David Alexander


Printable version

The David Alexander Prize, 2014

The David Alexander Prize is awarded annually for the best essay on the history of Atlantic Canada written in course by an undergraduate student in any university.

Version franšaise

Conditions: Entries must be undergraduate essays between 1500 and 5000 words in length on some aspect of the history of Atlantic Canada, written in English or French. They may be research, interpretive, or historiographical efforts. The author must be part-time or a full-time undergraduate student in a degree program at an accredited university or college. The essay must have been written to meet the requirement of an undergraduate credit course during the 2013-2014 academic year. Previous winners of the Prize may not compete.

Submissions: Entries shall be submitted by course instructors no later than 30 June 2014. No instructor shall submit more than two entries. Essays must be typed neatly and should not bear the instructor's comments or a grade. Entries should be sent to The Secretary, Acadiensis, Campus House, University of New Brunswick, P.O. Box 4400, Fredericton, N.B. E3B 5A3.

Adjudication: Entries will be judged by a panel of three distinguished historians. The winner will be announced in the autumn of 2014. No runners-up or honorary mentions will be designated.

Prize: $400

David Alexander Prize Winners

1982        Ellen Joyce Hambrook, University of New Brunswick

1983         Geoffrey Budden, Memorial University of Newfoundland

1984         Rusty Bittermann, University College of Cape Breton

1985         Rusty Bittermann, University College of Cape Breton

1986         not awarded/ non décerné

1987         Robert Hong, Memorial University of Newfoundland

1988         Janice Cook, University of New Brunswick

1989         not awarded/ non décerné

1990         James E.A. Stanley, University of New Brunswick

1991         Phillippe Garvie, UniversitÚ de Moncton

1992         Michael O'Brien, Memorial University of Newfoundland

1993         Paula C. Harris, University of New Brunswick

1994         not awarded/ non décerné

1995         A. Geoff Pearcey, Memorial University of Newfoundland

1996         Ellen Thorne, University of New Brunswick

1997         Kurt Peacock, University of New Brunswick

1998         Jennifer Rogers, Dalhousie University

1999         Callum Makkai, Dalhousie University

2000         Liza Piper, Memorial University of Newfoundland

2001         Lorna Williams, St. Thomas University

2002         Sharon Weaver, University of New Brunswick

2003         not awarded/ non décerné

2004         Shawna Stairs, University of New Brunswick

2005         Haydn Lloyd, University of Western Ontario

2006         Blake Laven, Dalhousie University

2007         Siobhan Laskey, University of New Brunswick

2008         Fred Burrill, McGill University

2009         Matt Cook, Cape Breton University

2010         Alexandra Montgomery, Dalhousie University

2011         not awarded/ non décerné

2012         Anna A. MacNeil, Cape Breton University

2013         Andrew Harmes, Dalhousie University;
                 Matthew Verge, Mount Saint Vincent University

2014         Hillary MacKinlay, Dalhousie University


  Return to top of page

Acadiensis Home Page