UNB Libraries' Guide to Children's Literature
When searching for journal articles, an indexing and abstracting database or print index is usually the best place to begin. Below are some recommended print indexes and databases for research in Children's Literature. For other databases, check the Article Databases page of the library website.
Often the only source of secondary criticism for children's books, especially newer books, is reviews. The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (listed below) offers an excellent starting point for locating reviews of post-1990 children's literature.
When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Children's Literature. To find additional reference materials, check the library catalogue or our Reference Materials database.
To search for books at UNB Libraries, use the library's online catalogue, World Cat. To locate children's and young adult materials, refine your search by "Audience" once your search results appear.
Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our document delivery service. See the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details.
Bibliographies list publications that have been written about a particular subject, including books, journals, government publications, etc. Annotated bibliographies provide concise summaries of what has been published in a given area.
- A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children's Picture Books
HIL-REF PN1009 .A1 L537 2008
- Beyond Picture Books: A Guide to First Readers
HIL-REF PN1009 .A1 B375 1995
- Best Books for Children: Preschool through
PN1009 .A1 G532 2006
- Best Books for Young Adults
HIL-STACKS PN1009 .A1 C34 2007
- Fantasy Literature for Children and Young Adults: An Annotated Bibliography
HIL-REF PN1009 .A1 L97 1995
Find Internet Sites
While there is a wealth of information freely available on the internet, not all sites are created equal. Careful evaluation is a critical part of doing research on the Internet. Below are some recommended sites:
- Eileen Wallace Children's Literature Collection
- Canadian Children's Book Centre
- ALSC: Association for Library Service to Children
- YALSA: Young Adult Library Services Association
- Ontario Library Association: Forest of Reading
- GoodMinds: Resources for Indigenous Literature
Children's Literature Scholars' Blogs and Websites
- Mouse-traps and the Moon: The Eileen Wallace Collection's Curator Blog
- American Indians in Children's Literature: maintained by Debbie Reese
- Nine Kinds of Pie: Philip Nel's Blog
Citing Your Sources
Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.
Numerous citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted. The standard citation style for Children's Literature is MLA, but your instructor may require or recommend that you use another. Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.
- MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
HIL-REFDSK LB 2369 .G53 2009
- MLA Format Guidelines (7th Edition)
- UNB Libraries' Guide to Citation and Plagiarism
- Plagiarism: a How-NOT-To Guide
For more information on research and using/citing sources, see the following:
Ask A Librarian
Curator, Eileen Wallace Collection
firstname.lastname@example.org@unb.ca | 506-452-6044
Office Hours Mon, Tues, Thurs, Fri: 9-1:30pm Wed: 9-11:30
Subject Specialties: Children's Literature; Women's Studies
- Last modified: Feb 03, 2016 9:58:55 | Edit Guide