journal articles, grey literature, and beyond. Enjoy the search!
In this guide, you will find links leading you to reference materials (dictionaries, specialized encyclopedias, handbooks ...), books (both online and in print), databases (containing full-text journals, full-text articles, and linked material), and more. That said, not everything you will need will be here. Remember, you can always visit a library and ask a librarian for more help.
News and Views
Chemistry, Science, AAAS
Chemistry & Physics, EurekaAlert, AAAS
News, American Chemical Society
Chemistry, Guardian, UK
Article / Research Databases
For those interested in chemistry, there are both licensed bibliographic databases, some of them listed in Key and Additional Resources below, as well as major public access databases such as PubMed, a US government database.
These databases will be especially useful when you are beginning a research project and looking for information on a topic.
For more licensed databases, please see the Article Databases page.
Please note: CAS also provides SciFinder training materials
Public access databases and search engines covering chemistry and related fields include:
SciTech Connect, OSTI, US, public access
Explore Chemistry, OSTI, US, public access
Environmental Health, Toxicology and Chemical Database Descriptions, NLM, US, public access
Science.gov, US, public access
ChemSpider, public access
ToxNet, public access
NIST Repositories, Materials Digital Library, public access
PubMed, NLM, US, public access,
There is also a number of individual periodical titles available (some licensed, some public access) including:
Beilstein Journal of Organic Chemistry, public access
BMC Biochemistry, public access
Chemistry in Australia, public access
Canadian Journal of Chemistry, licensed resource
Chemistry of Materials, licensed resource
Chemistry of Natural Compounds, licensed resource
Food Chemistry, licensed resource
Inorganic Chemistry, licensed resource
Journal of Organic Chemistry, licensed resource
Calculators, Tables, Nomenclature ...
Martindale's Chemistry Calculators, public access
Periodical Table, RSC, public access
Periodic Table of Elements, International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry, public access
Color Books, International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry, public access
NIST Reference on Constants, Units and Uncertainty, public access
Encyclopedias, Yearbooks, Compendia ...
Merck Index, licensed resource
RxTx, includes electronic versions of the Canadian Pharmaceutical Association’s annual Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties, licensed resource
Dictionary of Chemistry, licensed resource
Illustrated Glossary of Organic Chemistry, UCLA, public access
Atmospheric Chemistry Glossary, Chemistry Department, Sam Houston State University, public access
IUPAC Glossary of Terms used in Toxicology, 2nd ed., published in Pure Appl. Chem., Vol. 79, No. 7, pp. 1153-1344, 2007, public access
Handbooks, Manuals, Guides ...
Chemistry Laboratory Guidebook, USDA, public access
Maps, GIS ...
New Brunswick Groundwater Chemistry Atlas: 1994-2007, Department of Environment, New Brunswick
Groundwater Chemistry Map Series, DNR, Nova Scotia, public access
Nova Scotia Lake Survey Program, Nova Scotia Environment (NSE) and Nova Scotia Fisheries and Aquaculture
Ambient Groundwater Geochemistry, Northern Development and Mines, Ontario, public access
Southern Ontario Stream Sediment Geochemistry Survey, Northern Development and Mines, Ontario, public access
Surface Chemistry Maps, NASA, public access
Precipitation Chemistry, EPA, public access
Properties, Structures ...
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, licensed resource
PubChem, National Library of Medicine, US, public access
NIST Data Gateway, public access
NIST Chemistry WebBook, public access
IUPAC-NIST Solubility Database, Version 1.1, NIST Standard Reference Database 106, public access
ThemoDex, University of Texas Libraries, public access
Material Safety Data Sheets, public access
Landolt-Börnstein Substance / Property Index, public access
Crystallography Open Database, public access
Common Chemistry Substance Search, CAS, public access
ChEMBLE, European Molecular Biology Laboratory, public access
ChemExper Chemical Directory, public access
ChemSyntheses, public access
Books / Book-Length Works
UNB WorldCat searches the WorldCat database and offers up-to-date availability information for material held by UNB Libraries. WorldCat contains more than 130,000,000 bibliographic records (including books, journals, videos, music ...) referring to the holdings of libraries world wide. WorldCat also includes selected journal articles and internet resources.
