~ To properly access the contents of this page and the linked resources, please enable JavaScript. ~
Known Issues
Entering Rich Text in Internet Explorer 9
Internet Explorer 9 users may find they are unable to edit the Title field when manually entering a reference. This is a known bug. There are a few ways to fix this:
- In the top right-hand side of the URL bar, you may see a little broken page icon. Click on this icon and it will turn blue . You should now have full functionality in RefWorks.
- You can also turn this on by clicking the little wheel at the very top right-hand side of your browser window and selecting Compatibility Mode.
- You may also choose to work in another browser.
Kaspersky Anti-Virus Software and Write-N-Cite 3
Write-N-Cite 3 is not compatible with Kaspersky Anti-Virus software, which is installed on all student lab PCs. RefWorks advises users to completely uninstall Kaspersky in order to be able to use WNC3. In practice, WNC seems to work sporadically on computers in Student Labs on campus and on other university-owned computers running Kaspersky.
Kaspersky does not interfere with the functioning of Write-N-Cite 4. To get WNC4, log into your RefWorks account and choose Tools from the menu bar at the top of the screen. If you are unable to use WNC, you can still get the same results by using RefWorks. Watch this screencast video for instructions on the workaround.
Write-N-Cite and .docx files
Write-N-Cite often has trouble working with .docx files. Trying the format a document with a file extension of .docx may generate the error message: Word cannot start the converter mswrd632.wpc. Resave the file as a .doc and try running your bibliography again.
Error Message: Event ID #123456789
The Event ID number can contain any combination of numbers, and does not indicate one specific problem. Try clearing the cache.
Error Message: Import aborted, path not found
This error message can result from a browser security setting or a cache and cookie issue: troubleshooting tips.
Getting Started

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic database manager that allows you to create a database of references that can be organized, searched, and used to automatically construct bibliographies and reading lists. The University of New Brunswick Libraries has a site-wide license to RefWorks. Students, faculty and staff of UNB and St. Thomas University can access RefWorks free of charge. With RefWorks, you can:
- Import citations directly from most of the indexing and abstracting databases and electronic journals available at UNB Libraries;
- Automatically format a bibliography or reference list in any one of over 200 citation styles;
- Insert properly formatted references in your paper using Write-N-Cite for MS Word
Set up your RefWorks account
RefWorks is a web-based tool that you can access anytime, from any internet-connected computer on or off campus. To start using RefWorks, all you need to do is Login to RefWorks and create a personal account.The RefWorks login can be bookmarked using http://refworks.lib.unb.ca/. This URL will automatically prompt off-campus users for a proxy login. Since UNB uses the Scholar's Portal server in Ontario, you can't access your account from RefWorks' own website. See Off-Campus Access for more information.
Learn more and get help
The main features are covered in this guide. The Ontario Scholars Portal maintains an excellent LibGuide covering most aspects of RefWorks. Most of the information it contains applies at UNB, although there may be minor local differences. You can also check out these RefWorks Video Tutorials, or attend a Webinar.
For personal help close at hand, contact a member of the UNB Libraries' RefWorks team:
- Alicia McLaughlin (Harriet Irving Library): amclaugh@unb.ca or 453-4749
- Frances Giberson (Harriet Irving Library): fgiberso@unb.ca or 453-4602
- Steve Sloan (Science and Forestry Library): sloan@unb.ca or 453-4814
- Steve Lelievre (Engineering Library): lelievre@unb.ca or 452-6039
- Merle Steeves (Cataloguing): mas@unb.ca or 453-5043
- Diane Buhay (Hans W Klohn Commons, UNBSJ, Access and Research Services): dbuhay@unb.ca or 648-5712
Importing References
Getting References into RefWorks
With RefWorks, you can export or import citations directly from most of the indexing/abstracting databases and many electronic journal collections offered through UNB Libraries. Select from this list for specific instructions on importing and exporting from specific databases and journal collections.
Note to Google Scholar users: You can configure Google Scholar to export search results to RefWorks. Use the Google Scholar link from the UNB Libraries eResources page (http://www.lib.unb.ca/eresources/index.php?id=454). Once in Scholar, click on Settings at the top right of the screen. Under Bibliography Manager, highlight the option "Show links to import citations into RefWorks", and click Save.
If the database or electronic journal you're using doesn't allow direct exporting, or if the direct export isn't working, you can usually use an import filter to get your references into RefWorks. The Ontario Scholars Portal RefWorks LibGuide provides detailed instructions for using import filters.
You can also add references manually. You may need to do this for material that is older or unpublished. Follow these instructions for adding references manually.
RefWorks is not designed to import bibliographic information about web pages. You can add web page citations manually or, if you use a lot of such sources, you may want to download an optional feature called RefGrab-It. These instructions describe how to install and use RefGrab-It.
Note to PubMed users: You can use RefGrab-It to simulate a direct export from PubMed. To see how, watch this short video on RefGrab-It & PubMed Articles from the Lousiana State University Libraries.
Organizing References
Folders allow you to organize your references within RefWorks. Placing a reference in a folder is like assigning it a "tag". Items can be in more than one folder at a time. You can also create subfolders.
Write-N-Cite
Write-N-Cite (WNC) is a feature that gives you access to the contents of your RefWorks account during the writing process. Using Write-N-Cite, you can easily insert formatted references into your Microsoft Word documents as you write, and generate the appropriate bibliography in almost any citation style. The current version, Write-N-Cite 4, is available for download for Mac and Windows.
To get WNC4, log into your RefWorks account and choose Tools from the menu bar at the top of the screen.
WNC 4 has a very different look and feel from WNC 2.5. Downloading WNC4 installs a toolbar in Word, allowing you to quickly cite, change styles or generate a bibliography without having to navigate to another window. Citations are fully formatted as soon as you cite them.
After installing the toolbar, you will log into WNC using a unique code provided to you at the RefWorks WNC download page. Once logged in, the contents of your RefWorks account will be accessible via the toolbar unless you log out of WNC, whether or not you are connected to the internet. Unless you need to access more than one RefWorks account, you need only log in through the WNC toolbar once.
This short guide at the Ontario Scholars Portal provides screen shots and instructions for downloading, logging in, and using WNC4.
If you are unable, or prefer not to use WNC, you can still get the same results by using RefWorks. Watch this screencast video for instructions on the workaround. Or follow these instructions to add citations using One Line Cite View and then format your document in Refworks.
Note to Student Lab Computer users: Lab computers are not running WNC4. WNC3 is installed on them, but unfortunately Kaspersky anti-virus software can prevent WNC3 from functioning properly.
RefShare
RefShare allows you to let others see your whole RefWorks account, or individual folders in it, by creating a URL that can be emailed or placed on a web page. By default each listed reference includes the "Check for Full text" link to UNB Libraries' electronic journal holdings. Thus instructors can use RefShare to provide their students with direct links to electronic journal articles and other online library resources within Desire2Learn or Moodle.
Anyone who clicks on the RefShare URL in an email message or on a web page will be able to see your references, even if they are not affiliated with UNB or STU, or if they don't have a RefWorks account. However, any files, such as article pdfs, that have been attached to references within RefWorks will not be visible in RefShare.
The Ontario Scholars Portal provides a quick visual guide to using RefShare.