Mobile users should note that although UNB Libraries has moved to a responsive web design, mobile interfaces and apps may NOT yet provide all the functionality of other types of web-based access.
Please note: While many of the following items allow unlimited simultaneous users, in some cases, the item may allow only a single user at any given time.
Members of the UNB/STU community of users may also use UNB WorldCat, to access individual electronic book / book-length titles such as:
How to solve organic reaction mechanisms: a stepwise approach, Mark G Moloney
Spin states in biochemistry and inorganic chemistry: influence on structure and reactivity, Marcel Swart and Miquel Costas Salgueiro
Biomass sugars for non-fuel applications, Dmitry Murzin and Olga A Simakova
As well, the University community may access several collections of electronic books including:
CRCnetBASE, licensed resource
Some internet sites offer full-text, public access books and book-length works either as collections or as individual linked titles. Examples of such sites of interest include:
Chemistry, National Academies Press, public access
Chemistry, LibreTexts, public access
Publications Archive, NRC Canada, public access
Internet / Multimedia
Chemistry, NIST, US
Green Chemistry, EPA, US
Oesper Collections in the History of Chemistry, University of Cincinnati
Associations, Societies ...
Government Departments, Agencies ...
Division of Chemistry, National Science Foundation
Chemistry Division, Brookhaven National Laboratory
Chemical Sciences Division, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Organic Chemistry Animations, University of Liverpool
Science Elements, podcasts, ACS
Open Chemistry Lecture Videos, University of California, Irvine
Chemistry, Science360 Video, National Science Foundation
Citing / Writing
Citations are a natural by-product of a good literature or bibliographic search -- they come from the results your search produces. They may be found, collectively, in bibliographic databases and citation indexes. They may be derived from statistical databases and other data collections. They may make reference to individual books, periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers), working papers, and technical reports. They may be gathered from compilations such as bibliographies or appear in lists of works cited and references. Citations may also be produced in reference to material you read or heard, to images you discover, and to all kinds of electronic files which are displayed, read, played, or otherwise accessed.
To structure citations appropriately it helps to have a good guide. There are several standard guides from which you may choose. In university, choosing the "best" one will depend on the requirements of the assignment, the nature of the contents and the preferences of the individual professor. Some guides emphasize a particular discipline, some are cross-discipline and some may emphasize a particular form of material.
ACS citation style, Concordia University Libraries
Abbreviations and Acronymns
Journal Title Abbreviations, Web of Science
Citation Management Software
Data Management / Curation
Framework for Creating a Data Management Plan, ICPSR, University of Michigan
Create and Manage Data, UK Data Archive
Data Management Plans, Digital Curation Centre, UK
Data Management Checklist, Digital Curation Centre, UK
Ask A Librarian
firstname.lastname@example.org@unb.ca | 506-648-5788
I am located in Rm 210, HWK Commons, UNBSJ. During the regular term, my office hours are: Mondays: 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm; Tuesdays: 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm; Thursdays: 9:30 am - 11:00 am; or by appointment or chance. You can also send me an email (use the convenient link, above).
- Linda Hansen (profile)
- I am located in Rm 210, HWK Commons, UNBSJ. During the regular term, my office hours are: Mondays: 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm; Tuesdays: 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm; Thursdays: 9:30 am - 11:00 am; or by appointment or chance. You can also send me an email (use the convenient link, above).
- UNB Libraries
- Political Science: Out of the Lab and into the Streets
- Rethinking Ink: Lasers, Tattoo Removal, and Second Chances
- Making Senses: How Biohackers Are Using Artificial Perceptions to Enhance Reality
- US State Department loses its science adviser
- Three-quarters of all the plastic ever made is now waste
- Elemental imaging could authenticate Ming brushstrokes
Scientific American: Chemistry
- Last modified: Jun 19, 2017 10:07:13 | Edit Guide